We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Pho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho #1

Pho #1
5764 Baltimore National Pike, Catonsville, MD 21228-1334
410-719-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 104 Restaurants in Catonsville
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I really like their pho and the spring rolls with peanut sauce are good too. Everything is very fresh tasting. The servers are friendly and service is pretty quick.

I also love their avocado milkshake, sometimes I stop by and just get one to go. Its really common to find in Asia, but this is the first restaurant in the US I have seen with it on their menu. An avocado milkshake sounds strange, but is slightly sweet and really creamy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice for vietnamese food in the Baltimore area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I am vietnamese, this fact is provided because I wanted to make sure whoever is planning on using this as a guide understands the background of the person writing this review. This was my first time to this restaurant. It is clean, service was fast, and the food was tasty. The dishes ordered were egg rolls, pho bo vien, and bun bo hue, all were delicious. It is as authentic as you can get. We will definitely be back to try other dishes on the menu. More to follow....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
268 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“I never knew there were so many types of pho”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place had, at least, 10 types of pho. I had no idea there were so many. I had it a place in Indy 6 years ago and it came with beef (meatballs, strips, etc) and the rice noodles, vegetables. The place I went to in Maryland had it with chicken, pork or shrimp. I went with a traditional beef version and it was both extremely filling and tasty for getting the small (the large must be a trough). It did not have the meatballs that I have had in the past but still tasty. My husband had gotten some sort of a seafood variety soup and said it was fine but, as he finished off the last of my pho (I was too full to manage it on my own), he said mine was better. I think we paid $8.50, which is not too bad for such a large bowl. The service was prompt and efficient. They brought a huge plate of basil and bean sprouts, which I liked.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You go for the Pho not the Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

An extensive pho and Vietnamese main dish menu. The food is delicious and a terrific value. The large, fragrant bowls of pho come with aplate of fresh basil and bean sprots for garnish. This little restaurant in a Route 40 shopping center is well worth a trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharmCityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Love the food, food itself is great. But horrible service and tip is already included- one time I gave more than $5 tip on $10 pho+ Hotrible service. So watch out for that.
Dont expect a great service but their pho is one of the best-

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sowon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho #1 also viewed

 

Been to Pho #1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing