We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioning”
Review of Inn at the Canal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Canal
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, de
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No air conditioning”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Inn was quiet charming and the owners were very nice but on days when it's 90 degrees outside there should be air conditioning running in the common areas of the Inn. It's nice that the individual rooms are air conditioned but it does not create a nice atmosphere when you can't even eat breakfast because of the heat. There weren't even windows open. I would suggest to the owners to invest in air conditioning throughout the entire Inn and it would make everyone's stay (during the summer) a little more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnattheCanal, Owner at Inn at the Canal, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
We are very sorry your stay was not what you expected. The Inn DOES have central air conditioning thru-out the common spaces. We try to make all of our guests comfortable and adjust the temperature accordingly that is why we have gone to the expense of making sure each room has its own individual controls for heat and air conditioning. It upsets us that a situation like this that could have easily been resolved if the guest would just informed us while they are here that something is not to their liking. We could have easily lower the temperature to suite your needs if we only knew you were uncomfortable. We can only perform service recovery if we are made aware of a guests concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Although I'm writing this review a year later, I felt others should know about a wonderful inn where my husband and I stayed. We love the Chesapeake Bay area and saw the "Inn at the Canal" online and made a reservation for the weekend. Chesapeake City is a 19th century waterfront village where the Inn at the Canal is located. The rooms in this old victorian home are so charming with such a comfy feel to them; and our room, Chesapeake Haven, had a nice view of the water. We enjoyed sitting out on the large porch watching the boats. What makes this inn so special are the owners Bob and Carol. They are helpful but not intrusive. And best of all is the gourmet breakfast they prepare for you and serve in the lovely dining room. Bob is a gourmet chef, so be prepared for a very special breakfast!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerkasieJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, MD
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have stayed here several times with the former and now new owners. The historical house is beautiful. We have stayed in the Chesapeake Haven room and the Upper Bay Suite. Rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The town was very busy St. Patrick's Day weekend, but on the second floor, it was very quiet. We do not eat breakfast at home, but we do when we stay here. Chef Bob makes the best muffins I have ever tasted. His care and attention to detail really shows his dedication as a real Top Chef. Bob and Carol both really set the standard for how B&B's should operate.

Room Tip: The 4-poster antique bed in the Chesapeake Haven room is a big higher than a regular modern bed. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dressage62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, pa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you want a relaxing weekend and want to be in walking distance to everything, try the Inn at the Canal in Chesapeake City, MD. The little town has charming shops and excellent restaurants. The rooms in the old Victorian hotel are lovely and the owners are very hospitable. Best of all is having a breakfast by chef Bob, the owner. I must have a gluten free meal and that often leads to a poor breakfast but it was no challenge to Bob. He whipped upgreat French toast and my husband has a delicious breakfast too. Stop by and stay at this Victorian gem.

Room Tip: Chesapeake Haven has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wesoGarnetvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at the inn between Christmas and New Year's Day. We loved Chesapeake City, and the inn is charming with great views, it was clean and the breakfasts were good. However, we were disappointed with the lack of other amenities, such as no coffee, hot water or other drinks or snacks available for the three in our party when we returned to the inn in the late afternoon. In addition, the breakfast room was very cold when we came down for breakfast on the morning it was just the three of us at the inn. It just wasn't the warm, cozy experience we expected.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddystone, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Traveled to Chesapeake city for a class reunion. Due to wedding in town the options where limited. Very nice Victorian era building service was reminisant of the Philadelphia area. Seeing as how the owners hail from there. And there in is the difference between our accomadations and the service all over the rest of town. Love love love Chesapeake city cause of the country charm and and politeness of the people. The folks at the inn where great. The room was great. View not so much. We where in a room that over looked a roof. It was the little things that where missing. Like complimentary bottles of water. Or a coffee pot that guest might be able to use. K cup machine would be a nice touch. Have stayed at others in town and had full access to the kitchen and its tools for the little things at night that make it fell like home. Would I return to the inn? Yes. But afraid it wouldn't be my first choice...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raikowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesailorbob, Owner at Inn at the Canal, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
So sorry things were not perfect for you. We are glad you liked the room, we only wish all of our rooms had the wonderful views that most of them have (2 do not), however we are happy to have available to our guest our 70' long side porch with a tremendous view of the Canal and Back Creek basin, unlike other B & B's in town that have no views at all. Not sure what happened with the coffee, we have fresh coffee available to our guests on our buffet in the dining room everyday and even have early morning coffee available. We also stock the fridge in the dining room with bottled water for our guests, we stopped putting the water in the guest rooms because it would be room temperature and not very refreshing. We make every attempt to inform all of our guests as to all that is available to them on their stay but I'm sure sometimes we miss something. It seems that our rare complaint is something that is a preference of our guests not brought to our attention. I assure you if there is a concern we are made aware of during a visit we WILL correct it 100% of the time while they are here. We also urge our guest to visit our web site for detailed pictures of the rooms with additional picture of what the views from the rooms look like. We would never put a guest in a room without a view if it is requested when the guest makes their reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We went for our 20th wedding anniversary. The Virginia earthquake occured as we were on Rt 301 in the car, so we knew nothing of it until the Innkeeper asked us how we felt about the quake? What Quake? We had noticed the car moved side to side briefly but thought it was the roadway. Great start to an anniversary.

Bob (Innkeeper) answered the push of the door bell and welcomed us to the Inn. Showed us around and explained the layout of the Inn. Our room is the one you access through the kitchen and is above his office. Great view of the Canal. Very comfortable and clean. Bob provides iced tea and pastry during the day and we enjoyed the tea while sitting on the porch facing the canal. Very restful location.

We had to leave early due to a medical situation and Bob was very helpful directing us to a local Medical Center where treatment was obtained.

We will go again to finish our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake City
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
337 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
317 reviews
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
11.1 mi away
Best Western North East Inn
12.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Canal

Property: Inn at the Canal
Address: 104 Bohemia Ave, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Canal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and comfortable rooms filled with antiques in this Victorian Gothic circa 1874 home on the Historic Register. Gourmet breakfasts by owner/chef,C.I.A. Grad. Waterfront views of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal, quaint town of shops, art and restaurants, and short drive to many desirable sites from Philadelphia to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Inn at the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing