We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and felt at home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Max Inn Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First time we ever stayed at a bed and breakfast and this place is better then any hotel we stayed. We are definitely going back. The service was wonderful and breakfast was excellent. It was very quaint and conveniently located by the Chesapeake Inn where we were attending a wedding.

Room Tip: My husband & I stayed in the Herman Suite along with our son who was on a cot and we stilled had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Blue Max is one of two B&Bs in Chesapeake City. The Inn is nicely decorated in a sort of Victorian style. Many such establishments also have limited facilities, but the bathrooms were up to date and there are modern TVs in the rooms. Breakfast is served (OK filling) and there is tea in the afternoon with some sort of cake. Get there early to capture one of the three parking spaces in the front. All in all it was a very nice experience. Everything is Chesapeake City is within a relatively short walk and there are interesting things to do over a weekend--antique shops, a nice ice cream parlor, canal museum (check hours as it is staffed by volunteers on weekends), and boat tour options on the Miss Clare manned by a lovely old couple. Chesapeake City is similar to but smaller and less hectic than Cape May, NJ and the Blue Max is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. There is only one on the first floor and this is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B&B. The room (Conrey) had a very charming Victorian decor. The bed was quite comfortable. Wireless worked well. The TV was small and only showed a few stations. Breakfast was fruit, a toasted muffin, and an entree which changed each day. The inn is located in the middle of the historic section. Chesapeake City is a very small town but a nice place to walk around with a few interesting shops. The inn is within walking distance of several eateries and sitting by the canal is beautiful. A good place to stay for a night or two.

Room Tip: The Conrey room, although on the third floor going up some narrow steps, has an attached bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank UKBlueCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just spent Presidents Day weekend at The Blue Max. Every room is beautifully decorated by Christine, the gracious inkeeper. Our bed was very comfortable with soft sheets and there was plenty of hot water. We found several chocolate treats in our room and the afternoon tea and bakery items were a nice touch. Breakfast in the sun room overlooking the pond and garden was hearty and delicious. Chesapeake CIty has several nice shops and Northeast and Harve de Grace nearby are lovely towns with shops, antiques and restaurants. The Blue Max is a great place to get away to and we could not recommend it more.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms have their baths across a hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorraine235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The town is charming with pretty much everything you could want cullinarily and the room was great, having a little balcony was nice and the breakfasts were outstanding. Couln't ask for much more.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaishinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Down for a few days of hiking on the C&D canal. This was a perfect location for us. The rooms were great, breakfasts were delicious and coming back in the late afternoon to regroup over tea/soda and cookies made our day. The whole house Wifi was an added bonus. Chesapeake City is very cute with neat shops and several good restaurants within walking distance. It all made for a great trip.

Room Tip: All rooms have private baths but some are outside the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PACachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

What a wonderful getaway for a long weekend. The Inn is very clean, the hosts polite and the breakfasts were made fresh eat morning. Warm cinnamon muffins, eggs benedict, fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice were just some of the delights each morning. There was coffee or hot tea and cookies throughout the day as well and a small fridge stocked with sodas and water for guests as needed.
We stayed in the Hermann room which was the last room down one of the hallways on the 2nd floor. Very quiet, large room, nice sized bathroom. When guests are not staying in a room, the doors are left open so you can take a peek. All rooms were clean and cozy and the 2nd level rooms with balconies were very spacious. Every local we met in Chesapeake City let us know we picked "the best" B&B. Chesapeake City itself is quaint, friendly, cozy and great for a few days. If you are looking for a party, stop at the Chesapeake Inn. Otherwise, sit back and relax in one of the nicest B&B's in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Max Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Max Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 300 Bohemia Ave, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1244
Location: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Price Range: $85 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Max Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing