We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant 2nites weekday getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pleasant 2nites weekday getaway!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Bought a Living Social voucher ($150 for two nights (limited view with no balcony w $25 restaurant voucher). Stayed from 7/31 to 8/2. Indoor pool was broken when we arrived but glad that it opened within an hour. Continental breakfast was decent with choices of bagels, danishes, yogurts, cereal, apples, oranges, oatmeal, juices,& coffee. There was freshly baked delicious cookies for a few hours on one afternoon. The nearby beach, North Beach ($10/adult,$6/kid is a little expensive) but we went for ice cream and boardwalk after dinner instead which is wonderful. The room is clean and beds are comfortable with flat-large HDTV. The food at Rod n Reel restaurant is delicious with waterfront view. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck listening to the water and also went on a trip to Calvert Cliff national Park hike (about 45 minutes drive south). Overall, a nice 2nites, 3 days trips at Chesapeake Beach Hotel & Spa and will recommend it. We wish we had a waterfront view room with balcony but bought the LS voucher with an expensive price, getting what we paid for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavinia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    181
    99
    32
    30
See reviews for
134
235
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Week of 7/31, my friend and I had an overnight stay, using a Groupon Deal. The room that we were given was unsanitary--dirty bathroom rug, dirty blankets and it had an odor (which the manager attempted to deodorize with a machine!) The extra pillows had no pillowcases and the hair dryer did not work! The hotel staff replaced the dirty rug and blankets but refused to change our room even though they were not fully occupied! In addition, the assigned room with a balcony overlooked the area where big bags of garbage were collected and a pile of overturned canoes! The manager never offered an apology and was somewhat condescending, as if we should have accepted this! We were treated like "second class" citizens!

Room Tip: I would chose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWatson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Used a groupon ($99 for one night w two $25 vouchers:one for food and one for gaming). It's on the water (lots of ducks and seagulls...read: lots of feathers). Indoor pool was broken for most of the day, food choices are expensive and ...meh, service at hotel is better than restaurants. DVD players (we brought DVDs for the kids & board games...thank God!) worked, rooms clean/smallish. Continental breakfast = bagels, croissants, Danishes, yogurts, cereal, apples, oranges, oatmeal, juices,& coffee. The nearby beach is a small shell-y strip of sand ($10/adult,$6/kid= a little pricier than I had expected). The watermark across the street is CROWDED and small. Again, not much to do with kids...Would not return

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icgrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I bought a deal from living social for this resort as an attempt for a quick overnight getaway that was still close to home and it was just what I needed. I have been on many resorts throughout the world so I was very curious to see what a local resort would look like. I love the fact that this hotel really does a great job to give you a resort feel. It looks much better than the pictures describe. When you arrive there is a beautiful grand fountain surrounded by colorful flowers. People are always waiting at the front to provide valet parking and to greet new visitors. The hotel was very neat and clean. The rooms were a nice size and the beds were comfortable. The balcony view of the bay was spectacular. There is not much entertainment but as with any resort, you are there to relax so it gives you the opportunity to do just that. We ate at rod n reel for lunch. The food was great, although pretty expensive. The staff was very personable and helpful. For dinner we sat on the beach while listening to the Wednesday night entertainment which was so great we looked them up in order to purchase their cd. They have plenty of seating on their mini boardwalk which gives you an opportunity to just sit back and look at the water along with the other wildlife present such as jellyfish, ducks, and other birds. We ended our night at the casino. We the breakfast at smokey joes which gave a large portion for a good price. All guest were friendly and spoke as they walked along. We were so relaxed during our stay we felt like we were there longer. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leish918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at the beach resort and had a great experience. Summer beach band played in the bandshell on Wednesday night. Great entertainment. The band was wonderful. We sat on the dock and listened the whole time. Balcony room overlooking the bay. Ate breakfast on the balcony. Continental breakfast was fresh and good. Staff was all friendly. Great deal with $50 off the room with the summer beach discount. We will definetly go back again. Everything was clean. Resort was clean. At at the restaurant and bar at resort. Both were wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a balcony. Worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbieB251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is fine; rooms have been updated (except for showers). Looking straight down from our balcony there was a swirl of garbage and bird droppings. The spa was closed by the time we arrived on Sunday. There is NOTHING to do there, and the "beach" is non-existent. Breakfast was not replenished efficiently and they ran out of coffee, milk, juice, etc. Definitely would NOT go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband purchased a Living Social deal on line and we were very pleased with our experience. The resort is very busy, but we found all of the staff, although young as other reviewers mention, very helpful. The place is full of history, the General Manager took us an a tour of the hotel pointing out all of the wonderful pictures taken in Chesapeake Beach over the past 100, or so years. The hotel sits right on the bay, and is very nice Our room was very clean and nicely appointed with bottles of water, Keruig coffee and a very large flat screen tv and a beautiful view of the bay from our balcony. The restaurants were good, the Rod and reel was very slow, but served a nice dinner; the other restaurant, Smokie Joe was more of a bar so we didn't try it. The hotel provided a very nice continental breakfast in the morning
In all, this is a great place to get away. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake Beach
18.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
22.8 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
18.4 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederick
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederi...
#1 of 3 in Prince Frederick
116 reviews
18.1 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
10.8 mi away
Chesapeake House Tilghman Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732-5116
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Chesapeake Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesapeake Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Chesapeake Beach
Chesapeake Beach Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing