We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
A Gem! A highly personal local history.

Wonderful museum! The staff was well-informed and friendly. There's a tremendous history told from... read more

Reviewed October 27, 2018
W8838FNscotts
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
We learned even more on our second visit

We were here and loved it so much we went again. It was even better this time. There is just so... read more

Reviewed August 1, 2018
99cooks111
,
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Read all 17 reviews
  
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
9
5
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
9
5
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful museum! The staff was well-informed and friendly. There's a tremendous history told from a personal perspective. The model boats are exquisite. Equipment used on ships and in shipbuilding were beautifully preserved and displayed. DO NOT SKIP THIS!!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank W8838FNscotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

We were here and loved it so much we went again. It was even better this time. There is just so much to learn about the history of the area. How the people could to what they had to do just to survive let alone thrive. Wow, are we spoiled.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 99cooks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017

It tells you how they lived and provided for thousands. It also makes it seem almost impossible for it to have been done. What a difficult life these people lived. Unbelievably hard work. Incredible craftsmanship with little to work with. My wife grew up on the sea just on the pacific coast and she was blown away because this all was possible 200 years earlier than where west coast maritime history started.

Do not miss this

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank 99cooks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

If you have a soft spot for boating or watermen or are just curious about Eastern Shore culture and history, make time for this gem of a museum. This is a low-tech, personal collection fashioned around the life story of the incomparable local boat builder, Jim Richardson. You’ll take away a greater appreciation for Mr. Richardson and other key figures in Dorchester County’s rich boat building tradition. The young docent on hand today, Russ, knows everything about skipjacks and bugeyes and can answer any question you put to him. He made our visit that much more enjoyable. The museum is conveniently located in downtown Cambridge in a lovely historic bank building. Excellent restaurants and the RAR brewery are within a couple blocks for a pre- or post-museum respite. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank AnotherHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017

The artifacts, displays and photos are extremely interesting. Well worth going out of your way off HY 50.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 417DavidW417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews