We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soretti's

Soretti's
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Burtonsville
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: It is located in a strip mall on 198. Really from the outside, it is hard to believe such a charming and warm place exists. It is directly across from Jerry's.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Family Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Five of us went to this authentic Ethiopian restaurant to complete a family outing. Vegan meal, plenty of wonderful food. Samosas to begin, then the various selections on a huge like-a-pancake. Very tasty and filling.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fancy ... in Ethiopia ... but who cares. It's authentic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

OPINION: Please give a break to our last remaining -- and possibly struggling -- Mom-&-Pop restaurants! Anyone over a certain age can remember how a majority of American restaurants used to be: friendly, modest, non-gentrified, & NOT renovated. Just travel outside the Western World: In fact, Soretti's is more authentic; it might be regarded in most of Ethiopia as fancy.

OPINION: In my experience it is no better than any other Ethiopian restaurant. They are all top notch because I love Ethiopian food. This one is simply more modest & less concerned about certain things … which takes me to my only 2 complaints.

COMPLAINTS: Every time there I have to ask that the plastic bread basket have a protective napkin put in it … for sanitary and esthetic reasons. Also, based on standards at other U.S. Ethiopian restaurants, every time there I have to ask that my bread be heated instead of being served limp and cold.

Other than that, I will keep going there and taking my friends for many years to come.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
468 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Don't Be Fooled By the Appearance, This Is Great Ethiopian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've eaten here many times over the last few years. The place looks like a cafe, so people may not realize they have really great meals.

I usually always eat here for lunch during the work day. Service is quick, so I'm usually in and out of there in good time.

The quality of the food and flavors are very good. It may fall just below the level set by a place I sometimes go to in Silver Spring, but for this price and for the convenience, this is usually where I get my Ethiopian fix. Being vegetarian, I can always find plenty to eat here. I'm never disappointed by the food, and sometimes even crave it.

I've always had very pleasant service, and no lines or long waits for my meal. As someone said previously, I'm surprised more people don't come here. Maybe more would come if it had more of a restaurant feel? Don't be deterred though, while small, this place has food as good as the fancy DC restaurants you'll eat at for much more. Check this hidden gem out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchton, Maryland
Level Contributor
232 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great veggies, in particular!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The people here are always so nice and helpful. I especially love the greens and the potato/cabbage dish they do, though everything is good. I'm so happy something this good is out this far from the city. Check it out, if you haven't!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner with the Ethiopian family ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dining here at Soretti's is like dining with the restaurant's family. They are wonderful hosts. The meals are tasty and satisfying. While some foods are unusual for the normal American taste, I know they are well prepared and very good.

Soretti's has a very clean and bright atmosphere. It is new and it is very comfortable.

A unique dining experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJSSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soretti's also viewed

 

Been to Soretti's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing