We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring back the Old Plaza Tapatina!!”
Review of Plaza Tapatina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Plaza Tapatina
Ranked #42 of 60 Restaurants in Cambridge
Restaurant details
cambridge,maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bring back the Old Plaza Tapatina!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This USE to be one of our favorite places to eat Mexican, BUT something has changed and NOT for the better! The remodeling looks awesome. But the service was terrible! THe lady Server obviously wanted to go home, as she took our order, gave us 1 order of Chips and dip, 1 round of drinks and we had to call her back for seconds. Gave us more Chips, no dip and the bowls were empty. But to top it off they shut down the Music at 8:45 while we were in the middle of our meal and basically closed the place down around us!! When we went up to pay the 3 Staff Members were standing behind the counter just waiting for us to leave!! So inappropriate! All 4 meals were good. But, the service was really bad! I wish what ever they've tried to change, they would redo. It USE to be GREAT!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funmom43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Decent food, a bit pricey and very noisy”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Average-to-good Mexican food at this local outpost of a small chain of Mexican restaurants. We've eaten here a few times. Dining room can be VERY noisy when its full, as it's one big room (converted old Pizza Hut building). Prices are a bit high for Mexican, IMO, but overall it's OK, but not great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BriPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

An excellent local chain with tasty, spicy vegetarian options. The potato burrito is fantastic. Not much atmosphere but good food and ok service.

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Sitting here finishing my second Texas Margarita (on the rocks) and I have to say this place is worth the visit. I had the carnitas and they were very good. Pork was extremely tender, a little salty but my family's overall experience was very good. Definitely would come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nawlins1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good, inexpensive, plentiful”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First off, please get the name of the restaurant right: it's Plaza Tapatia. They are located in Easton, Cambridge, Salisbury, and Ocean City and we love all of them! The complimentary taco chips and two different salsas are fresh and delicious and we always have to be careful not to spoil our appetite with them. Accompanied by a freshly made Margarita, what's not to love?

My wife almost always gets the steak fajitas, which she loves, and almost always brings home enough for lunch the next day. I'm partial to the Carnitas, chunks of well-done pork served with beans, rice, and salsa salad...always more than I can finish.

For desert my wife invariably gets their Flan, a creamy, understated custard dish with a slightly sweet sauce that sets it off perfectly.

The staff here is friendly and always patient with questions. Prices are very reasonable, making this one of the least expensive places to eat in Cambridge these days. Finally, we usually see good numbers of local Hispanics eating here, which we feel is a good recommendation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NormS187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Tapatina also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Tapatina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing