We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice before staying here!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Camp Springs Andrews AFB
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Camp Springs
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We arrived at this hotel and realized it was in a bad neighborhood immediately. Upon entering the "lobby" we were greeted by a very stale odor and the clerk was behind bullet proof glass. Before giving any information , I requested to check the room that was available. When I opened the door ( I must say with some difficulty due to a weatherstripping on the door) I was greeted by the worse case of stale cigarette smell. I knew there was no way I could spend any time in this room - let alone a night. I do not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkatcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 279 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

My son's baseball team was supposed to stay in Days Inn Waldorf.... ewww. We made a quick departure to this hotel. At this hotel, we had a clean room, we had a refrigerator and a microwave (which was great since we were down there for 8 days), and they had a pool. Strangely, this is the first hotel I've been to that had a lifeguard and hours of operation (most places I've been have been swim at your own risk) and we actually would have liked the pool open later than 8 p.m. It was unnerving to see the clerks behind bullet proof glass and it was unnerving to hear sirens roaring up and down Allentown Rd all hours of the night, but I never felt threatened or scared for our safety there. We were a large group of people with a LL baseball team and we liked to gather at night. Perhaps we scared some people away since we were out of our rooms at night playing board games, dice games, ladder ball and bag toss games ~ we were bonding as a team and as the families of the team and it was all harmless. BTW, they ended up being STATE CHAMPS! WAHOO!

Most of the people that worked there weren't native born Americans and had strong accents and some of the staff clearly didn't speak English, but we managed to get through the week with our needs met and they gave us a decent price on our rooms.

Also, this hotel was a really close drive to Metro which could be seen as a real benefit if you are doing stuff in DC.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We booked this hotel relying on hotel pictures and website reviews and we were extremely deceived by what people said. When they say "bad neighborhood" that is an understatement. We assumed being near the Air Force Base that it would have been a nice area, boy were we wrong. We arrived late in the evening and a day earlier than expected. When we arrived there were some questionable people hanging out all over the hotel balconies and parking lot property. We were afraid to even get out of the car. There were people every where drinking and blaring music. Now I am young in my late 20's and it bothered me to arrive at my hotel seeing those things, even my fiance was discouraged. I can imagine how an older couple or a family might have the same reaction we did. When we walked in the lobby we were greeted by a man who barely spoke English and to make matters worse he stood behind bullet proof glass while speaking to us. Bullet Proof glass, not a good sign. I immediately approached and canceled by reservations for the next week. The only good thing was that we were fully reimbursed with no penalties for canceling 24 hours in advance. Good thing we arrived a day earlier. I am sure if we arrived in the morning we would of thought differently, but would have had a rude awakening by the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCouple0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We stayed at this hotel on a whirlwind tour from near Belleville, ON to DC and Williamsburg, VA. We got to the hotel after driving the entire way south, so we were very happy to be there!

The hotel room was very clean; my room-mate for the trip found (apparently from a previous guest) a woman's nightie hanging to dry in the bathroom, but she just threw it away. No way would I have switched hotels over something silly like that. Just a funny memory. One couldn't nor wouldn't ask for more, especially for the price.

The cabbie who took us to the metro station told us that the hotel is in a bad neighbourhood, but we didn't really notice. However, if you plan to visit both DC and the National Air & Space Museum, I'd choose somewhere on the other side of DC near a metro station. We recommend the Metro. There was lots of parking at the hotel and the staff let us park there all day.

I would certainly stay here again, especially considering the price.

* I think the hotel may now be a Super 8.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scriptures4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Except for the neighboring liquor store with associated clientele, the bullet-proof glass protecting staff behind the hotel desk, and chained conference room doors, this was a great hotel for the price. With my initial impressions and one unhelpful staff member, I'd almost decided to cancel my reservation and go elsewhere.

However, once inside the room, I forgot about the menacing exterior. The room was clean and kept, the furnishings were new, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was mold-free! A great deal for $65 per night. The hotel is close to Andrews AFB, a bus stop, the aforementioned liquor store/Chinese restaurant, and a strip mall including a church. I'd stay here again--I only heard police sirens twice.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank hoser_gates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We spent a lovely 4 days at camp springs Ramada last week,and we had a terrific experience.The lady at the desk who signed us in was excepionally nice.She went out of her way to make our visit pleasant.We will definitly book there again.The housekeeping department was great,and very friendly.It is very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happycampers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank 228yessicaq
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp Springs
0.7 mi away
Woodspring Suites Washington DC Andrews AFB
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Camp Springs
70 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Washington, D.C. East - Capitol Heights, MD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Joint Base Andrews
4.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill
4.6 mi away
Colony South
Colony South
#3 of 4 in Clinton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Camp Springs Andrews AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Camp Springs Andrews AFB

Address: 5151 Allentown Rd, Camp Springs, MD 20746-4173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Camp Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Camp Springs
Price Range: $67 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Camp Springs Andrews AFB 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right Across from Andrews Air Force Base , Close to Washington DC sight seeing attractions, six flag, RFK Stadium, easy access to 95/495, ample parking even for truck and other recreational vehicles. Close to public transportation and metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Camp Springs Andrews AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Camp Springs Hotel Camp Springs
Camp Springs Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing