We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood and Atmosphere”

Schaefer's Canal House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brought our family to Sahefer's Canal House in Chesapeake City by boat. The dock hands were wonderful in guiding our boat in. We had a short wait to seat 6 adults. They had a band playing and the music was wonderful. Each of us had a different meal. I had the stuffed flounder which was wonder. My husband had the sea scallops which were also very good. My Daughter-in-Law had the stuffed shrimp and my Step-Son had the Crab Cakes. All of the meals were wonderful. Our grand daughter and her boyfriend had club sandwiches which were also great. The menu has everything you could want on it and all looked great.
The outside seating on the Chesapeake Canal is just such a relaxing atmosphere.
We all enjoyed our night out at Saefer's. Will go again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    136
    44
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“horrific service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a disappointment.... Horrible service, inattentive waiter... had to ask for water twice and when we requested bread, the waiter was shocked we wanted it... on the fried fish platter, the rock fish had a funky taste...and the fries were iced cold. Had to send it back and ordered something else. the crab cake was just okay... For being in Maryland, this should have been much better!
When we were leaving, no one came over and apologized again..... Would not go back again....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
339 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great View - Ordinary Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recently redone, this old landmark is physically much more attractive and enjoyable than the old facility. Food is a cross between a restricted menu and bar food. Service varies from visit to vist.
My experiences have been good but the food is just average.

Oysters were terrible two weeks ago and the salads left no impression on us. Burgers were good,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crab cakes set the standard, as does the Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Since I'm a native of the area, the long awaited re-opening of Schaefer's Canal House was a welcomed event. Early on there were periods of adjustment as would be expected with any newly created wait staff, but it didn't take long before they were all working in unison. We have NEVER experienced poor service nor have we ever had an issue with their menu offerings. When I read other reviews for this establishment, I can't help but think many of them are posted for no other reason than retribution for pulling customer's away from, in particular, another dining establishment in the immediate area. One only needs to compare meal for meal, drink for drink, dollar for dollar. When you walk into Schaefer's you're treated equally, regardless if you've arrived in a yacht or a pick up truck. Schaefer's offers a family-friendly atmosphere and I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank al a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City
1 review
“Views are Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We been to Schaefer's several times and the new owners finally did it right. The old rotted docks and walkways are gone, the restaurant is totally redone and the outside restaurant deck and patio is ready for summer fun. The food that we have had so far has been very good and the views of the C&D canal and the sunsets are just unbelievable.
We have tried the crab cakes, the salmon, the cheese steaks and the hoagies and they will all very good. Our servers have always been courteous and professional.
On occasion it was crowded, but I really think it was worth the wait. Happy Hour is the BEST.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_WChesapeakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schaefer's Canal House also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Schaefer's Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing