We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, inviting, comfortable home with pool made...”
other travelers have booked this property
Classic Colonial - almost 5,000 sf
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Classic Colonial - almost 5,000 sf
11 foot deep, stone porches surround the home Your private pool and waterfront are just steps away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Classic Colonial - almost 5,000 sf
11 foot deep, stone porches surround the home
Your private pool and waterfront are just steps away
Your Beach
From the water
The dock
Master Suite
3rd floor bath
Guest Room 3
3rd Floor Guest Room 4 (four beds)
3rd Floor rec room
Kitchen
Porch
One of the 1st floor living areas
Another 1st floor seating area
Dining
Screen Porch
Master Bath
Guest Suite 1
Guest Room 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Cambridge, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sue2delta
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Warm, inviting, comfortable home with pool made for the dream family vacation!”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family gathering was everything we hoped because of this vacation home. The house met the needs for the 13 of us, from 4 to 67 years old. We especially loved the different seating areas, and I think the kids turned into prunes because they were in the pool so much. We played games, had sing-alongs, went biking, kayaking and explored towns and restaurants.

We truly appreciate all the thought that went into this home! The different seating areas inside and outside encouraged both group and intimate conversations. The location on the Little Choptank is stunning, and getting to Cambridge, Eastn and Saint Michaels is easy.

Bunnies hop on the lawn, and dragonflies were abundant. Do be sure to take insect repellent
as the horseflies and deerflies ( and sometimes mosquitos) are merciless. And be sure to go to the Blackwater Reserve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and furnishing of the house, and the pool accesibility.
Liked least: The door between dining room and enclosed screened porch did not work so we had to go through living room to eat outdoors.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
A three-generation family is our most common guest-group, and this family was LOVELY to have!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the water with the option of the pool was great.
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
These folks were great, and they were very adept at crabbing. The crabs get even better and bigger as the summer goes by but these folks took full advantage. Thanks for a great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vtcheryl
Ellicott City, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Girl's Weekend”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a group of 9 women stay here for a crafting weekend. The house was perfect for us. We brought a few folding tables and were able to all be in the large open rooms together. We arranged ourselves so we all had a view of the water. It was wonderful.

The bedrooms on the second floor are comfortable and quiet. The top floor is great for kids. I wouldn't recommend putting any older people in those beds.

It rained for most of our weekend, but we would have loved to spend some some outside. I could have sat on the chairs at the end of the dock for hours.

The location is pretty far from town, but this isn't a place you go to for the town. The remote location makes is so peaceful.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The large open living area
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2014
Wonderful lady and wonderful guests~! I wish they had sunshine that March week as well, but... mission accomplished - they had a great weekend! We have almost all families, but occasionally small groups such as theirs.

The house is fifteen minutes from town - something that our guests say they love - a private peaceful setting and yet you can be in town with all the amenities in only 15 mins.

Thank you so much for the Five-Star service rating :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
danddalle...
reading pa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Our family spent a week at Saddle Beach House on the Eastern Shore over 4th of July.
Unfortunately it was not the vacation we were hoping for. We chose this property because of the web site by owner. The site led us to believe that this was an upscaled luxury home. From the beginning, my husband was leary of this home because the owner required personal information that my husband was not comfortable giving him. We are very particular with the homes we reserve for our vacations. Every year we take our family on vacation. We spend a lot of time picking the perfect house for us. This year due to the stressful jobs of many family members , we chose to settle on a laid back, swim, boat, fish, and some shopping vacation.
The house advertises a kayak, a canoe, crab traps, beautiful beach, landscaping etc.
Unfortunately, the landscaping was nothing more than weeds with a few grasses.
Most of the items included were in very poor condition.
The canoe had no seats. My husband called the owner about this, but he never returned his call even though on his site he stresses you call him so he can resolve the problem so there will be no negative feedback.
The beach was very small. Not like the pictures showed. The neighbor who is very close, put rocks on the beach to keep us from crossing to his portion. The divider is not shown on the picture and the owner talks about the six acre property like it is very private and you can take walks through the pines and on the beach. That just cannot happen. The pines are so overgrown and bug infested that no way are you walking in them and the so called pristine pond on the side of the house is also almost invisible due to weeds.
I will say that the inside of the home was not too bad. It had some issues but I won't elaborate on them.
This was not a budget house, it was pricy for the location but that was not an issue for us. We just wanted what we saw on his web site and by far, it was not even close.
We sent an email to the owner, included the pictures we took, told him we were not looking for a refund, also we had taken a glass kitchen bowl by mistake and I asked for an address so I could send it back but I never got a reply of any kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The condition
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
This is confusing to respond-to as some of it we just don't understand. We have almost six acres, and the house, pool, driveway and crisp, beautiful lawn - sits on over an acre. The rest is a mix of pine forest and marsh. We have 500' of beach (!) at low tide and about 80' at high tide. The "rocks" he speaks about are actually a jetty we put in to preserve the sand and it works really well.
We got two calls in one day, responded immediately as we always do. We would love to have the guest back some day and hep them have an even better vacation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebG24
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything in one place - perfect for group of friends or family reunion!”
Reviewed May 12, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We celebrated my parent's 40th anniversary at this beautiful home and it was perfect. The house is large and comfortable with a gas grill, pier complete with fishing and crabbing equipment, small beach area, pool, fire pit and canoes. We had 8 adults and 6 children totally occupied in a relaxing atmosphere that allowed us time to spend together without being on top of one another. The owner, Jon, is most accommodating and we could not have been happier. Thanks for a great place to unwind as a large group under one roof!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing