We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing holiday”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We have always enjoyed our visits to the Hyatt Chesapeake, but this holiday visit left us disappointed. We are here for Thanksgiving but not a decoration in sight, just 2girls running around in elf outfits saying Hi. No flowers, no pumpkins, Turkeys or hint of a holiday.
Beverages took 20+ minutes! food was not hot! the waitress abandoned us after leaving the bill at the table.
Our room had very dirty floors upon entering, and the doors between our connecting rooms rooms has Greece marks and smudges.
It all has made for a poor experience. Our guess is that the MOD is new or the GM just doesn't care.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank onlinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during a recent stay with us. We have communicated to our Director of Rooms, who has reached out to you as well. We have also discussed with housekeeping, engineering, and the food and beverage department to ensure that the appropriate steps are taken. We apologize about the decorations, as they were put up during the weekend and therefore some of the Thanksgiving decorations were being put away earlier than should of. We hope to have the opportunity to showcase our four diamond resort to you and your family in the future.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    707
    289
    111
    50
See reviews for
867
644
39
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful long weekend celebrating our anniversary. The staff was incredibly attentive and thoughtful. Spa treatments so very nice.every meal, in room or at one of the restaurants were delicious.mmwe can't wait to go back.
GOlf is a must on this beautiful course.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have lovely patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hyatt for my Anniversary the second time. This resort is closed to home. It is very relaxing. The staff are wonderful. My husband and I have become regulars. The service is great. Jessica one of the managers is a pleasure to work with. She keeps a happy smile. I manager in edge water restaurant is very accommodating. We are always made to feel at home. There are many sizes to the rooms. Very clean and fresh smell the pool is awesome. I will share pictures.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolbreeze_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

So my family and I went to this resort back in August of this year. It is our yearly tradition to go for a week in the summer. We have been doing this for almost 5 years straight. Evidenced by my previous reviews, the quality and standard on this hotel started to diminish. I gave it a 3/5 rating for our August stay (see my previous review for reasons) and after that review was written, the hotel has since invited us back to see if they can make up for it. We decided to give it a shot and went this past October for the weekend.

Service was definitely better and staff seemed more attentive. Again, having been to this hotel on multiple occasions in the past, I knew that this was their normal level of standard. It wasn't anything extraordinary. It was your usual good stay. I admit, the occupancy was probably extremely low since it was off season so the staff probably had more time to cater to everyone (unlike in the summer).

Overall, it was a nice trip. That's why I decided to give it a 4/5 rating this time around. The hotel is still not what it used to be couple of years ago when I consistently thought it was 5/5 but they'll still need to step up and show me that they can manage better (especially in the summer, during the peak season) for me to be convinced that this resort is back to being a 5/5 resort. I hope they can deliver. I really want to take my family back there again next summer but as of now, we're still on the fence after our experience this past summer. The jury's still out for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwondogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This property is current and well maintained. The gym and pool are superb, as is the game room (nice ping pong tables and foos ball for free). Front desk staff were competent and friendly. Housekeepers did fine work, although they did accidentally leave a cleaning product in my bathroom one day and have the unfortunate habit of allowing guest room doors to slam while entering and exiting rooms during cleaning (a serious pet peeve of mine). My visit was off season but still the nicer restaurants became busy at dinner time. I would return and stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gthampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and the hotel is great. Excellent service from the staff. The rooms are spacious and we had a fabulous view of the water. I enjoyed watching the sunrise from the fitness center every morning. The fitness center was above average for a hotel facility. we ate a late lunch there when we arrived and it was vey good. The weather was very cool so I was not able to walk around the beautiful grounds.

Green Features: They did not have any information about reusing the bedding and towels, which surprised me.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was visiting the Hyatt for a convention and stayed 5 nights during November. While I did not have time to enjoy all the amenities, I noticed golfers, a full service spa, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, 2 restaurants, outdoor fireplace to sit and have drinks at night, walking trails, outdoor jacuzzi with swim and out opening. I ate at both restaurants and had fine meals. I enjoyed the mini-mart with Starbucks coffees and rocking chairs to sit in. The rooms were comfy, and elegant. The bathrooms generous sized. Climate controls worked great. Little balconies outside of sliding doors. I kept my door ajar at night to sleep in cool evening air. We had a nice view of the Choptank River and pool area as you can see by my pictures. The Hyatt is 30 minutes to Oxford and 15 minutes to Easton for other restaurants and shopping, biking and boating. Last year we stayed at the Hyatt to bike around Blackwater Nature Preserve. Bike riding is great in this area. Salisbury is also close to have lunch or dinner at Evolution Brewery - a must see.

Room Tip: The only drawback about our room was 2 double beds instead of 2 queen beds. The size of beds would...
See more room tips
Green Features: Deer on premises and many warning signs to drive slow and not startle them. Using oyster shells for paths and not cement.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryla_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
18.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
16.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing