We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ideal Location outside of the Capital area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Camp Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ideal Location outside of the Capital area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here when we moved from Italy to Washington DC while looking for a house. The location was good for us since it was very close to my husbands new job location. They have a shuttle bus that runs to the base and will take you to the metro if you are here to see the sights. As prices go I thought it was very reasonable for the area.They had free coffee and tea day and night in the lobby with 24 hour reception and security.The breakfast was great, cereals, yoghurt pastries, waffles, toast, eggs and sausage or bacon every morning which is included in the room rate. There is a tiny business room which has a computer and printer if you need to print our directions etc and a small room with treadmills in it for exercise. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. Air conditioning works well. Despite the fact that this is a very busy hotel it wasn't noisy as I expected and the walls between the rooms are sufficient so the noise from other occupants can't be heard. This is also a pet friendly hotel which we loved but the rooms did not smell like they allowed pets which I was really glad of. The only thing we had a problem with was the wifi which either didn't work in the rooms or was very slow.I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the pleasant review. We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    140
    51
    14
    17
See reviews for
172
72
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was very clean and the staff was pleasant. The only complaint was that the halls and room had a stale smell but that did not prevent us from enjoying the room. The beds were comfortable and the A/C unit worked well. I enjoyed the breakfast and everything was hot and tasty. The hotel was close to the Metro and the complementary shuttle runs all day long but we chose to walk there most of the time. WI-Fi and parking was free. There are many hotels in DC that charge for parking especially if you want to stay in the heart of DC so this hotel was a bargain.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We truly appreciate the review. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
storrs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Here's free breakfast, free.shuttle to metro and harbor area. The price is much cheaper than in dc downtown..The room is nice and clean, including a microwave and fridge. Airconditioning. Enjoy a good exprience in DC!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ying L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the National Harbor area! Our shuttle service runs upon scheduled requests to save our guests the drive time and parking fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a nice stay at this hotel. Staff very nice and accommodating. Shuttle to the Metro station available almost anytime. Room clean and just what we expected. "Roomier" that usual too. And the breakfast was excellent, more like you would pay for a more expensive hotel. Only draw back was the wifi was slow. However, we were on the top floor at the end of the hallway so obviously we were a long way from the router. Other than the wifi, everything was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Appreciate your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, clean, friendly staff. We chose this hotel at random and we could not have picked a better place. 8 miles from downtown DC but 2 blocks from the Metro. The hotel provides shuttle to the Metro anytime of the day. It is at the end of the green line which takes you directly to the Archives. So easy... And you can't beat the price. Breakfast was very good and included sausage and eggs, waffles, bagels etc...The decor had been updated and the room was very clean and the beds comfortable

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen5432013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay!! Thank you for letting other potential guests know about our shuttle service :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have stayed at countless Country Inn & Suites and often prefer to stay at one of these hotels as they are typically clean and affordable. This particular location left much to be desired. The staff was fairly pleasant (but not overly so), but on our walk to our room on the 3rd floor we noticed cleanliness issues. The elevator was dirty and had a dank odor in it with fingerprints all over the stainless steel. The furniture that you see in the "lobby" area as you get off the elevator on the 3rd floor was clearly faded and stained and appeared to be 10 or 15 years old.

The room was fine, other than the A/C unit had an option for "FAN" (high/low/auto) and even though we set it to high or low the fan didn't stay on as it should.

We also had issues with guests across the hall coming in/out of their room and slamming the door until 2 am, but that wasn't necessarily the fault of the hotel.

The beds were extremely uncomfortable compared to other Country Inn & Suites.

I would skip this hotel in the future and stay at a nearby Holiday Inn Express for a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights so we could explore Washington

Just minutes away from train station with free shuttle if you wished

Rooms clean and good sized with coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi

Hot breakfast each morning with good choice

On site parking was free with spaces both front and rear of hotel

Choice of places to eat in town at night limited to Red Lobster or several fast food outlets so maybe eat in Washington or be prepared to drive out as hotel does not have on site restaurant

Very close to Andrews Air Force base which is great as we managed to see presidential helicopter several times but alas not Airforce One which must have taken off in opposite direction

Room Tip: At the moment rear rooms overlook building site, but this never affected us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the 5 stars!! Please feel free to request a shuttle service to other restaurants in the area next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp Springs
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camp Springs/Andrews AFB
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC East - Andrews AFB
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Camp Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Joint Base Andrews
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites DC Metro Capitol Beltway
3.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)
Address: 4950 Mercedes Blvd, Camp Springs, MD 20746-4337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Camp Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Camp Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base) 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Andrews Air Force Base
Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base Hotel Camp Springs
Country Inn Camp Springs
Camp Springs Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing