We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the view of DEL & Chesapeake Canal traffic”

Bayard House Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
335 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Love the view of DEL & Chesapeake Canal traffic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We took a side trip to Chesapeake City to visit the Canal Museum and see traffic along this still very active canal (although it wasn't very busy on a Sunday lunchtime when we were there). We chose Bayard House for the porch with views right on the Canal and thus ignored the standard advice to get better food at a place without a view. We both ordered the crab cake lunch and it was pretty good -- mostly crab meat and very little filler. The vegetables were a snore, a little overcooked. For what we got on the plate, prices were high. But then we were paying for the view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    71
    31
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great outdoor "umbrella bar" located on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

A little pricey in the upstairs dining area. Cute little bar downstairs. The "Hole in the Wall" bar!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMCMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch. We had a choice of either lunch or brunch because it was Sunday. We chose lunch. I got the French onion soup which was Ok, nothing spectacular. It tasted like a packaged onion soup. Thin broth. My mother got the crab bisque and that was much better. She also got a Reuben sandwich which was tasty too. It had a lot of corned beef. She couldn't eat it all so they boxed it up. However she accidentally left it on the table. Now we parked across the street and she walks quite slowly, so there was ample time and opportunity to let us know when they cleared the table. Yes it was our mistake that we forgot it, but poor customer service on their part. I am very disappointed that a staff member would not/could not bring it out. We didn't realize we had left it until we got home in PA. I got the Bayard House burger with bleu cheese. It was again just OK, not very flavorful. The sweet potato fries were OK too. Will I return? Maybe in a couple of years. It does have a nice view though.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank readingrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The Bayard House is a great place. Excellent food, service, and atmosphere with awesome waterfront views of ships and boats passing by right in front of you. I highly recommend the Bayard House.

Helpful?
Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve bait and switch menu offer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been eating at this restaurant for over 15 years and live locally. i have always had a good experience until New Year's Eve, 2013. I called a couple weeks in advance to make a reservation and inquire about. The New Year's Eve specials. I was told they had a special for $50 a couple which included surf and turf, soup or salad, a glass of champagne and dessert. The evening of New Year's Eve we had a one hour wait even with the reservation. Once we were seated and inquired about the specials,I was told by the owner that the special I noted above did not exist and that I must have called the wrong restaurant which I knew I did not. Instead of just admitting they published this special and it was an error, he was rude and arrogant and tried to act like I made the mistake. Our prime rib was served to us cold and the coffee was also cold.
When I went home I looked up the website for the bayard house and the special that I memtioned was actually posted on their website. The most professional way he could have handled our inquiry would have been to admit they ran an ad that was a mistake and perhaps his staff didn't realize it was a mistake when I called to make a reservation. Telling me I must have called the wrong restaurant was absurd. His attitude was unprofessional and that will be the last visit to the Bayard House for our friends and extended family . We would rather go some where with respectful ownership.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayard House Restaurant also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Bayard House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing