We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place For Its Age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bowie
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Place For Its Age”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Huge hotel that is in fairly nice condition. The rooms are dated but maintained decently. There were some stains on the wallpaper and couch but overall I did not feel like I was in a filthy room. Maintenance did an excellent job replacing an air conditioner that quit working but the musty smell omitted from the new one caused the small room to smell tremendously. Asked for a wake up call when the alarm clock didn't work and 1 time out of 3, they forgot to call. The pictures the hotel displays for the free breakfast are misleading. The food was below average. The employees were nice, but not real motivated....There were times I would stand at the front desk and the person working in the afternoon did not realize I was there until I spoke up.

Room Tip: Don't be alarmed at the amount of police cars in the parking lot. The police drop their cars of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireSJ, General Manager at Comfort Inn Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are glad you were generally pleased with your stay, especially our housekeeping and maintenance staff. However, we are disappointed that you felt the room decor outdated and that the front desk was not friendly enough. We will take your comments into consideration for our upcoming room decor update and our front desk staff will be reminded about customer service requirements. We do thank you for your business and hope that we will be your hotel choice the next time you are in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    83
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
86
35
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Let me just say, that I rarely write a negative review. This time, I need to make an exception. Stayed here one night on our way to another location. We stay at choice hotels a lot and never have complained. This property was beautiful,much bigger with outdoor seating and more amenities than the other Comfort Inn's we have stayed in. However, first impression is everything. I generally look for the good in people, but the lady at the front desk just did not appear to care whether we were there not. No greeting and very flat affect. So, I thought that is one person. The next morning (I woke up very happy) - good bed - and went to the front desk to ask a quick question. A different person - but same attitude : ( Management needs to check out what is going on at the front desk. We did eat and have drinks at their restaurant and the staff there were very nice. The welcome there was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireSJ, General Manager at Comfort Inn Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay except for your treatment by the front desk. I would very much like to know the date of your stay and room number so that i can find out who checked you in and who checked you out. Do not need to give your last name for privacy reasons. Normally we have good reviews of our front desk staff so would like to get to the bottom of this issue as soon as possible. We do appreciate your business and are grateful that you took the time to alert us to a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel several times over the last 10 years. My most recent stay was 7/10/13 - 7/14/13.
The room and common areas were clean, bed was comfortable, and amenities were nice. Staff was friendly.
Free buffet breakfast was okay - can't complain if it's free!
This hotel is in a good location for visiting Annapolis, DC, and Baltimore.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. The conference center attracts large groups which can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireSJ, General Manager at Comfort Inn Conference Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is so nice to hear from our repeat guests. We are glad you had a good experience during your stay. It did seem that you hinted that you were not entirely happy with the breakfast buffet. We have hired a new chef and i am sure that on your next visit you will be completely satisfied with the breakfast and hopefully you will try out our restaurant for lunch and dinner as well. Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few days and found it to be safe, clean, affordable, well-equipped and staff was friendly. It was easy to get to and a short ride to the Carollton Metro (thus easy access to Washington D.C.) There is a shopping mall behind the hotel. Rooms were spotless, hot breakfast buffet came with room, and they have a great outdoor pool for the very hot days we were there. There is a lifeguard on-duty as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntinksrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireSJ, General Manager at Comfort Inn Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Will pass your comments on to our staff, especially our housekeeping staff who really are the best! Thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the 5th or 6th time I have stayed at this place over the last 10 years or so. When in travel and near this area, I will always stay here. #1. Location-close to Annapolis, DC, and BWI...great convenience. 2. Value...affordable, excellent cost/benefit factor 3. Clean....always spot less, can see lots of extra effort to keep place spotless from the hallways to rooms to the ice machine rooms 4. Great breakfast for the traveler...good variety, fresh, great presentation and service staff......I wish all my travel stays could be like this Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxOutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireSJ, General Manager at Comfort Inn Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review of our hotel. So glad you choose us when you are in this area. We really appreciate your repeat business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Traveling with two grand-kids, was delighted to find there was a real door to separate the bedroom with two queens from the living room with a queen sofa bed. A little bit of privacy for us, and the kids could stay up as long as they wanted. Good breakfast. Outdoor pool has an 8 foot deep section plus a lifeguard. Convenient location, kind of away from DC, but desk clerk suggested parking at New Carrollton Station and taking the train, and that was perfect. Great idea, less stress about driving and parking. We stay at lots of Choice hotels, this was one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireSJ, General Manager at Comfort Inn Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to the next time you are able to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

By far one of the nicer hotels we have stayed at. Check in was easy and efficient. George was especially nice. The room was large with two easy chairs. King bed was very comfortable. Everything thing seemed clean. It's a redo so some of the doors and such could have been replaced, but no complaints here. Breakfast was better than most with all the regular stuff, plus bacon and eggs. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in the rear building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireSJ, General Manager at Comfort Inn Conference Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to maintain a very clean and welcoming place for our guests so your wonderful comments are much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowie
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bowie
Hampton Inn Bowie
#1 of 4 in Bowie
443 reviews
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bowie Town Center
6.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Washington D.C. - Greenbelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Upper Marlboro
37 reviews
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Annapolis
Comfort Inn Annapolis
#14 of 21 in Annapolis
96 reviews
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Conference Center

Property: Comfort Inn Conference Center
Address: 4500 Crain Hwy, Bowie, MD 20716-3641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bowie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bowie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Maryland hotel is convenient to Annapolis, Baltimore and Washington, DC. Only hotel in area with a free full hot breakfast buffet with freshly made eggs, bacon, the works! Outdoor pool, yacht club style restaurant and bar, free internet, refrigerators in all rooms. Quiet, safe, all business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bowie
Comfort Inn Bowie
Bowie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing