We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Attended a conference, and the property was big enough for us, and other guests and we didn't clash. Starbucks coffee, Ice cream, a HUGE outside fire place, volleyball court, putt-putt golf, and I think there were five different restaurants to choose from. Enough parking, however, if you aren't using valet, be advised you will be walking whatever direction you choose to enter the hotel. Our room(4523) was a really good size especially for a family that has kids or if you are sharing a room with a few people. Just so you know, the beds are small, I will assume our room was slated as Queen beds, however, it was more like a "twin and a half". We had a couch that pulled out into a bed. Our room was right when you get off the elevator, and we didn't hear any commotion throughout or stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    639
    264
    105
    47
See reviews for
742
589
35
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I booked the 2 Bedroom Suite for my Birthday in December. Wow was this place awesome, beautiful inside. The hotel staff was friendly and VERY accommodating. The suite was gorgeous. The room was clean, spacious, and more than I expected. The beds were so comfy. It truly was lavish and plush and well worth what I spent for 1 night for and awesome birthday. This place rocks!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a Chesapeake Suite which had amazing views of the water. From the moment we arrived, the staff treated us very well. The front desk staff, valet, room service, and bellhop were all very friendly and helpful whenever we had questions about the hotel or area in general. In our suite the bedroom was separated from the living/dining room area and the suite conveniently had two full bathrooms. We slept comfortably and didn't hear any of our neighbors the whole weekend. Walking down the hallways of the hotel, however, it seemed that the noise in the rooms carried right through the hallway. We could hear people's conversations as if their doors were open.

The property has very nice amenities, although we didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of the pool, gym, and spa. We loved the Mitchener Library bar and the fireplace right outside. Although it's a very large hotel, the furnishings and decor make it very warm and inviting. We hope to return to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

No hotel room can function flawlessly 100% of the time, but a hotel staff can. This stay, the room failed, but the staff did excelled.

This was a 2-night weekend getaway stay for my wife, toddler, and me over Presidents' Day (Sat-Mon). Our initial room had a direct bay front balcony and was end-of-hall. We had to switch rooms in the late-evening on day 2 since our heat system kept failing. (It was only blowing cool air the first night...Maintenance came next day to fix it, but when we returned from dinner it had tripped the breaker. Maintenance returned quickly but couldn't immediately resolve the issue.

Well past our toddlers bedtime, we were upgraded to a spectacular corner room, though we ended up having to repack our things and move our own belongings to the other end of the sprawling hotel. (Oh our son enjoyed that process, since he got to stay up late and "ride" across the hotel and through the lobby in the rolling hotel crib. We resettled and awake to a gorgeous view. For all of the trouble, we were given a $100 off our stay.

Wife loved the spa (though many services were not available since she didn't book a few days ahead). Food was great. Inside pool was great ascetically, but was crowded and chilly.

Though bitterly cold and windy, we couldn't help enjoy the outdoor grounds for long walks.

We'd have much-preferred to not need to repack, move, and disrupt our only full day, but things happen, and the management made valiant efforts to remedy the situation. They even sent me a followup email the next business day.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay greatly appreciates guest feedback. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the spa. We regret to hear that the rooms had to be switched part way through the stay. Thank you for your understanding as we worked to remedy the situation. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a four diamond experience on a future occasion.
Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have stayed with many Hyatt, Marriott, Westin... hotels. We just stayed at the Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Resort last weekend. The staff offered the very best service to make our trip pleasant. Jessica at front desk and Monica B. at housekeeping are great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctw886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
412 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is my third visit to this hotel. I gave them the benefit by returning expecting better service especially when the hotel was only 1/4 occupied. We found this out by speaking to a worker who asked us how our stay was. We told her we just arrived and were on our way to check in. We did online check in and had gotten the upgrade to the Regency level for an additional $64. We felt that it was a good deal since we have used this before and got our money out of it. Not so this time and maybe because of the low occupancy rate. After getting our key we went to the 6th floor to our room. We get to our room to find that it was adjoining room. Back down we go to change rooms. I hate adjoining rooms as you can hear everything that is going on in the other room. They gave as another room and back up we go. The room was fine. We unpacked and headed to the Regency club to get a drink and check it out. Guess what the key does not work, back down to the front desk. Did I mention how far it is. If you have been there you know it's a long walk. They saw us coming and asked us what was wrong. They took the key and gave us access to the club and comped our upgrade which was nice for all the inconvenience, but only if that would be the last time. We checked out the club and returned to our room, only to find out, you guessed it our key did not work. We checked our old room out and they reprogrammed it back to that one, so back down we go. They fixed it this time and we went back up to our room it worked. We headed to the gym to work out. We get to the gym and again our key did not work. We found someone to let us in and enjoyed the large workout area and equipment. After checking out the game room, and pool, we headed back to the front desk to get our s'mores coupon and get our key fixed. They did not have any coupons but told us to go the the shop and they would call and let them know. They would also tell the people who light the fire that they had a request for the fire as they would only light if someone asked. We went to the shop and picked up our kit and sat in the rocking chairs to wait for the fire to be lit. We had a front row seat of the fire pit but you guessed it no one lit the fire. After waiting for 45 mins it was back to the front desk to tell them no one came. They called again and within 15 mins someone finally came. We finally went out and enjoyed our s'mores. Others came out while we were there to enjoy their s'mores. We did go to the Regency Club for the evening layout only to find some vegetables and dip. Nothing like the last time we were there. Dessert was only a small piece of chocolate coffee cake, again nothing like our previous visit. We did get to enjoy the pool and hot tub. Three 12-14 year old girls got in the hot tub and we decided to leave as they must not be able to read the signs that they have for the hot tub that you have to be 16 to use it. There was a life guard that monitors the hot tub and she made them get out as we saw them come in after she went out to check outside. So it was nice to see this was enforced.

After this experience I will not be going back anytime in the near future. This Hyatt has a lot of training to their employees on good customer service, something that was truly lacking during this stay. I advised the girl at checkout after she asked if we enjoyed our stay but she really did not want to hear my complaints. On the positive side I got a lot of exercise walking to the front desk.

Room Tip: Do not get an adjoin groom as you can hear everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Please know how much we appreciate guest loyalty and feedback. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay prides itself on being a four diamond resort destination. We regret to hear of the service experience during your stay. Please contact me so we may discuss your stay further.
Warm Regards,
Suzanne Via
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Woefully understaffed. Poor or nonexistent service at the bar. Inexplicable wait time to be seated in a half-empty restaurant. No answer when we called room service. No one to clean the room until 5:30 in the evening.
Needs more staff, better oversight by management and a fresh coat of paint on the walls. .
Not the romantic getaway we had hoped for.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Re S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We regret to hear of your recent experience at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Resort. Please know your comments will be passed on to the management team for review, so appropriate steps are taken. We take pride in being a four diamond destination and hope to have the opportunity to provide such an experience in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
18.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#3 of 5 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
16.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing