We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIND BETTER PLACE.”
Review of Abner's Crab House

Abner's Crab House
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: This place was TERRIBLE. We were there on 5/2/10. There were 6 in our party. We ordered dinners of crab cakes, grilled chicken, bbq shrimp, a seafood platter, and crab balls/shrimp. The crab cakes were dry and had too much filling. The grilled chicken was over cooked and dry. The food all seemed to be either frozen or canned. The only highlight were the two salads that were ordered. The only thing worse than the food was the service. For parties of 6 or more they add a 20% gratuity. If they didn't, our waitress would have been lucky to get 10%. She was more interested in sitting at the bar! Bad food, horrible service and a $229 bill averaging out to $38 a person and we only had soda or tea to drink.....DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS PLACE
Restaurant details
Description: This place was TERRIBLE. We were there on 5/2/10. There were 6 in our party. We ordered dinners of crab cakes, grilled chicken, bbq shrimp, a seafood platter, and crab balls/shrimp. The crab cakes were dry and had too much filling. The grilled chicken was over cooked and dry. The food all seemed to be either frozen or canned. The only highlight were the two salads that were ordered. The only thing worse than the food was the service. For parties of 6 or more they add a 20% gratuity. If they didn't, our waitress would have been lucky to get 10%. She was more interested in sitting at the bar! Bad food, horrible service and a $229 bill averaging out to $38 a person and we only had soda or tea to drink.....DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS PLACE
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“FIND BETTER PLACE.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hate to give bad review of someplace where I live but, You have chance to eat somewhere else do so. Alot of people think because we live on the water all the seafood has to be good.
This place is the exception. Bad service not very friendly & over priced.You going for crabs don't waste your time here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    14
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
“Simply....AWFUL”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Was here on Memorial Day and had to wait and wait for a table, even tho half were empty. Servers were surly and dismissive. Finally got seated and waited forever again for a menu, then same again to get an order taken. The crabs were $40/doz for tiny ones...outrageous!!! This place is hideous. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Bad food, even worse atmosphere, not worth one penny of the $90 we spent here. You know its bad when they serve a glass (plastic cup) of ice with wine ( that came from a box).

Helpful?
4 Thank Beachbumm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Crabby after Crabs”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It should be better--it's sitting on the water and the workboats are nearby; we saw the waterman crabbing not far from the restaurant, but the "large" crabs at $60/dozen were grossly overpriced and lacked the flavor expected of bay crabs and seasoning. Most of the crabs lacked one claw and this is the first time I've been to a crabhouse that didn't throw in the loose claws. The fresh oysters were all breading--fried nicely, however, if you enjoy the breading more than the oyster. Overall, we gave it an average, but it was disappointing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EnergyCounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Food eh. Service... Obviously she didn't want to be here. The boats that dock outside are full of valgur drunks. Family restaurant I think not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sum41chick914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abner's Crab House also viewed

Chesapeake Beach, Calvert County
Chesapeake Beach, Calvert County
 

Been to Abner's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing