We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Dinner”

Kay's Country Kitchen
Ranked #14 of 59 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Was staying at the nearby Chesapeake Hyatt and went to Kay's for dinner. This was truly a home cooked meal and all I can say is yummy! There is a lot to choose from on the menu and I had a hard time deciding what I wanted. Everything looked good. Besides excellent food, it was a fun experience getting to watch the planes and the humming birds. I have never seen so many humming birds. The service was also very good. Everyone was really friendly. I will definitely be back the next time I'm in Cambridge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central pennsylvania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“airplanes, hummingbirds, generous portions, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

At the Airport: What's not to like....good country cooking, airplanes, hummingbirds, generous portions, reasonable prices, friendly wait staff. We've had dinner there-- Tues special of fried chicken and two vegetables, $5.99-- and breakfast, 2 eggs, grits, 5 pieces of crisp bacon and toast, $5.95. Biggest iced teas ever for $1.95...I think it's served in quart Mason jars. You can be entertained by watching the small planes take off and land or the hummingbirds zipping to and from the window feeders. Very friendly and efficient wait staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pennstatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed up the street at the Hyatt and the concierge recommended Kay's for breakfast. We almost didn't find it, it is actually in the airport. Breakfast was very reasonably priced, great food, excellent service and we enjoyed watching the small planes taking off.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendy454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Good Place To Meet the Locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been living in Cambridge for the past seven years and we've been meaning for a very long time now to go to Kay's Airport Restaurant. Now we're glad we finally did. We dropped in on a Friday for lunch and were lucky to find a table available! By the time we left there was a line of at least ten people waiting to squeeze in.

We both had hamburgers, hand-made patties, very fresh ground beef, served with mushrooms & Swiss cheese, accompanied by our choice of a vegetable, which was onion rings for both of us. I know, I know, not a very imaginative lunch, but the food was good and well-prepared and let us look over the menu for future reference, which we will definitely take advantage of in the near future.

The dining room was filled with locals all talking back and forth across the room. The view of the runway was great and the amount of traffic at this smallish regional airport really surprised us. Also enjoyable were the crowd of ruby-throated hummingbirds fiercely defending "their" feeders just outside the restaurant windows.

All in all, a fun restaurant with an extensive breakfast/lunch/dinner menu that we'll be back soon to sample again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NormS187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A humble local place for home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Easier to find than you might expect. At the local airport terminal just off Rt 50. Excellent value. Good home cooking. It is a simple local place. Nothing fancy. Very good. Friendly. Nice people... Both local customers and staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kay's Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Kay's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing