We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Retreat in the Woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilderness

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catonsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wilderness
Save
You added The Wilderness to your Saves list
2 Thistle Rd., Catonsville, MD 21228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Catonsville B&B and Inns
Hope, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Retreat in the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I travelled from New Jerey to Maryland for a birthday party and found this wonderful B&B in the woods which turned out to be this huge mansion owned and operated by the most wonderful woman Ellen. She single-handedly operates this B&B while working fulltime. Our room was extremely clean - the mansion is filled with antiques and precious photos of her mom and dad - each morning we had wonderful convivial conversation with Ellen and a warm welcome from her kitties. The B& B is down the street from Ellicot which is so quaint and filled with all kinds of shops. Breakfast was perfect - not too much and not too little. Refreshing - a great find!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view - wildlife included - peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilix310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I made a last minute reservation here for an overnight and were very pleased with our stay. The suite was beautifully decorated--comfortable and clean. Wilderness owner Ellen Sawaya prepared us a delicious breakfast and made us feel very welcome here. What a treat to stay in a mansion surrounded by park land (access to Patapsco Park hiking trails is only 5 minutes away, or so, by car) and, at the same time, to have access to shopping and dining in old Ellicott City, which is a very short hop down the road. We think it would be delightful to return in the fall, when the leaves are beginning to change, and enjoy morning coffee on the lovely porch that wraps around the house. (This time it was really too hot to sit on the porch, but the house is very well air-conditioned.) This is just such a lovely spot--quite unique!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We loved this B & B, set back from the road and surrounded by woods. The manion has been lovingly restored by its owner and has won numerous preservation awards. The antiques that fiil the room lend a sense of style and grace. The suites are very spacious. Our daughter had her own room while we had the large master bedroom. The best part? We visited during 100 degree weather and the house is air-conditioned! Our host, Ellen, was gracious and serves yummy breakfasts. High marks for this one!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Each year, a few guys from high school get together somewhere in between our home locations to take in a ball game, hit some golf balls, but mostly retell stories, renew friendship, have a few beers etc. The Wilderness was a great place to do this - a great facility. It only took us about 20 minutes to get to Camden Yards and the inner harbor yet we were out in the woods with trails to walk off the night before. We had the place to ourselves, much better than staying in a hotel. This would be perfect for a golf trip too as there are some nice courses nearby. Ellen was very hospitable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BizandNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Very beautiful and quiet place inside a state park and only 15 minutes away from BWI airport and downtown Baltimore. Breakfast was delicious

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peace2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catonsville
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Baltimore West - Catonsville
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Catonsville
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#3 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilderness

Property: The Wilderness
Address: 2 Thistle Rd., Catonsville, MD 21228
Location: United States > Maryland > Catonsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Catonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the rolling hills of the Patapsco Valley State Park, outside of historic Ellicott City, The Wilderness Bed and Breakfast offers a tranquil, rural setting for guests seeking to "get away from it all". Conveniently located 15 minutes from downtown Baltimore and BWI airport, 35 minutes from Washington, DC, it is a short drive to many Maryland landmarks. Catering to historic house lovers, The Wilderness Bed and Breakfast has been lovingly restored to its former country manor atmosphere. Although the original home on the site dates to 1799, the current structure is the result of a major addition and renovation by a wealthy Baltimore industrialist in 1899. You will find peace, quiet, great home baked goods, comfortable beds and an opportunity to abandon routine - come out for a visit and get lost in your dreams! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing