We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restored inn in the heart of historic Chestertown”
Review of White Swan Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chestertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Swan Tavern
Ranked #7 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Spent a night here as part of a girl’s getaway weekend, and it was perfect. Neither of us had ever been to Chestertown and didn’t know quite what to expect, so we were delighted to find ourselves in an incredibly historic and charming town and a beautifully restored inn right in the heart of it! We arrived just in time for tea on Friday afternoon. We were greeted warmly by our host. Given a choice of breakfast in our room or in the communal dining room, we opted to have it brought to our room, but our server noticed us enjoying the patio early the next morning and asked if we’d like it brought there. Yes, it was just a continental breakfast (a previous reviewer complained), but we had yogurt, juice, breads and muffins and good coffee. It was a fine start to the day, and Chestertown has no lack of eateries for lunch and dinner. We loved our large room and private bath in the old kitchen. The White Swan was especially a find because many B&B’s on the Eastern Shore we looked at did not have any rooms with 2 beds, or if they did, they required a 2-night minimum on a weekend in the summer. We considered ourselves very lucky to have ended up here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

The White Swan Tavern is the premiere place to stay in Chestertown. The friendly and knowledgeable innkeeper and the wonderful colonial feel make this a unique experience to be remembered!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was our second visit to The White Swan Tavern, and I enjoy it and Chestertown more each time we return! On this visit, we stayed in the John Lovegrove Kitchen, which is a very large room with a beautiful stone furnace/firepalce and two beds. It is very private, as it sits apart in the back of the property, and overlooks a lovely garden and sitting area. I especially like that it has a seperate entrance from the rest of the White Swan. I've also stayed in the Wilmer Room, which is also charmingly authentic to the period. I really appreciate the warm and friendly staff, as well as the beautiful common rooms and sitting areas of the B&B. This has proven to be a great choice for a stay on Maryland's Eastern Shore!

Room Tip: The John Lovegrove Kitchen provides privacy as it has a seperate entrance from the B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBumDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We went to Chestertown for the Tea Party Festival, including the 10 miler race. There were 4 women in our party so we stayed in the T.W. Eliason Victorian Suite and it was perfect. We arrived a little early prepared to store our bags and go to the festival but the cleaning crew was able to get the room ready early due to their early departure. They were very kind about it. We loved the patio area outside the inn's back entrance and enjoyed having a few drinks under the shaded trees. The location was perfect for us as we were able to enjoy the town's festivities without driving anywhere. The inn keeper is very friendly and helpful. I have two critiques. One is the twin bed in the suite is very, very soft and jiggles when sleeping. I woke a lot during the night because of this. The other is that the continental breakfast is a bit lacking. These are not deal breakers though as I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cibor068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This inn is full of the past (in a good way!) and feels as if you have stepped back into America's early history. You can easily visualise people settled around the tables and in the parlour discussing issues of the day. We stayed in the John Lovegrove Kitchen which was great fun, and beautifully appointed.
The inn is centrally situated in the pretty town, with plenty of parking and the welcome from the staff and innkeeper were warm and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I came here with my boyfriend for a wedding. The location is absolutely perfect - very close to everything, including the water. Very charming B&B, beautiful grounds. Very romantic spot to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the White Swan earlier this month to celebrate our 13th anniversary. It was an absolutely perfect stay. The White Swan is the most charming historic B&B I've ever been to -- and we've been to many. Its location is perfect -- right in the heart of colonial Chestertown, with an easy walk to the Chester River waterfront, restaurants, and shops. This is most definitely the finest inn on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, and ab absolute must-stay for a romantic get-away weekend. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdgewaterMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chestertown hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
1.4 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
121 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Inn at Mitchell House
The Inn at Mitchell House
#4 of 11 in Chestertown
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.2 mi away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#6 of 11 in Chestertown
25 reviews
8.4 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Tavern

Address: 231 High St, Chestertown, MD 21620-1517
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: $30 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impeccably restored historic Inn. A familiar Chestertown landmark since pre-Revolutionary War days, it is a quiet, elegant place nestled in the history of Maryland's Eastern Shore. The White Swan has charming rooms tastefully decorated with period pieces. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing