We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well We Didn't Get Sick & the Server Was Wonderful...”
Review of Abner's Crab House

Abner's Crab House
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: This place was TERRIBLE. We were there on 5/2/10. There were 6 in our party. We ordered dinners of crab cakes, grilled chicken, bbq shrimp, a seafood platter, and crab balls/shrimp. The crab cakes were dry and had too much filling. The grilled chicken was over cooked and dry. The food all seemed to be either frozen or canned. The only highlight were the two salads that were ordered. The only thing worse than the food was the service. For parties of 6 or more they add a 20% gratuity. If they didn't, our waitress would have been lucky to get 10%. She was more interested in sitting at the bar! Bad food, horrible service and a $229 bill averaging out to $38 a person and we only had soda or tea to drink.....DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS PLACE
Restaurant details
Description: This place was TERRIBLE. We were there on 5/2/10. There were 6 in our party. We ordered dinners of crab cakes, grilled chicken, bbq shrimp, a seafood platter, and crab balls/shrimp. The crab cakes were dry and had too much filling. The grilled chicken was over cooked and dry. The food all seemed to be either frozen or canned. The only highlight were the two salads that were ordered. The only thing worse than the food was the service. For parties of 6 or more they add a 20% gratuity. If they didn't, our waitress would have been lucky to get 10%. She was more interested in sitting at the bar! Bad food, horrible service and a $229 bill averaging out to $38 a person and we only had soda or tea to drink.....DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS PLACE
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well We Didn't Get Sick & the Server Was Wonderful...”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

...and that's the BEST we can say about Abner's. On our first night in North Beach (a small town down the road), we decided to get takeout from a local seafood restaurant. Upon entering Abner's we were greeted by a very friendly young man who took our order. When it was ready, we paid and gave this young man a nice tip. When we arrived back at the house we were renting and opened the containers there was very little to be consumed, and was was there was quite unappealing. Of particular note was the "Fish & Chips," which was comprised of tiny pieces of a smelly, unidentifiable fish and french fries. HORRIBLE! Then there was the "Seafood Trio." We selected the crab balls (no jokes please), steamed shrimp, and fried shrimp. Although not bad tasting, for $14.95 we received three 1" crab balls, four small fried shrimp, and four nice-sized steamed shrimp. No fries, no cole slaw. FOR $14.95? My wife, who never finishes a meal, decided to pass on most of this "drek," preferring instead to eat ice cream we had just bought. We didn't have any crabs, but to be honest, from what we've now read on Trip Advisor, it sounds as though we were fortunate! Truly, this is the worst excuse for sustenance we've EVER encountered. Please, folks, don't waste your hard-earned dollars at this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaglehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    14
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious but expensive”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Everything we had here was very good - crabs, burgers, pulled pork, and bacon wrapped shrimp. But the crabs were much more expensive than they should've been for this close to the source.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Budman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Steamed Blue Crabs”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife, other family members and I had a wonderful time at Abner's July 18th, 2012. It's a great Crab house that sits in Chesapeake Beach, Maryland on a canal across the street from the Chesapeake Bay. Me and a few other family members enjoyed several dozen of the steamed crabs loaded with good ol', Old Bay Seasoning. My wife and some other family members enjoyed the steamed shrimp that were very large and very tasty! The service we had was very good and fast. The food was fantastic, fresh and hot! I need to go back very soon! During the summer months until September 20th, 2012, you can enjoy all you can eat steamed crabs on Wednesday evenings for $24.95. That's a fantastic deal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a clean family environment”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Service was horrible. We sat for over 20 minutes before being greeted by our server.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank VoteRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Would Not Return”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Food was cold, overcooked fried fare served by harried waitstaff that, to be fair, tried their best but were way overworked. Other members in the party ordered crabs and were satisfied with their quality, but gasped at the price. Try to stay away from the door to the deck if you fon't like second-hand smoke while you eat, since the clouds roll in every time the door is opened. They need to do a better job cleaning the place, including the flatware.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AMysteriousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abner's Crab House also viewed

Chesapeake Beach, Calvert County
Chesapeake Beach, Calvert County
 

Been to Abner's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing