We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect for a business lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Phoenix

Little Phoenix
730 Frederick Rd Ste 101, Catonsville, MD 21228-4533
(410) 788-8687
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 104 Restaurants in Catonsville
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for a business lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been here for lunch on numerous occasions. The wait staff is quick so you don't waste your lunch hour waiting for food. The dining room is clean and comfortable. I usually order one of the lunch specials which are always delicious, includes the soup, rice, and entree, and priced at $6.95. On my last visit I ordered the egg drop soup which was excellent and the kung pao chicken which had enough zing to be tasty but not enough to burn my mouth out! The portion, as always was generous and enough for me to have lunch the next day. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, MD
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, Reasonable and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family eats here at least twice a week. The service is friendly, the prices are reasonable, and the food is always good (especially the Kung Pao Chicker).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JBT311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food at great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I'm not sure why this place gets such bad reviews. looks like some of them are for slow home delivery service. I don't think that should have much bearing on the food. The food here is simply good in my opininon. The Pad Thai is better here than at some Thai restaurants I eaten at! they give you much more meat and flavor than a traditional Thai restaurant. the lunch specials are VERY cheap and you get more than enough for one person to eat. I 've eaten in, and carried out. Both times, no issues. Except: it looks like when you eat in the restaurant at lunch, they only have one waiter. its always been the case the umteen times I've eaten there. He's good, but sometimes when the place gets busy they would do much better with more than one waiter. I never could understand why only one waiter. One time I screwed up on the tip, I guess he thought I didn't leave him enough. He angrily slammed my change on the table, loud enough for other patrons to turn heads. I thought that was out of line. when I got back to work, I realized that I didn't leave him enough so I went back and gave him more. he was very polite when I returned, and the place was packed, by the way. and he was still the only waiter! LOL. but besides that, the food is good, the prices are good, and the waitstaff is attentive for the most part. I go for the food, so I give this place good marks.
NOTE: this place isnt a stand alone building. its' in a funny place. it's in a office building on the second level. no worries though...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachcrazy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I made a fairly simple order off dinner hour but by no means late.
It took nearly an hour an a half for delivery, they did not include the soup I ordered and the food tasted terrible.
Their Kungpao chicken was mostly celery, did not have any red pepper or sichuan pepper corn. The fried rice tasted like it was days old and microwave egg rolls are better.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard_P_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food at a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Simply outstanding chinese food, with great service... You can byob, fyi

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Phoenix also viewed

Catonsville, MD
Catonsville, MD
 

Been to Little Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing