We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Inn at the Canal(Chesapeake City)
$176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
169
48
8
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
48
8
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatch the boatsgreat view of the canalthird floorhot tubeggs benedict with crabquaint townfrench doorschesapeake suiterooms facebridal partygift certificatebayard housebed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciouscharming b bthoroughly enjoyed our staysomerset room
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 233 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2015

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Ship Watch Inn starting on August 16th, 2015. We stayed in #3, the Talbot room. It's a very nice room with a flat screen TV, nice bed, private bath, and all the usual stuff you'd expect at a nice hotel. It has an incredible view of the canal from the balcony. We watched as many private boats traveled along the canal, along with several commercial ships. If you're into boat watching, this is the place for you.
The breakfast service in the morning was outstanding and it was served on our own balcony. Our balcony was covered, so we didn't have to worry about too much sun or rain. It was great!
The night time snacks and treats were delicious. We also appreciated the water and coffee available.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time with all of them. Checking in and out was simple and easy.
Sitting on the balcony, I could hear the traffic clip clopping, like horses on the bridge, but it was just part of the atmosphere to me. I couldn't hear the traffic at all in the room,
I could hear the guests upstairs moving around a bit, but it wasn't upsetting and didn't last long.
If you have time, don't miss the boat tour with Ralph and his wife Mary on the Miss Clare. They are both in their seventies and love showing and telling you the history of the canal. It's only $10 and probably the best $10 we spent on the trip.
We loved the bed and breakfast "Ship Watch Inn". Definitely one of our highlights of the summer!
Joe and Vicki Link Hanover, PA

Room Tip: Reserve the Talbot room, it has a balcony with a roof and one of the best views of the canal.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Several of us take an annual trip to Chesapeake City by boat. Most of us stay at the local bed and breakfasts and enjoy the shopping and restaurants while we are there. My wife and I have stayed at three of the inns there and the Ship Watch Inn is by far the best property there. The rooms are always clean and very comfortable and the staff makes sure that your stay is pleasant. A great breakfast is prepared each day and the view from the decks and outside hot tub are magnificent. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ship Watch Inn. They have a great view of the canal and the food was amazing and super gourmet. If you are sensitive to smells however the room had a moldy smell that was only manageable if the A/C was on at all times. Given the heat and the moisture I am not sure if this is common in the area or not. The bed had the softest sheets ever, but the mattress was old and sagged in the middle. It did leave me with a stiff back. We enjoyed the full size TV and free cable movie channels. If you are in the area on the weekend there are lots of live music options which makes for a nice evening.

Room Tip: Suites are large and wonderful views
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennifersM2234XP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015

We enjoyed the time we spent at Ship Watch Inn. Rene, Sharon, Ashley and Anna were very nice and accommodating. The Inn was clean and beautifully decorated. The best part was sitting on the porch watching the traffic on the canal. We were on the first floor and the glass doors opened to the porch and hot tub making it very convenient to enter and exit the room. We were served breakfast on the porch. We had beautiful weather, although a little hot, but the air conditioning in our room was very comfortable. We enjoyed the sodas, water and delicious treats that were on hand 24 hours a day. We had the most delicious brownies I have ever eaten. We will make Ship Watch our "go to" place when we want to get away for a day without driving so far. We loved this little Gem of a spot less than 90 minutes from home. We took the party boat tour on the M/V Bay Breeze. This is run by a local family and they were the nicest people to be with. Enjoyed our two hour tour on the canal at sunset.

Room Tip: Wicomoco Room good if you don't want to deal with steps.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

If you live a busy life, this is an ideal spot to relax, refresh and recharge. Located on the C&D Canal, the Shipwatch Inn provides the perfect setting. Located across the Canal from Schaffer's Canal House, and across the street from the Chesapeake Inn, you enjoy a beautiful view of the canal ideal for "ship watching." The rooms are gorgeous with every amenity. Breakfasts can be served on your deck, overlooking the canal. It is in the center of town but feels like it is totally isolated. Easy walking distance from the local shops and 1 block away from the Tap Room, which boasts the best crabs anywhere. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. An excellent weekend choice.

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank theredwiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews