We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a wedding. The setting was great for a wedding and the reception onsite was wonderful with great food. However, for the hotel, we were a bit disappointed. The rooms were humid and musty. The in-room air conditioners were turned off before we checked in on a very hot weekend. Pillows and bedding were not very comfortable. Service in both restaurants was rather slow and staff were not apologetic for the delays. Front desk staff were friendly. We were surprised that there was no outdoor pool at this beachfront hotel. There is also no access onsite to the beach for swimming. The indoor pool didn't have any towels. The water park across the street (additional fee) looked interesting. Advance payment was required for reservations at this hotel. Some rooms have balconies, others do not. This distinction was not evident when making the reservations by telephone.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony for extra space. Rooms on the north side more noisy due to the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin J, Marketing Coordinator at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa. We apologize that the rooms did not meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of updating all of the bedding and pillows at the hotel. Our staff is trained to distinguish between the different room types we offer here at the hotel and we are sorry you were not aware of the different room types. We have made hotel management and front desk staff aware of this issue. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review of the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    175
    96
    30
    27
See reviews for
131
224
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel. Check in was smooth, and the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The room also had a new flat screen TV. The TV wasn't working-it was a setting but we couldn't figure it out. After calling the front desk, the TV was fixed in about 10 min. This hotel also have a game room- with Bingo. It also has a marina. It's neat to walk around and look at the boats. Chesapeake Beach is a bit of a sleepy town but it was what we were looking for. We've actually already been back to the area since our first visit two weeks ago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was an overnight getaway for my husband and myself (my birthday). It was adorable. The staff were all very pleasant and the restaurant was very good. It is a laid back place so, I would not recommend it for more than a weekend stay. Apparently, they do amazing weddings there. Two separate weddings were happening while we were there and the hotel was completely sold out. However, we never once felt like the place was overcrowded or understaffed. The Sunday breakfast buffet was delicious.

Room Tip: Tips: 1) Splurge on the bayfront Jacuzzi room (we did and loved it). 2) Make reservations for dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin J, Marketing Coordinator at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We strive to have both the best staff and food here at the resort so we are very happy to hear that we could meet your expectations, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife, granddaughter, and I stayed at the Hotel this past Thursday and Friday. Our room overlooked the Bay (wonderful view) and was very comfortable. A band played in the evenings, from a bandshell sitting on the edge of the Bay and ended by 10 pm. We could see them playing from our balcony. The music was enjoyable to all of us and ended at a very appropriate time (given the likely mix of guests at the hotel). On-site restaurants offer a nice variety of food and settings including outdoor water view seating. Friendly staff in the hotel - in fact I'd say very friendly - and in the restaurants. A grocery store and pharmacy within walking distance for any last minute needs. The water park across the street is very nice except for the lack of just about any shaded areas. I rented a cabana for shade which was good for us but overall I think that a better system should be implemented. The quality of the Water Park on the whole is very nice........ looked clean...... well maintained....... and as you would expect on a very hot July day.........very crowded. Looked to me like facilities/ rafts / slides / etc. were being slightly overwhelmed. So crowded that after 2 hours the granddaughter (11) was ready to go. So were we. I'm glad the facility is that successful. On a semi cloudy day with 1/2 the folks it would be great. We then went to the indoor pool at the Hotel. Small, but just the right size for the 7 of us that happened to be there. The granddaughter met a new friend and for the next 2 hours had a wonderful time playing (which means we all had a wonderful time). Early Friday evening we drove the three or so miles up the coast to North Beach for the Farmer's Market. A wide variety of products and crafts offered by various vendors (I think this occurs every Friday throughout the summer) were interesting to us and the granddaughter. We found prices to be very visitor friendly. Including dinner, this was an enjoyable three or so hours for all of us. The bottom line is that we enjoyed our stay. My wife and I would enjoy visiting again. It worked out fine having the granddaughter with us for the two night stay but pushing it any longer would be problematic.

Room Tip: I'd get a water front room again. You can see / hear the band but by 10 pm the music stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hi we just got back from Maryland. Our first stop was Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa. We enjoyed ourselves. After our four night stay we proceeded to the Marriott Waterfront in Annapolis which was excellent in Maryland. Our view was ocean front at the Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa. Nice. The restaurants were good. We especially enjoyed our Bar Tender inside of the Rod And Real Nancy. She was excellent. She went above and beyond with all of her customers!!! I really believe she made our trip extra special. I spent time at the spa which was enjoyable but very disorganized. The front desk lady complained a couple times and was very destraught. The food was good at all of the Chesapeake Beach Restaurants and we enjoyed the live entertainment. This is not a place for young children. Not much for them to do except the water park across the street. Minimal shopping and things to see compared to Annapolis. For our money and review skip Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa and head to Annapolis and don't miss Solomon Island. Nancy you need to move to Annapolis!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin J, Marketing Coordinator at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view and amenities we offer at the resort. We strive to have the best customer service so we are very pleased that Nancy did such a great job and made your trip extra special. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I dropped in after a little road trip down the coast of Md. We had a great time!!
We loved the Rock the Dock (which was moved inside) Had a blast. The room was well appointed, lovely staff, beautiful view, perfect chairs on the balcony, and.. quiet for sleeping. (there are rules about this) It was a great getaway. Thanks everyone. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin J, Marketing Coordinator at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you liked the room, view and live entertainment that we offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The rooms where clean, and the employees where polite. Very good complimentary breakfast. Parking was very difficult on weekend. Water park across the road was nice but expensive. And do't waste your time going to North Beach, what a joke to call it a "beach" and actually charge $$$ to enter. Food service at the resort was pathetic. The Breakers restaurant across the street was 10 times better food and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin J, Marketing Coordinator at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that the service, cleanliness and amenities at the hotel met your expectations. We would like to let you know that we do offer complimentary valet parking to all of our guests. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the food service at the restaurants here on the property. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake Beach
18.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
23.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederick
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederi...
#1 of 3 in Prince Frederick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
18.4 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
18.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732-5116
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Chesapeake Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesapeake Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Chesapeake Beach
Chesapeake Beach Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing