We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. I recommend rooms facing the bay or the pool and bay. You don't want to miss sunrise or moonrise over this gorgeous view. We found the golf course in excellent condition...both challenging and fair (with only 1 exception, the 17th hole which requires a 160 yard carry over the river). There's a lot of wildlife viewing both on and off the course, 3 pools ( indoor and out), a children's camp and several restaurants. Breakfast was terrific and not overpriced as so many resorts are. We did not dine here for dinner (though we should have, given the choices in town). All in all, a great escape destination for couples, families, golfers, pretty much everyone!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carolboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    692
    285
    111
    50
See reviews for
842
629
39
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had made reservation for a petite water view suite, but whenever we arrived, they did not have that particular room and gave us another room and told us that we could move the following day. We called the front office and told them that we were going to stay where we were, being I had already unpacked. Went to St. Michael's that morning and when we returned the room was not cleaned, nor were our beds made. Had to call housekeeping to do their job. Went to eat at the BluePoint restaurant ordered oysters on a half shell plus our entrée, we are still waiting for the oysters. Balcony was filthy, screen door kept falling of of the track. Dirty glasses plus empty bottles left in the room. Only two wash cloths left in the room and whenever we inquired about this to housekeeping they told us that they were only allowed to give 2 to a room. Ice bucket was never emptied from the night before (all of the ice was melted). For the extra money that we paid for 2 bottles of water, we only received them 2 times. And to top it all, the one day that we came back to our room there was a dirty towel (which did not belong to us) laying in the middle of the room. It did not belong to the hotel because it was a Ralph Lauren with a Polo design in the corner. This will be our first and last time we will visit this resort. Nothing extraordinary about the room except the $400.00 fee. We had better rooms and service at the Holiday Inn Express. They cut the cost of the room for two day when we were leaving however the trip was already ruined. For such a nice looking property the room service and food was not worth the price.

Room Tip: Make sure your rooms are guaranteed prior to your arrival. Also ask for a balcony room that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwhcbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We greatly appreciate guest feedback and are disappointed to hear about this experience. Please know we are passing these comments along to our management team, so that the correct steps are taken. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay hopes to have the opportunity to showcase our four-diamond resort during a future resort visit.


Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were there for a weekend to attend a wedding. Overall, a pretty nice place--no real beach, but nice pools and great view of Bay. The food we had at the wedding and at the bar was all quite good and the banquet waiter who served our table seemed to take genuine pride in the excellent fresh fish we were served.

The main negative was that our room did not smell fresh when we finally got it after having to wait until nearly 3:30. Having to wait for the room, the front desk not calling to let us know when it was ready as was promised, and then the unfresh smelling room we finally got, set a bad tone. The housekeeper came and sprayed which only seemed to make it worse. Turning the a/c way down and having it run a lot mostly made it okay, but there was always some residual odor as though it had been smoked in and then had a lot of scent sprayed to try to make it right. We were never offered a different room or any other compensation, which probably would have made me feel better.

Also I did not know about the $26 "resort fee" until the final bill was emailed to us. Yes, I know there were signs up, but for some reason didn't think it applied to us because it was not mentioned at check in. Anyway, it would have been too late since we were already committed to stay there because the fee was not clearly disclosed when I made my reservation--it should be. I'm sure they hear this a lot, and don't really care because they think they make more money doing it that way, but the resort fee is not optional--it applies to everyone whether or not they are using amenities of the resort that are not generally available in all 4 star hotels--so it should be included in the room rate. Such deceptive practices breed resentment--at least in me.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Notaprimadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We greatly appreciate the positive feedback. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay apologizes for the room experience and we are passing these comments on for review. Please note that daily check-in time is 4pm. Our team will always do its best to accommodate guests with an earlier check-in time – or a different room – but it’s dependent on availability. Our resort fee covers numerous complimentary services provided year-round to guests, like in-room wi-fi access, two bottled waters, dive-in movies, outdoor recreational activities, parking, and our “Captain’s Parlor” game room.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,199 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 for a conference with over 300 people. The hotel managed our mass checkin really well, and checkout was also smooth. Conference rooms and breakout rooms are well situated and laid out. The room was well appointed and comfy, with lots of light and space. A good bathroom with plenty of supplies and towels. As hyatt card member, i had free wifi, but it was pretty slow at night when more people must have been surfing. Food is 'ok'-- and our gala dinner food was just average, while the other dinner with buffet and several cuisine options was better. Coffee is especially bad, but lots of snacks and thankfully a choice of tea that compensated for the mass coffee. Staff were really helpful and friendly throughout. The walks along the beach and out on the docks are lovely--- really nice when the weather cooperates. Options for water sports (boating, jet skis, swimming) are plentiful. A special place.

Room Tip: try to get a view of the water. i had a view of the front driveway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is my absolute favorite Hyatt property so far. Lots of things to do for families and couples. Varying levels of restaurants for all budgets and tastes. Highly performing staff. Pleasant views. Lots of activity options. We love the swim up movies and the fire pit. A hidden gem on the Delmarva Peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a business conference. The rooms were good, the staff was courteous, and the conference rooms were very comfortable. The food was very good, especially one evening meal which featured fresh crabs. The patios were filled with chairs for relaxing with a nice view of the water.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for our engagement recently, and it was great. Everything from the club room to the lobby was n great condition and the food/snacks were great! The service was great as well. The concierges were a great help with helping me to plan some engagement stuff. Mary and Brooke were instrumental over the phone and provided great service and recommendations, while Gina (from Pittsburgh) actually prepared the room for us with champagne and roses petals, and turn down service, great attitude and could really trust them! I had a slight issue with the use of the bikes there, but it was promptly taken care of by John (the marina director/recreation) and he took care of us. The only other recommendation I would make is that the infinity pool be for adults only rather than only half of the pool, this way the kids can still have the other two pools to play in and the adults can relax without having to worry about the kids. Great service, great scenery, great food, great time! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
18.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
16.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
177 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing