We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schaefer's Canal House

Schaefer's Canal House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newark, Delaware
1 review
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have been to Schaefer's many times since they re-opened and often bring out of town guests who want to return when they visit again. The food is awesome, from appetizers to sandwiches to entrees. The service is also amazing....they are very accomodating and very friendly. As a person who worked "in the industry" for over 25 years I appreciate everything they do and also understand that I may have to wait for a couple minutes if they are busy. We were just there tonight and had an amazing meal....crab dip, scallops lejon, broiled seafood combo and stuffed flounder! We will be back VERY soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    132
    43
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holtwood
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Dinner by the Water"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Schaefer's dinner by the water was very relaxing, the food was good, the service was slow. We were in no hurry, so it was a lovely evening. We hope to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Schaeffer's several times (5)over the past three months and the food was very good each time. There were times awe had to wait for a seat 30-45 mins and they did not seem at all busy. Tables open outside on the upper deck as well as inside. Maybe they were short staffed. At times we opted for the inside bar where we received excellent service. We have eaten appetizers, sandwiches and entrees on our various visits. I know this is a restaurant known for seafood but their cheese steak is most excellent. Crab cakes are just as good. Service in the dining area can be slow .. Waiting on our entrees. But when our entrees arrived they were hot and very good. So got to chalk it up to the kitchen staff being very busy or slow. The outside bar is a fun area but felt invisible at times trying to get a drink. I would rate it excellent but it is just a notch below.

Helpful?
Thank SusieQ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SLOWWW”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very slow service sometimes I feel invisible at the bar. This place use to have great service but the new owners just haven't figured it out

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TCboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
292 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fun Place - Bad Fish Tacos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I have come here over the years and were pleased to have it reopen last year. It has a great environment, great view, good entertainment, fun fun place. Just don't get the fish tacos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peteo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schaefer's Canal House also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Schaefer's Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing