We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish We Had More Time”

Gunpowder Falls State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Bradshaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its excellent trout fishing, the topography of this scenic park includes tidal marshes and wetlands to steep, rugged slopes.
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wish We Had More Time”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were just basically driving by in search of a nearby Covered Bridge. It was a gorgeous summer afternoon, lots of people (mostly families) were enjoying the day in the picnic area by the visitor's center, so we were fortunate to get some good information. The visitor's center was closed, but we were still able to pick up a map and drive around a bit. We plan on coming back for one of the festivities they do on the weekends. They had a museum, if you will opened across the street from the welcome center. It was great to see history so well preserved. If we were nearby residents, for sure we'd be frequent visitors. It's free, it was clean and so much to do.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorJon713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It closed to early”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went there to see the waterfall. There was no map to show us which way to see the waterfall, and the office closed at 4pm on Sunday. We tried to find the waterfall which show in their picture but end up we gave up. Such a waste time. There should be map or at least something to show us where the waterfall is.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nhoktenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hiker's Paradise”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stay on the Appalachian trail or venture off onto one of the other marked areas. The scenery is beautiful year round. The landscape allows you to take long or short hikes of varying difficulty and there are rest facilities available.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoriDee3962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really beautiful”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great for hiking. Probably one of my favorite State Parks. Lots of scenery and lots of fun. Some of the trails can be a little treacherous though, so be prepared.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zcggcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice park with hiking trails and good fishing”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I go fly fishing here all the time. The river has lots of different terrain and a healthy trout populations. There are also nice hiking trails throughout the park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrsonevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunpowder Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Gunpowder Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing