We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking ”
Review of Penn Mar Park

Penn Mar Park
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Cascade
Attraction details
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking ”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Have wanted to visit for awhile and made the choice to go.

The first stop is the penn mar park which has a nice view and very interesting and free historical display. It looks like they have concerts there on a regular basis and I'm sure it is a pleasant experience in such a beautiful place.

Up the road from there is the high rock. Breathtaking. I understand hang gliders will launch off of this site and I would love to see it myself.

Take a picnic with you and eat at the Rock...

Helpful?
Thank Aikey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

FINALLY friends took us to Pen Mar Park and on up to High Rock in Cascade MD. It was a perfect sunny day yesterday and the views were fantastic. We took a picnic lunch and ate and played games at one of the many picnic tables. Also spent some time in the Visitor Center getting the scoop on the history. AND walked a short distance on the Appalachian Trail that passes right through the park. There is a cheap pay phone for hikers to use to call for food take out and a couple at the next table had ordered pizza. We will definitely go again. Our friends had been there on July 4 to watch fireworks down in the valley.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pennsygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great majestic view!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This park is a must see in Washington County, MD. This park used to be very popular in the early 1900s. This park is great for children and kid friendly. This park is free. This park has a great majestic view of seeing overlook, seeing the trains. Also go up the hill to see High Rock, Another great majestic view on clear day. I would recommend this to anyone looking for something free to do on any clear sunny day. Last visit May 2014.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
260 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A beautiful, scenic spot”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Penn Mar has tons of history and is a beautiful scenic spot, no matter what the season. We have been going there for years!
There are tons of picnic tables, grills and a great playground for the kids.
The summer concert series on Sunday afternoons are free and most enjoyable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Retiredrn365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Stunning Lookout on a Clear Day”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The park provides a nice rest-stop for day-hikers and thru-hikers on the Appalachian Trail. Beyond the the standard playground equipment and picnic benches the real attraction of the park is the amazing 2-state view from a local high-point. On a clear day you can see many miles across a lush farming valley. The look-out may not be as high or as famous as nearby-High Rock, but it is much less crowded, not covered in graffiti and allows for relaxation in a large covered seating area.
Stop by the small visitor's center as well for a nostalgic glimpse at what Penn Mar Park's glory days.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn Mar Park also viewed

Been to Penn Mar Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing