We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Many Kids - Lacking Customer Focus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The last time we visited the Hyatt on a Thursday, there were limited kids at the hotel. This time there were kids everywhere. This makes it hard to have a romatic get away when the kids over take the hot tub, pool, miniture golf, etc. When we checked in I asked if the upgrade was available and they did not have any due to renovations. I was put in a room near the elevators and front entrance even though my preferences state I want a quiet room away from elevators, noise. I am a member of the Hyatt and was disappointed in this oversite (why bother putting this information in your file if they are not going to read it) After looking at the room, I requested a change. The chair in the room was dirty, but for one night, I did not want to move again. They have self check in and check out which I felt was not very customer service friendly. With all the paid services on the tv, it was hard to find the regular channels. I was afraid to hit to many buttons as it would charge your account. This would be difficult for an older person to figure out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementchesa, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

We regret to hear that room preferences were not acknowledged. We strive to provide all guests with a four-diamond service and to accommodate their needs. We are currently planning additional adult-focused activities for guests and will take your review into consideration as we move forward. Our team truly values your feedback.
Sincerely,
Cari Ruppert, Associate Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,883 - 1,889 of 2,352 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

With spectacular location, indoor pool ,hot tub, volleyball course,mini golf, and a bounce house this is hotel offers a perfect family getaways from the Washington DC area (even if you are not a golfer).

Room Tip: Plan your vacation in the Fall or in the Spring for better rate and less crowd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thailand_Nov2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This property is a resort/conference hotel on the bay. A "resort view" means a view away from the bay.The staff is exceptional, rooms large, clean and well furnished. Two bathrobes are available for use in the room and complimentary toothpaste is provided in the bathroom. Beware the sink hot/cold water directions are opposite convention. Self parking is free. A general store sells sundry and food items. But baged peanuts purchased in the store were stale. The Blue Point Provision Company restaurant seperate from the main building is a good choice for evening meals at about $40-$50/ person. Waters Edge restaurant serves breakfast for about $15/person. Guests can enjoy the pleasant walking areas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldtravelerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I know it's not particularly exotic but it's a great quick getaway from the DC area. 2 hrs and you're there. Very pleasant, lots of light, plenty of things to do for kids as well. Indoor and outdoor polls, s'mores by the grand fireplace - constant entertainment for the little ones. Food is surprisingly decent, golf course is reasonable too and renovated spa is very nice too. Overall, it's perfect for a quick trip with kids when you don't want to spend all day in a car.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I spent a night here in mid-March. We booked a water-view room with a king bed on a discount rate. We're not golfers. Had I paid full price for our room, I would have expected more. The room had a beautiful view and a nice balcony, but the towels in the bathroom were pretty thin. We were asked if we wanted a quiet room when we made the reservation, and that was honored - our wing was very quiet (though when we were leaving the room to go home, I noticed there was a family with a young baby staying next to us. I guess families have the right to request a quiet room too and the hotel can't really control that, but had the baby been a screamer, it might not have been such a quiet wing!). There was a conference going on while we were at the resort, and that was definitely obvious........when we walked through the hallway from the self-park lot to the lobby, there were lots of used coffee cups/dishes lining the tables. It didn't really bother us - maybe the conference had just wrapped up - but it sort of made you feel like you were just at any old Hyatt, as opposed to a "resort." I guess you wouldn't get this impression if you valet parked, but we only had one bag and the lot isn't a far walk, so we saw no reason to. Having read a few reviews on Trip Advisor and the DC/Baltimore Chowhound board that the food at the resort was only mediocre, we didn't try it (other than coffee and pastries - both good - at the Bay Country Market). Had the weather been nicer, we probably would have tried to eat on the deck at the Blue Pointe restaurant, as the setting looked really pretty. The resort was full of families and it is indeed a great place for people traveling with elementary/middle school aged children. If someone who doesn't meet that demographic were to ask me if they should go there, I would say yes if they could get a reduced-rated on the room. But I don't think I would recommend paying full price to stay at what is overall an average Hyatt that happens to be on the Choptank. The scenery is very pretty but it's not all that "high end" and you might be better off trying an inn in St. Michael's or Easton if you want to explore the Eastern Shore.

Room Tip: You can request a "quiet room" when you make the reservation. Due to the large number of f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmoretraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We chose the Hyatt from options in a bonus package from RCI, the vacation company. It was just 90 minutes from our home in the suburbs of Washington, DC. What a delightful surprise. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. All of the normal expected amenities are present. The staff was extraordinarily accommodating and pleasant, from the front desk to the bellman.

The resort overlooks the River in one of the many inlets from the Chesapeake. We just wanted to unwind and it was rainy and cool so we hung out around the main building most of the time. We found several good restaurants in the town of Cambridge. There are some good choices on the resort grounds, but they are a bit pricey and the menu is somewhat limited, particularly for families.

There were several things we particularly appreciated. The indoor pool is large and heated to a temperature that is not too warm, but yet warm enough that one can slide into it without the initial chill of many pools. The fitness room is first rate with excellent cardio and resistance equipment. The grounds are extensive, beautiful and peaceful.

If you want a place for a get away from it all time or you want a thoughtful company retreat, this is a great choice. The Eastern Shore of Maryland offers a lot as well, all within a reasonable distance.

It was a great find for us and we are looking to return for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: We were in 6131 with a partial view of the river. Seek a room toward the rear with a view of the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife, 10-year old daughter, and I just completed a wonderful short staycation at the Hyatt in Cambridge, Maryland. It was a terrific getaway for us even though we live only a short distance from the hotel. During our stay we felt that we were at a resort far away from home. We highly encourage local residents and travelers from far distance to visit the Hyatt Regency in Cambridge, Maryland. We had excellent meals while on the property. The first was a fantastic lunch at the Water's Edge Restaurant located in the hotel, dinner was even better at the Blue Point seafood restaurant located at the marina followed with S'mores at the outside fire place. Our final meal was room service breakfast which arrived on time and was a great start for the day. From there our daughter headed off to Camp Hyatt for the morning and the adults headed to the new Sago Spa for two incredible massages. Our daughter had a great time and mom & dad left fully relaxed. We look forward to our next staycation at the Hyatt in Cambridge, Maryland.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomHutch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
18.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
16.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $167 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing