We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites California, MD - NAVAIR
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in California
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
“Friendly staff and nice rooms”
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I stayed here while on business for the government. After a brief misunderstanding with the front desk clerk, I was able to confirm my room. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. I never used the pool or the exercise room, however I did notice that the hot tub was broken the whole week I was there. My room was clean and the shower was quite nice and LARGE! Breakfast in the morning included pre-made (but still yummy) omelets and sausage biscuits w/gravy...NICE!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wedgehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    12
    7
    14
See reviews for
13
11
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I'm sorry to say, but like the general area of Lexington Park, this hotel was disgusting; a dump. It goes to say that you can't judge a book by it's cover. I'm embarassed to say that I am a native of southern maryland. The smell of wet, moldy carpet and cigarette (or something else of that nature) odor, not in one room, but in two, on different floors (supposed to be non- smoking floors, but guess what folks? SMOKE AND OTHER ODORS TRAVEL IN DUCTS AND OTHER AIR SYSTEMS!!!) When we asked the front desk staff if the cleaning crew shampooed the carpets and then added a deodorizer to the wet carpet, they denied it!? Also, the air conditioner was leaking, on the carpet. The front desk women who less than respectful or friendly about the ordeal of US having to change rooms tried to make excuses or pretend it was not a "real issue" at first, but as soon as they opened each room door, they had to admit it, if their sense of smell were working! Then, when my husband adjusted the air conditioner system, it started to smoke, and the fire alarm sounded, not once but a couple of times, as well as later that night (cool night outdoors as well) the heater smoked! Here we were there to help an ill relative for a quick week- end, and we were not comfortable at all. We are in our fifties and have traveled alot in our lifetime, all along the east coast, mostly at Holiday Express or Fairfield Inn, without EVER making a complaint, but we had to get a place at the last minute, and we ended up at this "dive". NEVER AGAIN!! I'd rather sleep in my car or in a tent!!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 10countrygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these California hotels

Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Hotel was a good value for the money. After reading some pretty bad reviews of hotels in the Solomon Island area, we decided to NOT stay at the other places, and took a chance on this one. The room was big, clean, and had everything we needed. The pool (although it does have an odd green color to it) was nice - kids had a great time- while we enjoyed the hot tub. The included breakfast buffet was good, nice selection - danishes, cereal, make-your-own waffles, bagels, fruit salad, yogurts, fresh juice, etc. We had not stayed in a Sleep Inn before, so I was prepared to be disappointed, but will certainly try another one based on this experience. Is located very close to Solomon's Island as well. Ate at Captains Table in Solomons - was great! Try the crab bisque!

  • Liked — Clean, big rooms, nice breakfast,pool and hot tub
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinCat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC Mountains
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Went to visit family and it was the closest hotel to them. We have stayed here twice before. The front desk is not friendly at all but also not rude. The pool was greenish colored. Breakfast was sad, no fresh fruit, dry frozen (still) biscuits, reheated canned gravy and boiled rubbery eggs. The room needed vacuumed upon arrival and the bathroom floor could have used a scrub. For $100 a night it could be improved.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Mo981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Spent the entire weekend of Sept. 21-24 there for the Motocross of Nations event at the Budds Creek motocross park in Waldorf MD. The rooms were well appointed, smoke and smell free and the cleaning staff did a great job of cleaning and not rearranging our items left while at the track. My expensive laptop (I am a journalist) was never touched and even looked like it was dusted.
The continental breakfast truly held up to its name as there was a smorgasborg of food laid out every morning in the dining area, not just muffins and coffee but waffles, eggs, cereals of all kinds, fruit, orange, apple and cranberry juices were laid out.
There is a fair sized pool that is not tto deep to be a hazard to littel kids as well as a gym next to the pool with stair steppers, 2 treadmills and 2 bicicyles, one of them a recumbent bike.
I will stary there again when the next national motocross event shows up in Maryland.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank ktm882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

I booked a non-smoking queen room through my company. I checked in, and I notice a little bit of an odd smell as soon as I entered. Sometimes strange rooms are like that, so I didn't think anything of it until I noticed the ashtray on the desk. I called the front desk to tell them that I had reserved a non-smoking room, and the clerk told me that they had no other rooms available, but that I could come down to the desk for some odor-removal spray, if I wanted it.

I should have known this wasn't a classy place when I stepped into the bathroom and noticed the plunger next to the toilet. Not a good sign. The toilet did back up, but I wasn't about to plunge it (that's what I'm paying them for). I told the front desk about it on my way out the first morning, and in their defense, the toilet was fixed, and the plunger was gone by the time I returned in the evening.

The breakfast was average, but the hotel was not very maintained (toilet issue, walpaper peeling).

  • Liked — Proximity to airport.
  • Disliked — Reserved non-smoking room; given smoking room.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3dawgnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california, md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

I stayed at this motel while relocating and for NEW YEARS EVE 2006. We enjoyed it so much while moving it became our home away from home.

Now we use the motel for our out of town guests.

Waffles, hot tub and pool are great also loved the GYM!

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Had to leave.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank californiamdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near California
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lexington Park-California
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington Park - Patuxent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lexington Park - Pax River
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites California, MD - NAVAIR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites California, MD - NAVAIR

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites California, MD - NAVAIR
Address: 23428 Three Notch Rd, California, MD 20619-6019 (Formerly Chesapeake Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > California
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in California
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites California, MD - NAVAIR 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn California, MD - NAVAIR is located less than 10 miles from area attractions that include Drum Point Lighthouse, Patuxent River Naval Air Museum, and Sotterley Plantation. This location is surrounded by many area restaurants and the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is 59 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites California, MD - NAVAIR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lexington Park Hotel California
Sleep Inn California
California Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing