We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waiter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ships Cafe & Pub Incorporated

Ships Cafe & Pub Incorporated
Ranked #16 of 105 Restaurants in Catonsville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Balti, Seafood, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waiter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Ships Cafe which is located between Frederick Road and Winters Lane is a hot spot for those who love crabs. The Mandarin Grilled Chicken salad is excellent. I have been there on many occasions. Although service can be slow and the waiters are not the friendliest the food is good. While eating crabs not once did the waiter ask if we were OK, or needed anything additional? Several times we tried to get the waiter’s attention only to be ignored while she entertained another table that was across from us – I assume they were family. I got the attention of the boys who bust the table to bring me another glass of tea. Another couple came in placed an order, and was treated the same way. We waited patiently she never came back to the table, and the people who were waiting for their food were getting frustrated. The kicker came when she came to the table did not make eye contact and said “I’ll get the check” in a sarcastic way. Brought the check back stood sideways and slide the check to me. I looked my guest who was with me and we both looked utterly surprised. My guest went and got the manager. I told the manager how rude she was and not once was she attentive not to me but to other guest who were waiting patiently for their food. I mentioned to the manager that I come often and this was the worst service. Just because you serve someone and the tip is already included you cannot treat people anyway you want and expect to get a tip for poor service. To keep your customers going back and to bring others to your establishment you must be friendly. Word of mouth does travel. I will go back, but I will not have Rosemary the waiter. The Mystery Guest!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    38
    16
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the crabs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Crabs are great. Dislike the 18% automatic tip. Regardless of quality of service or size of party.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManOfLeisureII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food , great friendly service. Would definitely go again .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

First trip to Ship's Cafe . Great local feel when you walk in the door - friendly people and the welcoming smell of steamed crabs ( in January ) . We did not have crabs , but they looked great and we will definitely return and give them a try .
Food was good - fresh red snapper ( grilled perfectly ) , king crab legs ( large portion ) , fried oysters ( great flavor and texture ). Bowl of cream of crab was huge and full of crab - above average . Dinner salads were fresh and very good .
Service was outstanding , from our warm and friendly waitress to the prompt and polite bus boy . You certainly get the feel that this is a family business and everyone takes pride in making the customer welcome.
Ships Cafe is directly across from Catonsville Gourmet ( one of my favorite restaurants in Baltimore ) but now I'm happy to have two great choices in Catonsville to grab dinner !

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Crabs when you need them”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

So, in Maryland, you want crabs. You want crabs cooked like they are cooked in Maryland. There is no substitute. You must use Old Bay seasoning. There are no exceptions. If you don't steamed crabs, then you must be craving a crab cake. Best crab season--late summer. My reality? I live in Texas and I visit at Christmas. Ships Cafe provides crabs--good crabs--when I need them. Once you have eaten Maryland crabs, you will need them, too. And when you are in Catonsville, I suggest you stop at Ships Cafe.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maura_Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I had my bridesmaid luncheon at Ships Cafe. The food was really good and our server was very attentive.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoobie_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ships Cafe & Pub Incorporated also viewed

 
 

Been to Ships Cafe & Pub Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing