We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in the DC Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Camp Springs
Certificate of Excellence
new hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in the DC Area”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here for 7 days in October and November. Terrific place to stay if you are visiting the DC area. Although it is not right in DC, it is easily accessible by the Metro. And, the hotel provides a shuttle service to the station. The drivers are very prompt and courteous. The front desk staff was very helpful. The breakfast room staff was also very good. The rooms and common areas are clean and bright.
The warm chocolate chip cookies are a great treat welcoming guests home after all the walking done when sight seeing in the city.
The breakfast provided was plentiful and offered a great variety with at least one hot dish every day as well as a variety of cereal and bread and muffin selection. Juices, tea, coffee.. everything you could want. Waffle maker was great fun, too!
All in all, this is a very nice hotel for a very reasonable price.
We would definitey stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forgebooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for commenting! We really appreciate you taking your time to say such positives things. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    153
    53
    18
    17
See reviews for
194
81
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Hotel is bright and very clean within walking distance of Metro. They have a complete breakfast with 3 different choices. Many restaurants nearby and easy on/off the highway. I will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, April 25, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here! For next time our shuttle operates between 7am-12pm and again from 4pm-9pm except Sundays to the branch ave. metro station.

I like the cookies myself :) Feel free to tell the staff to make more if they run out, I will let them know as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights the first week of October on a vacation trip to DC. The hotel is 20-30 minutes from downtown. We got up early each morning and rove downtown, but they have a shuttle (that we didn't try) that will take tou to the metro. The next time we would like to see if that's any easier. Traffic downtown was congested, but still it was not so bad. We were told by hotel management that the parking fees would be outrageous. The first day we only paid $9 for the whole day...but there was some walking involved. Park on 7th and Water street garage and it's about 3 blocks to the Smithsonian and 6 blocks to the White House.

There were hot, Spunkmeyer chocolate chip cookies when we arrived, which were delicious. The second evening we got back around 8pm and were told there would not be anymore for the evening. That was dissapointing because we skipped dessert at the restaurant in hopes of cookies at the hotel.

The beds were surprising comfortable. And I slept decently (which is hard for me at many hotels). We had a king size bed, but it would have been nice to have a couch or comfortable chair to sit in to watch TV.
The service was accomadating. I asked for several extra pillows and got them quickly.
The breakfast was probably one of the better ones we had during the week we were on vacation. Each day was a little different and it was nice to have scrambled eggs instead of the pre-fab omelets most hotels have. Sausage one day and bacon the next. A fairly complete breakfast!
For the money, this was probably one of the best places to stay in the DC area. The first night was under $100. Most DC hotels started at $180 and went up. It was very clean and comfortable...and clean is important! There were white rocking chairs on the porch and a fireplace in the lobby...not to mention the wooden staircase, that all gave it a "homey" atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinnahwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had 2 rooms for 5 nights in mid-Sept 2011. The hotel is located about 20-30 min from the National Mall which was where we spent most of our time. Also, National Harbor is about 10 min away and they have a very nice harbor area with shopping and good restaurants.

The front desk was helpful, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amendoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here to go to a conference at the Gaylord National Harbor resort. We wanted to bring our dog with us and the Gaylord does not accept pets. This was clean, modern hotel. The hotel shuttled me to the conference every day which was a big savings for parking. The only issue with the shuttle was travel time in Washington traffic in the mornings. The hotel will also shuttle you to the Metro station for an easy ride into D.C.The breakfast was good but not anything to rave about. In the end, happy to stay there than pay more than twice that amount at the Gaylord. Also, when I complained that the pet fee/day was too high ($50) they cut that in half to $25/night. Still high but worth it in the end.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinstonB261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
213 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel was fantastic value. The Metro is less than 10 mins walk, but they also provide shuttle. I was able to park my car there for free the whole day, while I was in DC for work. The breakfast was very poor, with a limited selection, and a tiny little room to eat it in.

The only reason I would recommend this hotel is due to the price of the room and the fact that you can take the metro into town (about 30 mins into Chinatown). It is great for business, but I am not sure toursist would find it as nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Was visiting DC and wanted a cheap place near a metro stop do we picked this place. We arrived early but they had a room ready. Girl working the front desk explained DC metro station very clearly. They have a shuttle that took us to the metro. My only complaint was that the breakfast that was served was just gross (avoid the sausage and the eggs). Other than that good value.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp Springs
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camp Springs/Andrews AFB
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC East - Andrews AFB
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Joint Base Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites DC Metro Capitol Beltway
3.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill
1.3 mi away
Woodspring Suites Washington DC Andrews Afb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)
Address: 4950 Mercedes Blvd, Camp Springs, MD 20746-4337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Camp Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Camp Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base) 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Andrews Air Force Base
Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base Hotel Camp Springs
Country Inn Camp Springs
Camp Springs Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing