We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful restored inn in the heart of historic Chestertown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Tavern

White Swan Tavern
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chestertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Swan Tavern
Save
You added White Swan Tavern to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 12 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful restored inn in the heart of historic Chestertown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Spent a night here as part of a girl’s getaway weekend, and it was perfect. Neither of us had ever been to Chestertown and didn’t know quite what to expect, so we were delighted to find ourselves in an incredibly historic and charming town and a beautifully restored inn right in the heart of it! We arrived just in time for tea on Friday afternoon. We were greeted warmly by our host. Given a choice of breakfast in our room or in the communal dining room, we opted to have it brought to our room, but our server noticed us enjoying the patio early the next morning and asked if we’d like it brought there. Yes, it was just a continental breakfast (a previous reviewer complained), but we had yogurt, juice, breads and muffins and good coffee. It was a fine start to the day, and Chestertown has no lack of eateries for lunch and dinner. We loved our large room and private bath in the old kitchen. The White Swan was especially a find because many B&B’s on the Eastern Shore we looked at did not have any rooms with 2 beds, or if they did, they required a 2-night minimum on a weekend in the summer. We considered ourselves very lucky to have ended up here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lin619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The White Swan Tavern is the premiere place to stay in Chestertown. The friendly and knowledgeable innkeeper and the wonderful colonial feel make this a unique experience to be remembered!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was our second visit to The White Swan Tavern, and I enjoy it and Chestertown more each time we return! On this visit, we stayed in the John Lovegrove Kitchen, which is a very large room with a beautiful stone furnace/firepalce and two beds. It is very private, as it sits apart in the back of the property, and overlooks a lovely garden and sitting area. I especially like that it has a seperate entrance from the rest of the White Swan. I've also stayed in the Wilmer Room, which is also charmingly authentic to the period. I really appreciate the warm and friendly staff, as well as the beautiful common rooms and sitting areas of the B&B. This has proven to be a great choice for a stay on Maryland's Eastern Shore!

Room Tip: The John Lovegrove Kitchen provides privacy as it has a seperate entrance from the B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We went to Chestertown for the Tea Party Festival, including the 10 miler race. There were 4 women in our party so we stayed in the T.W. Eliason Victorian Suite and it was perfect. We arrived a little early prepared to store our bags and go to the festival but the cleaning crew was able to get the room ready early due to their early departure. They were very kind about it. We loved the patio area outside the inn's back entrance and enjoyed having a few drinks under the shaded trees. The location was perfect for us as we were able to enjoy the town's festivities without driving anywhere. The inn keeper is very friendly and helpful. I have two critiques. One is the twin bed in the suite is very, very soft and jiggles when sleeping. I woke a lot during the night because of this. The other is that the continental breakfast is a bit lacking. These are not deal breakers though as I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cibor068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This inn is full of the past (in a good way!) and feels as if you have stepped back into America's early history. You can easily visualise people settled around the tables and in the parlour discussing issues of the day. We stayed in the John Lovegrove Kitchen which was great fun, and beautifully appointed.
The inn is centrally situated in the pretty town, with plenty of parking and the welcome from the staff and innkeeper were warm and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WDandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I came here with my boyfriend for a wedding. The location is absolutely perfect - very close to everything, including the water. Very charming B&B, beautiful grounds. Very romantic spot to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the White Swan earlier this month to celebrate our 13th anniversary. It was an absolutely perfect stay. The White Swan is the most charming historic B&B I've ever been to -- and we've been to many. Its location is perfect -- right in the heart of colonial Chestertown, with an easy walk to the Chester River waterfront, restaurants, and shops. This is most definitely the finest inn on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, and ab absolute must-stay for a romantic get-away weekend. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdgewaterMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
1.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kent Manor Inn
Kent Manor Inn
#1 of 2 in Stevensville
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.2 mi away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#6 of 12 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
8.4 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 12 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Tavern

Property: White Swan Tavern
Address: 231 High St, Chestertown, MD 21620-1517
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing