We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expeted”
Review of Geppetto Restaurant - CLOSED

Geppetto Restaurant
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Democracy Blvd
Description: Geppetto's incredible, award-winning pizza and homey Italian food has been a magnet for families since 1977. The restaurant was the first in the area to introduce the thick-crusted Sicilian pizza, with its inch high homemade crust. The menu also includes favorites such as homemade pastas, seafood selections, and a wide assortment of delicious entrees.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not what we expeted”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Getting to eat outside on a nice evening and the service made up for the overdone chicken parm. It was also a little pricey for what it was but hey...you have to try new places.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnanGlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    21
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“UGH!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was one of the worst meals ever. My friends wanted to eat here, at their new location. They order the same thing all the time, the tuna. The tuna was fine, the dressings were horrible. They delivered the wrong dressing, not the one requested, and when the new one arrived, our meal was almost concluded. This dressing was unbearable, so I left the salad, which was more than half the meal. Service horrible. Hard to get anyone to pay attention.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good italian food, cozy and reasonable prices.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good italian restaurant, a nice salon, reasonable prices and good service. What else can we ask for a family dinner. However, like all restaurants in this neighborhood it closes early, and once the kitchen is closed the staff wants to leave in a rush. Once we arrived at 8.00 PM with a group of friends and at 9.00 it was over.
We especially liked the Fettucine Pescatora and vegetarian combination pizza.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConradoSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
584 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good food, relatively cheap prices, blah ambiance”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went for lunch the other day with a friend. They had a special ($25.00 for two people) that we both ordered: two glasses of wine, two small plain pizzas, and two small house salads. The house wine they offered (there was only a choice of red or white) was quite good; the salads were mixed greens that were pretty ordinary; the pizzas were pretty good. Of course we ordered additional wine, coffee, and dessert (a ricotta pie that was very, very good.

The restaurant is in a small strip mall and its entrance is hidden in a small alley that cuts through the strip so you really have to look for it. The service was friendly and efficient. The ambiance is nothing special and could really benefit from some remodeling.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A neighbourhood gem”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love this establishment! Both for dine-in and delivery/carry-out service. The quality of the food can't be beat. The atmosphere of the dining room is cozy and romantic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geppetto Restaurant also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing