We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a meal and a relaxing stop”
Review of Rip's Country Inn

Rip's Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 122 Restaurants in Bowie
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Long Island,NY
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fine for a meal and a relaxing stop”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had dinner at Rips with 2 others. Salad was pedestrian with the typical iceberg lettuce, pink tomatoes and stale croutons. Liver and onions were respectable BUT served with canned green beans.
Rainbow trout was good, steak, fair and mashed potatoes probably instant.
Very friendly and competent service though we had to request bread.
Desserts were good.
Old, log cabin feel at this popular place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2nd grd tchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    75
    25
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great SeaFood Platter”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have eaten there with friends, on a date, and just because, and the food is excellent. Fresh, hot, and the seafood platter is to die for. I have done the brunch as its ok, bacon is crisp, and wafflles cooked on demand.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ladyblk473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, bar, and liquor store”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This attraction has been here since before WWII when it was a truck stop. Great fish and prime rib. Best Prime rib in the area. Crab pie is a great appetizer with the gooey cheddar cheese and creamy crab imperial with crackers. Saturday and Sunday brunch is reasonably priced but go Saturday and save money. Bar area is small but has three TVs to see sports and the bartenders are friendly. Liquor store/Deli has great sandwiches and an incredible selection of liquors and beers. You can fine great deals on classic scotches and bourbons here. Sandwiches are huge and tasty from the deli. A stop you need to make when in Bowie, MD.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berks1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice family place”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We've been going to Rip's for years and have never been disappointed. I was not very hungry the night I went to Rips. But I ordered the Chicken Saute anyway. It sounded like it wouldn't be too heavy. It was excellent. I'm not really a fan of white meat but this was tender and juicy. Just the right portion. The service was very good. Our waitress checked on us often.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place wit great service and delicious food”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

WE ate at Rips for the first time after living less than 2 miles from it for 2 years. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The Cream of Crab soup is one of the best that I have tried. They offer a wide variety of food from Steaks, Seafood, Ribs and other country cooking favorites. The atmosphere is veryu much like a country inn. They also have a liquor store attached so have a wide variety of wines, beers and other alcoholic drinks. I had the Prime Rib and it was very good and they have a chocolate moose which was really delicious also. Everyone else at the table enjoyed their meal. They even have some things that are hard to find at restaraunts like liver and onions which my mother in law said was very good. For a nice quiet meal that is not too pricey I would reccomend Rips Country Inn and we will be back in the future.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krispe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rip's Country Inn also viewed

 

Been to Rip's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing