We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Afternoon Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schaefer's Canal House

Schaefer's Canal House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Afternoon Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife wanted a good crab cake dinner. We heard about Schaefer's from friends and figured its worth the hour ride. The view is fantastic, and very relaxing. Seating is outdoors on the deck or inside, either has the view of the canal.

The crab cakes were perfect, We ordered mussels for our appetizer, another good pick. the drinks hit the spot. Our server was friendly, and made sure our drinks were topped off. Again the dinner was great, service was just as good.

We went on a Saturday afternoon.. no lines, no waiting, seated promptly. This will be a for sure " Lets go to Schaefer's"

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poppop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    132
    43
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Wolf, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went for a day trip to include shopping and lunch on the canal. Everything was delicious, the view was phenomenal. Our service was really good, I was drinking Diet Coke like it was going out of style and the server managed to keep up with me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best on the canal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

James' martinis are on point, he was very attentive. The crab dip is phenomenal. Service was great, request Melissa, she's super sweet and we will definitely be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kflynn410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Once again it was fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

After our first visit, we knew we wanted to return and bring our friends. However, I was concerned with recent reviews on tripadvisor with the lack of service and long waits. Thankfully, we did not have any wait to be seated and had excellent food and service. We went on a beautiful Saturday at 4:30 and were seated immediately right next to the dock. Again our dogs were welcomed and the service was pleasant and attentive. Three of us grew up along the Mississippi River in WI so this location was a little piece of home. All of us ordered different things (stuffed flounder, broiled seafood, fried seafood, fried shrimp) and all of it was something we would order again. A perfect, relaxing, and delicious evening was had by all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dix7616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best on the canal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Sat at the bar with a few girlfriends while "team-handsome" worked the bar. Had lots of fun and loved our crab dip. Definitely becoming Friday happy-hour regulars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmberWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schaefer's Canal House also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Schaefer's Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing