We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Hotel a lil out dated, but very clean & well taken care of. Our suite had a balcony viewing the bay. Nice! Bathrobes, gel pillows...Kerig coffee machine in rooms..close to food, slots, and relaxing boardwalk. I'd go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dynasty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 615 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for an on-site wedding. The hospitality started as we walked across the parking lot. A staff member with a golf cart offered to take us to the door. Smooth, quick check in with friendly service. Nicely attired room with pretty view of the bay. Balcony was a good size for the two of us, and the chairs were quite comfortable. Only complaint was the quality of the bed was not what we are used to -- not horrible, but not top quality, either. We also enjoyed the Sunday buffet at the Rod & Reel -- fantastic! There were several stations making fresh food -- the usual omlet station, but also stations making fresh donuts, muffins, belgian waffles, and pancakes. Great selections!
We drove just down the road to North Beach. We walked along the boardwalk and enjoyed the bay views. Great stay!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank DonnaStram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeBchResort, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Everyone here at the resort, from our hotel associates to our “Brunch” associates are here to “do what ever it takes” to take care of you, and all of our guests at the Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa.
We look forward to your next visit to our Resort.
Richard Dane
General Manager
Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were looking for a place to just hang out for a couple of days and the Chesapeake Beach Hotel worked for us. The hotel seems relatively new and is well kept. The rooms were modern and very clean. Our bed was a bit uncomfortable. The hotel also has a spa.

The hotel is adjacent to two restaurants, the Rod 'n Real, Smokey Joe's and the Boardwalk Cafe (which was closed). There are slot machines in, above, and around the restaurants which made it a downer for us.....others may like this. The hotel is part of a marina where you can charter a boat.

The whole complex was hopping......unbeknown to us, it was the Calvert County Fishing Derby Weekend and there were quite a few people on the complex. Our room was very quiet....despite the number of people staying for the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zekesidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The Hotel presents itself quite sharply. Out room #201 was very clean but the mattress was on the thin side and the room was next to the elevator. It wasn't clear if the noise was the elevator or the water pipes in the stairwell also adjacent to the room, but unless the fan to the air/heat unit was on it was quite disturbing. I'm confident other rooms would not suffer such an issue. We happened to book a room w/o balcony because it was still cold, but had we done so I feel our stay would have been even better.

The buffet on Sunday was excellent and PACKED even for an off season with bad weather threatening.

We considered going out for dinner, but the dining room was featuring an oyster three ways platter so we stayed and were not disappointed. Service was snappy and friendly on both occasions.

We did not attempt Smokey Joes, see other reviews here.

Saturday was the only night the Bingo room was closed, but it has a great view and appeared smoke free. I would have liked to give it a go.

We did play $10.00 in the slot machines that are not slot machines and walked out with $25.00. Excellent!!

There just isn't much else to the surroundings however, and it's a shame that people show up to a nice dinner or Sunday Brunch in pajamas. But like I said, Southern Maryland is not Annapolis or St Michaels. (Not that there's anything wrong with that, just don't expect it to be)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WouldaShoulda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeBchResort, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Thank you for your comments - Summer is Almost Here... Call us for your next Vacation.
Richard Dane
General Manager
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed here a few years ago and felt very out of place, as if we didn't meet the correct income bracket for patrons. However every hotel deserves a second chance so we gave this one another try.

Positive:
- The valet parking guys were fun, friendly and made us feel VERY welcome. Parking is free and the lot is big enough for oversized vehicles like a camper.
- The snotty "we're better than you" front-desk staff from our last visit was gone! They've been replaced with staff that is both professional and friendly. We felt as if they were genuinely happy to see us.
- There was complimentary bottled water in the room.
- There was complimentary Keurig coffee in the room. The downside was that the machine was hard to operate and the coffee tasted like chlorine, not sure that's the hotel's fault, but it was a bit of a surprise during the first sip. (Maybe our coffee maker had just been cleaned and needed another rinse?) Still, they had complimentary Keurig coffee! You won't find that at Holiday Inn, Hampton, Marriott, or Hilton.
- Even after a shift change the new staff continued to be just as friendly.
- They had cookies, tea and coffee (with those delicious flavored creamers) set out all afternoon.
- We booked a room with a balcony which was good sized. The balcony chairs had large armrests that easily held a book, coffee mug or whatever. Views were better than expected and later we kept the door open and listened to the waves all night long.
- Shower supplies were from Bath and Body Works.
- There are restaurants in the immediate area, no need to drive.

Negative:
- complimentary breakfast was on the sparse side, not a buffet like Holiday Inn Express.
- When calling the hotel for rate information a younger man with whom I spoke was difficult to understand and kind of snotty. The conversation was reminiscent of the attitude we experienced during our previous visit to this hotel. Still, every hotel deserves a second chance....

Tip:
- I checked Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, hotel.com and Chesapeake's website for rates. The hotel itself offered an "online only" special which was $50 (yes $50) cheaper than the other websites for the same room (king with balcony). I'm not real fond of doing credit cards online so I called the hotel and asked if I could just book the room for that night directly with them. That younger man said, "no way" so I went back online, booked through their website, saved the $50 and was at the hotel 45 minutes later. All told it took about an hour to do the checking and booking. Time well spent.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank lovestotravelohyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

When life gets heavy - you go to the BEACH!! An easy drive from PA and so relaxing. The place is compfortable, relaxed and staff is so warm & friendly. If you can get a room with a balcony with waterview it is such a treat!!! We were lucky to pick a date when it was Harvest Moon over the Bay. Truly magical. The moon was orange reflecting on the water with a glass of wine - therapy from the real stresses of life. If you are in the mood for gaming - they got it!! Several eateries to choose from. If you gotta get away - this fits your pocketbook and takes care of you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We got a room here for a wedding, since the reception and wedding were here. Trouble began at check in. My husband dropped me off and went to pick up our son, and since he made the reservation, they would not let me check in, even with an ID and a credit card!! They had me call my husband, hand the phone to the person at the front desk, so he could get verbal ok to let me check in!!

My sister and I went to the restaurant to get lunch since it was an evening wedding, and we stood for 10 minutes before someone even came to show us to a table, despite the fact that 2 people saw us standing there, and continued to clean off tables and talk without even acknowledging us! After we were seated, we waited an additional 10 minutes and my sister got up to get us menus. Then someone finally came over. My sister told them we were here for a wedding and were on a tight timeline, and the server said ok. It took them 40 minutes to bring us a salad and a sandwich with chips!! And the dining room was not even half full.

The wedding coordinator had booked this wedding and another back to back, and continually called the bride's room where the attendants were getting dressed telling her --you can't be late, you need to hurry, the other family wants to start sitting down!!
When I went to sit down at the ceremony site, the preacher's wife said the coordinator told her husband he would have to cut the ceremony short because they were running late by 15 minutes! After the ceremony, a guest fell and severely hurt her ankle as there was a large step down between the pier and the sand. No one was there to help. The food was mediocre, and the help at the wedding was very slow also. They did not even pick up the plates from the appetizers until after the main course, so it was difficult to find room for everything on the table.

My advice--yes it is a pretty place, but there are many pretty places around. Be smart, pick another, and don't even thing of having your wedding there!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroluc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesapeake Beach
18.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
23.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
18.4 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Colony South
Colony South
#3 of 4 in Clinton
232 reviews
19.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
11.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederick
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederi...
#1 of 3 in Prince Frederick
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732-5116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Chesapeake Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesapeake Beach
Price Range: $83 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Chesapeake Beach
Chesapeake Beach Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing