We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The spa at the Cambridge Hyatt is the worst I've experienced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 15, 2012

First, the positives: the spa was beautiful and the staff was very friendly. However, the Monsoon Ritual was not worth the price. The scrub is more like fine polish-not what I was expecting. The massage use a lotion instead of oil and very little of it so that the skins was pulled and stretched and uncomfortable. The products smelled wonderful thought. Unfortunately just prior to my service there was a fire alert and we had to evacuate the building. This messed up the schedule of everyone's appts. So to get back on schedule (I'm assuming since nothing was discussed with me) my 90min appt was shortened to 78 mins - the price however was not adjusted accordingly. Next day I had a mani-pedi. Manicure was ok though the nail tech complained about having to remove glitter nail polish (it is a pain). Pedicure was ridiculous! Nails not files evenly. Cuticles not addressed properly. Polish on my skin. I was rushing to get out to another engagement or I would have asked for pedicure to be fixed. (I'll attach a picture if possible). Bottom line - beautiful hotel and spa. Poor products and services.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mymmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementchesa, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

The Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay team is very excited about the recent opening of Sago Spa & Salon, which underwent a $1 million transformation. We appreciate feedback and regret to hear of a guest experience that is less than our Four Diamond standard. Please know that these comments have been passed on to management for review, and that we’d like to re-connect so we may rectify this unfortunate situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,887 - 1,893 of 2,349 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

What a beautiful facility! We were greeted upon arrival and given Momosa's as we arrived! Our room was excellent. Clean lots of room and a very nice tiled bathroom! They have fantastic meeting rooms and an awesome hot tub and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. You can make somemores at their fireplace outside and they have Starbucks!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We reside in the Annapolis area so we took my Mom to the Hyatt for a birthday weekend getaway. We had a total of six adults and two kids - we had a suite which was nice - very spacious. It was your typical Hyatt room - not plush but very clean. The bellman at arrival was very helpful and nice. The front desk was able to accommodate our early arrival. The indoor pool was key for our two girls...they loved it. The outdoor area looks great but we were there in December so that obviously wasn't an option. They had a game room as well which was fun for the kids. The spa was under renovation but the temporary spa was very accommodating and the services were okay. The restaurant was probably my biggest complaint - service was extremely slow. Definitely a resort that probably has a lot more to offer in the summer time with the outdoor activities - golf, pool, pier etc. We would try it again if the price was right. It is definitely a great setup - the resort itself just seems to have a business feel to me.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWerwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our third stay in five years and our shortest. The hotel is still beautiful and the staff does a good job of keeping everything neat and clean. We were there over presidents day weekend with our two kids, and they had a blast. It was very crowded in the pool, so we didn't use it as much. Game room was a blast. Played pool and miniature golf. Our last stay was in summer when both pools are open and the staff have activities for the kids. Ate in waters edge for dinner. A little pricey. Food is fine. Breakfast was the best. Had a king bed with two bunks. 10 year old too big for bunks, 8 year old loved it. Looking forward to coming back in warmer weather.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

When I finally arrived I was very impressed with the grounds--I saw great big birds that I thought were buzzards, and then a flock of turkey! I think they told me the facility is 10 years old, and it looks like it is just coming into its own--gardens well established, and everything settling in very nicely. This is a first class lodge type facility on the Chesapeake bay. All personnel were extremely nice and accomadating. Food was excellent, along with excellent facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Had an awesome long weekend, with our 4 and 6 yo. greeted at check in with a mimosa! It was more affordable than driving to OC and acclamations out do anything you will find in OC. It was so nice to just stay on the resort all day and night. So much to do, we rented a jet boat one day, played mini golf, went crabbing. They had lots of daily activities planned that kept us all busy! The pool was well maintained and even though it was crowded we always got seats and took our packed lunch to the pool. BrIng your own pool toys and inflatables. All the kids have em and to buy em is way overpriced! The frig in our room was nice to keep drinks and milk. Brought cereal and donuts to have breakfast in our room. Saved us a ton! This place is worth it! And I am a picky traveler!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoCoMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I recently stayed at this resort for business and it is stunning. For the Hyatt to have this resort in a small town like Cambridge, MD is crazy but it is beautiful and lies along the Choptank river.

I had a waterview room which was very nice and had a balcony with two chairs and a table. The room was large and the bathroom amenities were nice. The cable TV was a little scratchy and needs to be addressed.

Now the resort employs people from all over the world and they are not the quickest group. The food and drink is very expensive but also very good. There is a Starbucks on the main floor which is nice as well and parking is free.

The pool area is huge and the hot tub is both inside and outside which is nice when it is cold out. The gym area is also very large with plenty of machines for everybody.

Overall great place for a short stay but be prepared for slow service and high food prices.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
18.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
16.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
186 reviews
10.7 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $169 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing