We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,658)
Filter reviews
2,658 results
Traveler rating
1,325
807
334
133
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,325
807
334
133
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolwaters edgemini golfblue pointwater viewchesapeake bayair hockeychoptank riverbeach volleyballping pongeastern shorebeautiful propertyfire pithot tublong weekendromantic getawayoff season
Filter
Updating list...
1,954 - 1,959 of 2,658 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cambridge (and most of the Eastern Shore of MD) is only 2 hours from DC, so if you have only a couple of days to get away, don't want to waste lots of time reaching your destination, and aren't looking for a terrific deal, this is a great choice.
The property is well-maintained and very pretty, situated right on the edge of the Choptank River with outstanding views. While you can swim in the river and the hotel has a small beach for this purpose, it's not all that inviting. The two waterfront pools are a much better option.
This is a true resort in the sense that you pretty much have to use a car to get to non-hotel dining establishments. The dinner we had at the Water's Edge Grill in the main building was good but not memorable. We had bought the breakfast package with our room and found the buffet good--plenty of choices--but also nothing extraordinary.
For us, the beds were the best feature at the hotel, as it its quiet. Signs asks guests to tone down the noise as of 9 p.m., and this does seem to be a very family (and dog) friendly hotel.
Our room was clean and adequate, but $379 (before resort fees and taxes) does not buy you a view during the high season. We didn't mind because we spent very little time in the room, but you might want to spring for a room with a view if you plan to linger there.
Also, Cambridge itself is very, very sleepy so even if you do venture off-campus you'll find a waterfront town that is pretty but truly dead, so if you choose this location, the resort really is the attraction. After a couple of days, I have to imagine one might get bored.
But overall, we had an incredibly relaxing weekend and the staff treated us very well, so the experience met all of our goals; however, it is pricey (even taking into account the Resort Factor), given the location.

Room Tip: The "balcony" description is misleading--it's just a tiny space you can step out on to. You can't bring a chair or sit there. "Golf course view" can also be misleading, as that's how our room was described but we mainly had a view of people pulling up to check in. I might spring for a water view room if I went back.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a June wedding at the Hyatt and absolutely loved the service that was provided and would recommend this venue. As far as the Hyatt stay, here are our thoughts:

Pros:
Great food
Nice infinity pool

Cons:
Food was expensive
Jellyfish in the river so we could only swim in the pool

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We expected much better from Hyatt. We arrived at about 3pm but could not go to our room until 4pm because it was not ready. The room was dirty - there was dust, half a peanut and other debris on the floor. These were not cleared up during our 2-day stay. There was a marked smell of stale cigarette smoke and the connecting door to the adjacent room was open.
The main dining room was rather shabby and dated. The food portions here and in the seafood restaurant were generous but it was all rather unappetising.
What a pity. The location is stunning but Hyatt needs to make a bit more of an effort here.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MabsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We truly appreciate guest feedback and regret to hear of the experience with our rooms and at Water’s Edge Grill. Please know we are passing these comments on to our management team for review. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay’s check-in time is 4pm. Our team will always do its best to accommodate guests with an earlier check-in time but it is dependent on availability. We hope to welcome you back for a future stay at our four-diamond resort.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Where do I start? I was looking forward to a great experience and it was only disappointing. It all started off wrong when we ate at the Waters edge restaurant in the hotel where service was extremely slow and they served raw chicken on my kids' chicken pasta. What a way to start of a vacation worried if your children will get sick from their first meal. The hotel room itself is well appointed but the walls are way too thin. There are signs everywhere asking guests to keep their volume down and its probably bc the walls are too thin here. We asked for a quiet room and got the noisiest room Ive ever stayed in. We were able to hear people next door speak,cough and sadly even have intercourse. We got little sleep bc of the noise and activity around us. Despite all that, the Pools are nice and entertained the kids. Theres a good selection of activities to keep the family busy. The Regency club was also very nice and worth the upgrade. Overall it was barely an ok experience, don't think I'll go out of my way to return anytime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HNgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We truly appreciate the feedback and regret any dissatisfaction that occurred during a stay at our resort. Please know that we are passing this information along to our management team, including the director of food & beverage, so that the correct steps are taken. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope to have the opportunity to showcase our four-diamond resort during a future resort visit.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The marina was beautiful and inexpensive for this area. We paid a small resort fee which gave us access to all amenities to include the outdoor pool, indoor pool, and fitness center. Beautiful bay view and great customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRenee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews