We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll travel 20 miles to eat at Chapala!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chapala Restaurant

Chapala Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Burtonsville
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'll travel 20 miles to eat at Chapala!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Delicious and savory is their Camarones Brochette! Chapala Margaritas are real Margaritas! Their Rockfish rocks too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank imeok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected find :)”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant last weekend. I was in a mood for some drinks and good old Tex Mex. Wasn't expecting much when I went in. I was pleasantly surprised to find the live music, cozy atmosphere and amazing staff. The owner came towards the end to offer us shots on the house because we told the staff that we loved the place. That kind of appreciation of customers is certainly welcomed:)

Food was amazing as well. Would def Def go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood Mexican”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Little Mexican restaurant with authentic tasty selection. Generally good service, good tortilla soup, queso, and tamales...favorite is Marios platter. Decent Sangria and drinks too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank takemeaway1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Better Than Your Average Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We ordered take out recently. Had not been in over 10 years. It is better than typical Mexican. Best enjoyed dining in but take out packaging was neat, complete and warm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikzleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent Tex-Mex in the Burtonsville, MD Area”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place has very good service, guitars seranading you on the weekend, and the salsa is delicious. The Tex-Mex food is delicious but it's not amazing, and it's affordable. I reccommend it. It's a huge restaurant, so if you have kids of large parties, this is a good place to go. The only trouble is finding parking on a crowded evening behind the restaurant. It's good home-cooked tasting food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapala Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chapala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing