We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“threw out of room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
FairBridge Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Capitol Heights
Muncie, Indiana, United States
1 review
“threw out of room”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and his company were staying here they got a call when they were at work said their room was booked the rest of the week after nthey had been their over a week in a half said their were no more rooms aviable that they would half to have three men to a room and they were not going to do that so needless to say when they got off work all of their stuff was threw in a cart for them to go to another hotel they lost half off their things i thought they were not allowed to touch your thing in your room but this hotel sure did i would never recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    20
    15
    31
See reviews for
43
25
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Agree with most other reviewers, this hotel is a little worn and crowded but for the price paid and location close to the capitol, you can't expect much. The hotel is located in a shopping area and parking is free but the lot is very crowded. Since there were many people, the hotel tend to be a little noisy at times. The room is old with broken or missing furniture - the chair at the desk was nowhere to be found. Internet service is a little spotty and slow at times. The bathroom wasn't as clean as we would like but it is comparable to other older hotels. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast is only so-so. There weren't much selection, more like a continental breakfast. Definitely a lower class hotel in the CI & S category. Not recommended unless you had to stay close to the capitol and book at the last minute like we did. Guess you get what you pay for in this case.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToddNugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Morris
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here on a DC trip with a group of students. The hotel itself is not in the best condition, starting to look worn. It is located next to some fast food restaruants and a home building supply store and 7-11. The cleanliness of the rooms was not so great, hairs in the shower- someones socks under the chair??

However, the staff was incredibly helpful and accomodating to our group and the needs of many students. That made it worth the stay. And it was very close to most of the DC places we visited.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badxl1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I give this place a 3 out of 5 because the price was good for the area, but the location isn't that great...very crowded, congested right off the beltway and the hotel is very worn, probably from the groups of tourists they accomodate. The staff was friendly. I was just not used to being greeted by a person on a stool and saying "hell" a lot as the person looked for my reservation. Then there was the double door that was locked to get to the main hall to the rooms. It could only be unlocked by a room card. Sure it's a good deterrent so no thug gets to the main corridor to the rooms, but it was kind of unnerving to think the front desk person couldn't control the main lobby area. And the double door had a home made taped sign that indicated the guest needed to use the room card to open the double door. Okay, again, it's very good security, but I didn't expect I was in the badlands. I had a room with a tub that had spray nozzles in the wall of the tub. I didn't use it but my travel friend checked it out in his room. He said black flecks shot out of the nozzles into the water. What the?!
The breakfast was included in the cost. There were a couple different kids cereals to choose from, a waffle maker, a big tub of yogurt to scoop from and some different breads. I spent a night in the hotel and checked out the next day and went to a hotel in Waldorf, MD. It's only 15 miles from the beltway and there are many hotels to choose from with different rates and nearby nice malls. If you're going to DC, check out Waldorf, MD.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrotherO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Previous reviews of this facility by tripadvisor members were accurate and very helpful!

First, the bad. Within 5 minutes after checking in, my fiance found a hair on a clean towel in our room. While loading up the car before checkout, we were solicited by a vagrant man in the parking lot asking for a handout. In between, the rest of our stay here (5 days/4 nights) was stellar! Outstanding staff- warm, friendly, accommodating and helpful. Eager to provide restaurant suggestions (only fast food nearby), maps and directions. Large, clean, fresh, non-smoking room. Comfortable king-size bed and pillows. Air conditioning, color cable television with remote; refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and board. Lots of hot water and clean towels. In-room jacuzzi for 2 was a little small (not roomy heart-shaped) but we fit in it together. Extensive free breakfast: hot coffee and tea, milk, juices, bacon or sausage, fresh scrambled eggs, oven brown potatoes, waffles and syrup, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, mixed fruit salad, toast, bagels, muffins and pastries. Clean breakfast room with attendant and television. Parking lot patrolled overnight. Lifeguard on duty in pool and whirlpool area. Exercise room and Wi-fi available but not used by us. Convenient location right off the Beltway (I-495), about 10 miles/30 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. due to heavy local traffic.

We booked here because we prefer a room with a jacuzzi for 2 and have stayed at Country Inns before. We've never been disappointed! Thank you for making us feel welcome. We will recommend this facility and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRedJonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams Center
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed here when we were doing DC for 3 nights. Ja'kayel Stawbridge, the director of sales checked us in. She was absolutely fabulous, giving us maps, restaurant suggestions, directions to the metro and tourist info. Both my husband and I walked away saying WOW! Never had anyone go so far as to make sure we were taken care of. We were in a 2 room suite and although there was no real stand out features above the norm, it was very large and clean and fit our needs perfectly. We hit breakfast late all 3 mornings, but there was always plenty of food and the gal, Angela, who ran the breakfast room was such a doll.:c) We tipped her well for her great hospitality. These people really made us feel like family stopping in for a visit.
The hotel is just a few minutes drive to the metro so getting to DC was a snap with a great location to avoid the high prices of DC hotels. I've never written a review before, but the people here make it worth the time to do this. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for the Easter weekend. Nice clean, big rooms. Could have fit one more queen bed in the area. Firm beds w/3 pillows each queen bed. Microwave and refrigerator in the room. A very friendly welcome when we arrived; which was one hour before check in. Our room was available, so we could get it. Price was comparable with other hotels in the area. Breakfast was fine; basic scrambled eggs, sausage patties or wicked thin bacon, and rosemary red potato home fries. Waffle maker, only one morning there was yogurt. Nothing special put out for Easter though...oh well.
Very convenient to the Largo Metro station. Easy to get to, easy parking; about 30 minutes to downtown. Section of town was fine; need something, there were plenty of stores around.
We only need a place to rest our weary feet and bodies after a fun day in DC. Just fine for that!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WKGsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitol Heights
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites DC Metro Capitol Beltway
0.6 mi away
Hotel Largo
Hotel Largo
#1 of 3 in Upper Marlboro
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, DC - Landover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Largo Capital Beltway
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Largo Capital Beltway
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FairBridge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FairBridge Inn & Suites

Property: FairBridge Inn & Suites
Address: 8850 Hampton Mall Dr N, Capitol Heights, MD 20743-3817 (Formerly Capitol Suites)
Location: United States > Maryland > Capitol Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Capitol Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — FairBridge Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel features an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Free breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include a sauna, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in the lobby. Room Amenities All 69 rooms provide free WiFi and free wired Internet, flat-screen TVs with digital channels, and conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves. Other amenities available to guests include coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your FairBridge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Capitol Heights
Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights Hotel Capitol Heights
Country Inn Capitol Heights
Capitol Heights Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing