We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mill Street Inn”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mill Street Inn in Cambridge, Maryland for 6 straight nights during late July and early August, 2012. The innkeepers, Jennie and Skip, were very helpful and accommodating. They suggested places to go and restaurants where we could have dinner. The breakfasts were delicious and that was really a big highlight of our stay every day. The inn was tastefully decorated and the rooms were very spacious. We were very comfortable at the Mill Street Inn and we recommend it for your stay on the eastern shore of Maryland.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmsbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

The other reviews are spot on.

This is a beautiful B&B with huge rooms, all tastefully decorated and fantastic breakfasts. What really sets this place apart though is the warmth of the hosts, Skip and Jennie. This translates to lots of very touching personal touches. We arrived early evening and stayed 2 nights so we were really there only one full day. In that time, we got to know Skip and Jennie and like them considerably. When we came to say goodbye, I went to shake Jennie's hand and she just hugged me. I was so upset, it felt like leaving friends.

Cambridge is a great place - 'on the up' we were told just seeing the shoots of recovery after the main employer left town in the 1950s (I think). It really does deserve to get support. The main town which is only a couple of blocks from Mill St, still has lots of the old buildings, some of which are now being restored by eager locals. We had a lovely lazy morning exploring them all. The shopkeepers are all so friendly even if you don't buy anything. The area around Mill Street has some stunning buildings too plus it's not even a block away from the water.

We were on a round trip coming from Williamsburg on to Annapolis and this was a great place to stop and just recharge your batteries. Great restaurants too. Don't look any further.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here for one night in early Aug 2011. I live in the UK, have stayed in a number of B&Bs over the years, and feel that the Mill Street Inn sets a new benchmark in B&B service. The building is beautiful, breakfast delicious, and hosts Skip and Jenny full of attentions that made us feel welcome from the second we walked in the front door.

We booked the blue Edward room and feel that the photos on the B&B's website don't make it justice - it's actually bigger than it appears and decorated with great taste (as is the rest of the house for that matter!). The bathroom is however the real star here, being the type of room that could comfortably fit in a 5* hotel.

Breakfast was brilliant, and was complemented with lovely conversation with the hosts. On top of that, we received a lot of other treats that really made the place feel special, including cookies in the evening, complementary wine in the room, hand made soaps, and a set of postcards to take home with us as a souvenir of our stay.

Rates are very competitive, especially if compared with the nearby Hyatt hotel, which I haven't visited, but can't imagine offering the same level of service and dedication that Jenny and Skip put into their lovely house.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippo_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were a party of three -- our daughter was looking at properties in the area and so we came along too. We had the immensely comfortable suite, including a large sitting room; she had the pretty, blue room with a spacious bathroom. Others have rightly emphasized the warm welcome you receive from Jenny and Skip, the delicious breakfasts, the generous attention to detail in making guests comfortable. I'd like to draw attention to the house itself, a nineteenth-century building in the historic quarter of Cambridge which Jenny and Skip have restored with great love and good taste. Jenny has a wonderful eye for colour and texture, and has created a home that is extremely elegant and at the same time very welcoming. There are several beautiful rooms available to guests in addition to their own bedrooms, including a screened porch looking over the garden. As a trio of English people who have travelled pretty widely we felt Mill Street Inn represents American hospitality at its very best.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelicityR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I decided to stay at the Mill Street Inn in Cambridge on a recent wine tour of the Eastern Shore wineries. We chose this particular bed and breakfast because it was central to a lot of the wineries that we were going to visit and they allowed you to book a one night weekend stay at the Inn (most Bed and Breakfast's require a two night stay, Mill Street Inn only charges you $25 extra if you only want to stay one night on the weekend).

Jennie and Skip are the nicest proprietors, making sure we had everything we needed for the evening and even offering literature on the wineries of the Shore. They even had cookies sitting out for us in the evening when we returned from dinner.

We chose the Blue Edward Room. The bedroom is a little tiny, but that is to be expected in an older home. The bathroom more than made up for the size of the bedroom - it is huge! The claw foot tub was an extra special treat and the bath salts/soaps, made especially for the Inn, were also very nice. The bed was comfy and there were plenty of pillows. It did get a little hot in the room, a celing fan would have helped, but we just turned the air down (the controller was in the hallway and was shared between two of the three room at the Inn). Jennie and Skip also put chocolates and complimentary bottles of wine (both red and white) in each guest room. We felt right at home!

In the morning, Jennie made a delicous breakfast - Cinnamon Rolls, a fruit cup & Eggs Florentine with smoked salmon - all very yummy!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Inn and would definitely consider staying here again if our travels bring us to Cambridge in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llee1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

There's not a single thing to complain about after a night at the Mill Street Inn -- our room was luxurious and comfortable & the food was outstanding. Our hosts really seem to take great pleasure in their B&B, which makes it a truly enjoyable experience to stay with them. They really go all out to please their guests and have thought of a number of little touches, from ice buckets being available, to chocolates waiting for us in our room. It was a true pleasure to stay with them!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Set in a wonderfully and tastefully decorated restored Victorian douse, this small B&B is an ideal base for exploring the old towns of the Maryland Eastern Shore. Hosts Jennie and Skip Rideout spare no effort to make guests feel welcome and comfortable, and Jennie's breakfasts are nothing short of extraordinary. If one had to write the specs for a first class B&B, the Mill Street Inn would be a good model to start with.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
9.1 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in Cambridge
187 reviews
16.8 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
0.2 mi away
Albanus Phillips Inn
Albanus Phillips Inn
#3 of 5 in Cambridge
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 114 Mill St, Cambridge, MD 21613-1629
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $237 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing