We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Inn at the Canal(Chesapeake City)
$176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$107
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
169
48
8
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
48
8
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatch the boatsgreat view of the canalthird floorhot tubeggs benedict with crabquaint townfrench doorschesapeake suiterooms facebridal partygift certificatebayard housebed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciouscharming b bthoroughly enjoyed our staysomerset room
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 233 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ship Watch Inn. They have a great view of the canal and the food was amazing and super gourmet. If you are sensitive to smells however the room had a moldy smell that was only manageable if the A/C was on at all times. Given the heat and the moisture I am not sure if this is common in the area or not. The bed had the softest sheets ever, but the mattress was old and sagged in the middle. It did leave me with a stiff back. We enjoyed the full size TV and free cable movie channels. If you are in the area on the weekend there are lots of live music options which makes for a nice evening.

Room Tip: Suites are large and wonderful views
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennifersM2234XP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015

We enjoyed the time we spent at Ship Watch Inn. Rene, Sharon, Ashley and Anna were very nice and accommodating. The Inn was clean and beautifully decorated. The best part was sitting on the porch watching the traffic on the canal. We were on the first floor and the glass doors opened to the porch and hot tub making it very convenient to enter and exit the room. We were served breakfast on the porch. We had beautiful weather, although a little hot, but the air conditioning in our room was very comfortable. We enjoyed the sodas, water and delicious treats that were on hand 24 hours a day. We had the most delicious brownies I have ever eaten. We will make Ship Watch our "go to" place when we want to get away for a day without driving so far. We loved this little Gem of a spot less than 90 minutes from home. We took the party boat tour on the M/V Bay Breeze. This is run by a local family and they were the nicest people to be with. Enjoyed our two hour tour on the canal at sunset.

Room Tip: Wicomoco Room good if you don't want to deal with steps.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

If you live a busy life, this is an ideal spot to relax, refresh and recharge. Located on the C&D Canal, the Shipwatch Inn provides the perfect setting. Located across the Canal from Schaffer's Canal House, and across the street from the Chesapeake Inn, you enjoy a beautiful view of the canal ideal for "ship watching." The rooms are gorgeous with every amenity. Breakfasts can be served on your deck, overlooking the canal. It is in the center of town but feels like it is totally isolated. Easy walking distance from the local shops and 1 block away from the Tap Room, which boasts the best crabs anywhere. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. An excellent weekend choice.

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank theredwiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

Loved our stay in Chesapeake City -- the room was very nice and the breakfast was over the top! Great views of the C&D Canal and the boat traffic from the decks! Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean... dining and enjoying our coffee on the rear deck was very relaxing.

Room Tip: three stories - we wanted a top floor room for watching the ships and photographing them
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delrcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Ship Watch Inn. Our room on the third floor had a great view of the canal and breakfast was served just outside our room on the deck. You couldn't ask for a better way to start your day. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank amykz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews