We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway.”
Reviewed May 17, 2006

My three sisters and I stayed here at the Hyatt for three nights for our yearly get together. This Hyatt has a beautiful location on the Choptank River. We didn't use the golf or marina, but did use the pools. All of the employees we encountered were courteous and friendly. Our rooms were nice and kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Upon arrival, I called to ask for several more pillows and they were brought to me within 5 minutes. Yes, the restaurants are a bit pricey. We did eat at the Blue Point one evening for dinner, but for all of our other meals we opted to eat somewhere else. (There is a nice diner right next to the Hyatt where we ate our breakfast each day). We also brought our own drinks and snacks. We have learned to do this whenever we are away from home. We went into Cambridge and to St. Michaels and had a great time at both places. We also spent one day just relaxing at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    648
    266
    107
    48
See reviews for
759
596
36
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

The best way to sum up this resort is "nice". The grounds are superb, set in a wonderful location right on the river, the resort facilities are good although as previous posts suggest food is on the expensive side. The swimming pools are good (although still closed in early May!!) and the Spa is OK but on the small side especially if your used to resort spas in Arizona or Las Vegas. The public areas of the resort are nicely decorated and spacious, the poorest area of the resort by far are the guest rooms. Even water facing rooms are not resort quality (I would'nt like to see inland facing!), they are in need of renovation and lack some comforts you'd expect. The beds are NOT the new Hyatt bed that is being advertised, in fact they are rather uncomfortable, with tired bedding to match. Furnishings are old, drab and in need of updating. The bathrooms are OK but no walk in shower. In addition to your room rate there is a daily resort fee of $12 for what exactly?....to park your own car and a daily newspaper!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

Wonderful hotel and very friendly staff. We stayed for a girls weekend and we were not
disappointed. From reviews on this site we knew to bring our own snacks and goodies
which helped keep the cost down. This is a luxury resort so you have to plan accordingly.
There were plenty of places to eat on the cheap in the area as well.
We also used the spa and the ladies in the salon were wonderful. We are going to go back
in the fall once we have saved up again because the rooms are very expensive but the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoWestchester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

After reading some of the other reviews, I have to wonder if we were at the same hotel. We had very friendly interactions with all the hotel staff. As we passed by workers in the hallways, all of them always said a warm hello. We stayed on the Concierge Floor, and the dedicated gatherring room for these guests was very pleasant. The staff again was very friendly and helpful.

The thing we like best about this particular Hyatt is that even though it is very large, it is laid out very well with lots of nooks for small gatherings. The weekend we stayed, the hotel was mostly booked, but it never felt crowded. Our room was very spacious, and had a pleasant view, and as requested, was a quiet room at the end of a hall.

The only downside to our stay here is that food is expensive. However, with most botique hotels this is the norm, and this one is by no means the most expensive there is. So if you are expecting pricing like a lesser hotel, you should stay at a lower quality hotel.

All in all, we enjoy our stays here, and will continue to return.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiaThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2006

This hotel just doesn't make itself worthy of being called a "Hyatt Regency Resort". First off, the surrounding area consists of the nothing-to-offer town of Cambridge along with fast food restaurants and unattractive strip malls...the driving directions say to turn into the hotel entrance "right across from the Walmart". Customer service was truly horrendous--across the board. From the moment we pulled up, we knew it just wasn't going to be a good experience--not even greeted by the two young valets who simply asked to hold on to our car keys while we went to check in (no, there was no one else checking in and they did not actually offer to park the car or help with luggage)...and then on to the front desk where the greeting and service is equivalent to that of an anonymous Days Inn off a turnpike exit. The food was not good AND overpriced. The rooms were very average. Golf is overpriced. Even the "water view" is problematic because of the layout of the hotel and the fact that you're looking at the Choptank River, not the Chesapeake Bay or beautiful open water by any stretch of the imagination. There are just too many things wrong with this hotel. Perhaps if the rates were more in line with what you actually get, it wouldn't be so disappointing--but shame on the Hyatt for putting their high resort rates on this subpar hotel. Bottom line: If you want to experience Maryland's eastern shore and the Chesapeake, you're better off going to an inn or b&b with some character and charm that is actually in a scenic location and where the owners and personnel know a thing or two about customer service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MRM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smyrna de
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

Ok there's no doubt about the grounds are beautiful,but it's not affordable for families .The front desk was very nice and the room was nothing special just a standard hotel room .we got a rate of $99.00 for the time of you we went but peak season was $580.00!!!! Iwould advise you to bring your own snacks,breakfast items ,and any beverages. after settleing in we went to get a drink and a snack .In the bar the had a(happy hour special) steamed shrimp were $2.00 A PIECE and raw oysters $2.00 A PIECE My husband had a jack and ginger that was $7.75 and my glass of wine that came in a standand wine glass that was 1/4 of the way filled was $7.00.Tried to get carry out out from the resturant to take to the pool and they would not accomadate us they said we would have to do room service,and you know why..... more money.so we ended up doing room service i had a 8.00 cup of cream of crab my husband had a $13.00 cheeseburger and then we got a side of aspasagus that was for two.... came with 6 sprears for $7.00 plus all of the room service fees. The next morning we checked out the breakfast a order of french toast was $12.00!!!!! or the buffet for $18.00 with nothing special just standard fare.during the day we went out out and found other places to eat and were quit good just look around and ask .So the next evening my husband sugessted that we have a after dinner drink..knowing what we paid the day before.So we ordered 2 nutty irishmen coffee drinks..Are you ready for this???? $25.00!!!!!!! i almost passed out!! O.k besides the drinks and food being soo expensive watch out for hidden cost $10.00 a day resort fee they say it covers the upkeep of the grounds and in room coffee.Then if you want to listen to some music be careful .Dont play the music on the tv unless you want to pay $10.95 for each time you put it on.There's nothing on the tv stating the cost but believe me it will show up on you bill!! So if money is no object for you , have a great time and enjoy the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimSmyrnaDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa, and Marina
Cambridge, MD- great city near shopping, beaches, etc.

This resort is a great destination for a quick getaway, whether you are traveling with kids or for a romantic getaway.

The resort is located about 2 hours from Philadelphia, right off of Route 50 in Maryland. Once you turn into the gate of the resort, you forget that you were just on a main road. You drive over a few little bridges and pass by a lake and nice scenery. There is valet parking available for $13/day or you can opt to park in the free lot to the right of the resort. Depending on the fullness of the lot it is just a short walk to the hotel entrance. Once you walk in the doors, the check-in is located to the left, there is self check-in that is similar to the airport, you swipe your credit card and follow the on-screen instructions and it prints your room keys right away. To the right of the entrance is the concierge. Straight ahead is a balcony.

Our room was "water-view king." The view we got was beautiful, overlooking the Choptank River. There was a small balcony with a sliding glass door just big enough for two people to step outside. The room was larger than a typical hotel room, with high ceilings and a ceiling fan. There was a mini-fridge and a safe in the room as a standard feature. The bathroom was very big compared to a normal hotel. We found the room very clean and well stocked.

We did not look at the golf course or the marina, however, there was a golf club and shop on site. They offered mini-golf as well as a normal full-service golf course. Near this area there is also a volleyball court. There is a marina where people can dock their boat and access the resorts amenities. There were also a few little shops. One was an "Outfitter" store that store everything from swimsuits to resort logo wear to jeans and shirts. For kids, while mom is in the spa and dad is golfing, there is a program called Camp Hyatt at Pirate's Cove. This resort offers plenty of opportunities for both family togetherness as well as time to yourself.

The spa was amazing. They offered massages, body wraps, body scrubs, facials, etc as well as a beauty salon that offered manicures, pedicures, hairstyling, etc. We got a massage, a facial, a manicure, and a pedicure and all of the services were top of the line. First you are guided through the spa to the locker room/bathroom. You are provided a locker, slippers, and robe, as well as any amenity you can think of (shampoo, razors, face wash, etc.) Once you are changed into your robe and slippers you can either use the sauna and steam rooms or enter the relaxing room. Throughout your stay at the spa and salon, you are thoroughly pampered. There is ice water, coffee, and an assortment of delicious gourmet teas available at all times. Even after your services are through, you may stay as long as you like to use the showers, sauna, relaxation room, etc. (The use of these facilities to resort guests who do not book spa services is $20)

There is an assortment of restaurant for you to choose from. These range from a dressy full-service restaurant to a pool-side grill. They also offer room service until midnight, private river-side dining, and picnics to go. We went to the Blue Point Provision which is a casual restuarant located on the other side of the resort. It is only a short walk (in warm weather) or the hotel provides a shuttle from the lobby to the restaurant. The menu is small and consists mostly of seafood dishes (there are a few dishes with steak and chicken.) Despite the small menu, the food was delicious and innovative. I would definitely choose this restaurant again. For room service, we were able to complete an order for breakfast-in-bed for the next morning, which was promptly delivered at the time we requested.

Michener's Library is a bar/restaurant that is located below the balcony of the lobby. There are sitting areas, some next to fireplaces, where you can get a few drinks or grab a bite to eat with friends or sit and read a good book. Michener's Library also leads outside to a few seats. There is a large stone fireplace outside with plenty of chairs. This fireplace is lit at night and you can sit around toasting marshmallows.

This resort has many pools. There is a medium sized indoor heated pool with a jacuzzi attached, a larger outside "activities" pool with a water slide, a small heated outdoor pool, and a small outside wading pool. In the area with the indoor pool, there is a game room with billiards, air hockey, table tennis, etc. and a large exercize room. Outside, there is a "pier" leading to Breakwater Pavillion which is a large gazebo located out in the water. This is a perfect place to sit and watch the sunrise or sunset.

The service was very good. Even the housekeeping staff was helpful and knowledgeable about the resort. I have not one complaint about this resort. Everything was better than I had expected. One thing I must mention is the resort is on the pricey side, but you definitely get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheTipsyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
18.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cambridge
16.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing