We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not fresh lemon curd.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugarbakers

Sugarbakers
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Catonsville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely not fresh lemon curd.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Last night I picked up a lemon mousse cake. We were really looking forward to eating it after dinner. Such a disappointment. The frosting, described as fresh lemon curd, was tasteless with the consistency of shortening. The yellow cake and lemon mousse filling were just ok. I have 1/2 the cake left and nobody will touch it. I wish I had read the other reviews before spending the money. On a better note, the customer service was very nice - both on the phone when I placed the order and when I picked it up. I'm just not sure that would trust another cake. Even if a slice from the retail store was delicious, can I trust that a full cake will be the same?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont ever go here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Worst customer service. You will feel disgusted by their treatment. They are just blunt. Dont get mistreated.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anitha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst service, Waste of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had to go 3 times to order a cake since they don't accept cakes with 7 days of a needed date. Next time I planned 1 week ahead but they said they are not able to take order due to "overwhelming" orders. Finally I ordered the 3rd time by going 8 days ahead and I went to pickup today. Since it was Friday the traffic was so bad, I reached their store at 6.01 pm. The person in the store said that they close at 6.00 pm and rejected to deliver my cake. They are not even considerate for 1 min delay. My wifes bidthday party is ruined due to the attitude of these bakers. They believe that it is a privilege to eat their cake. I am not going to these guys once again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakshmi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stay out of your kitchen - Let them bake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The cakes and pies from Sugarbakers are divine. Just purchased a peach pie. OMG. The pumpkin cheesecake at Thanksgiving time is a work of art. They have a case with cakes, pies, tarts and cookies - pick something up on the way home. Yummy place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank treeharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“HIGHLY OVERRATED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm so frustrated with SB and the follow up of resolving my problem. It took an acting manager 4 days to respond to my complaint. My event was Sat March 16, 2013 and I received a resoluction call back today Wed March 20,2013. The acting mgr was very apologetic and issued a partial refund. Besides the delivery time, my biggest complaint was my cake fell apart right out the box. My cupcakes were shuffled during travel. The butter cream icing was not very tasteful. I specifically asked for the sweet butter cream, but it tasted like a bland colored mixture. The cake and cupcake was moist but not very tasteful. The decoration and detail of both the cake and cupcake are exactly what I wanted and expected. For the price I paid for my customize cake and cupcake, I expected the taste to be just as good as the decorations. They don't have to worry about me again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LATARSHAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarbakers also viewed

 

Been to Sugarbakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing