We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for lunch! Best In Bowie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesapeake Grille & Deli

Chesapeake Grille & Deli
Ranked #3 of 120 Restaurants in Bowie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch! Best In Bowie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Great spot for a quick bite to eat. Reasonable prices on a very good menu. The staff are very friendly and have a great sense of humor. I have had the meatloaf and Cali burger, both of which are very good! A burger with fries for $8....i Would come here over fast food every day!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DitoCalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    36
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cream of Crab, Rockfish, and Oysters-- oh my!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My parents shared this wonderful place when we visited them in Bowie. You order at the counter, get your own beverage from the drink machine, and then take your seat and wait for them to bring your food to the table. The cream of crab soup was as good as any I have had ANYWHERE. I had the fried rockfish which was light, fresh, and not greasy at all. My husband had the fried oysters. The oysters were fresh and flavorful. The manager brought us a new dessert to sample, on the house, and asked our opinion. Dad ordered coffee, which they brewed, fresh. Our entire meal for four cost around $50-- a bargain for a seafood dinner!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to get a decent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is great. They had a summer salad with strawberries and blue cheese, OMG, I was addicted and had to have it every day. I had to go cold turkey because they discontinued it. You can't believe how friendly the staff is. Their broccoli is amazing. Get it as a side dish to your sandwich instead of the chips. The crab soup is great. Salmon, yum. The Reuben...hold on, I'm getting hungry! Everything we've tried has been great. Okay, there's one little thing, the fries don't travel well. Awww, what a pity, you'll have to eat them BEFORE you leave, they are awesome! The guy who had a bad experience must have gone on a bad day, it happens. The place isn't cheap, but I'm willing to pay for consistently good food at a locally owned business. I eat in DC every day, compare this with your "pay by the pound" lunch, now you can appreciate the value of a GOOD meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BusterBrown12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Really good Fast Food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I eat at Chesapeake Grill at least once a month. It has a really decent menu that is available very quickly to eat in or take out. A lot of the meals are great for folks who are on a special diet. They have several no-carb options. We really like their Filet Skewer which is very tasty tenderloin served with sauteed vegetable medley. Their salmon as good (also served with veg). So you can actually get a meal that isn't served with bread or french fries! Their menu includes fried green beans, one of my weaknesses, and a very good set of crab soups. They also serve beer in the bottle, but as I am not a beer drinker, I can't vouch for its worthiness. But even more important, they serve fresh ice tea! I will agree that their food is expensive, but you get good Fast Food for a price. This is not Burger King and everything appears to be freshly prepared and not sitting under a warming lamp.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedsNEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn Dale, MD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Bowie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I was turned on to this place by someone who recommended it and was really surprised at how good it it.

It isn't the fanciest place on the Block. It's actually in a medium sized strip center. However, what it lacks in ambiance and atmosphere it more than makes up in the quality and taste of the food and the friendliness of the staff.

The seafood is "real" seafood and not the processed junk you might find at other places. For example, the tuna is made to order and cooked how you like it. The crab cakes are tasty and the chicken pot pie is wonderful.

You order at the counter from friendly staff and they bring the food out to you when it's ready to eat.

It's not the cheapest place in town, by a long shot, but it's worth it for the taste and variety of the food and the daily specials. Beer, if you want to drink it, too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDSuburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Grille & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Grille & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing