We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in North America?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Value in North America?”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Okay so we were only in the USA and Canada for four weeks from 6 December until January 3 and we only visited five major centres. BUT I researched hotels from New York through Niagara Falls to Toronto and back to Washington DC, Philedelphia and back to New York and this hotel was the best value of any of them without any compromise in quality. We booked a suite with a separate bedroom with two double beds and a fold out sofa in the sitting area, there was also a well equipped kitchen and good bathroom. TVs in each room with a good selection of channels.

A cooked breakfast was included and free valet parking which we utilised almost every day with no hassles or delay. When we arrived the staff were great and when we inquired about a nearby restaurant we were told that dinner was gratis in the dining area for all of us, this consisted of really tasty home made Mexican food and a couple of complimentary beers, wine and soft drinks for five.

At all other times the staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located five minutes walk from the Metro with a twenty minute ride to the centre of Washington, a little further to Arlington Cemetery and the Pentagon and trains that were clean, uncrowded and very regular. The centre of Bethesda is about the same distance with grocery shops, liquor stores and a multitude of nice restaurants and bars.

We would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone going for a holiday to Washington DC.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maggles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    138
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
154
52
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I took my family (my wife & two teen age daughters) to visit relatives in Washington DC for the weekend over Christmas Break.

I found this and am very pleased with this hotel. The Bethesda location is so convenient when you're visiting Washington at a much more reasonable rate. The Hotel is a short walk to a number of clubs, restaurants, a movie theater & a Giant supermarket.

The room was spotless and perfect for our needs. We had a room on the 10th floor that included a small kitchen, a living room sitting area & a bedroom with 2 queen sized beds. The couch in the living room. It was spacious and extremely comfortable for the four of us.

The hotel provides a free hot buffet breakfast. This was a great value and convenience for us. It's in a large room with plenty of tables, but it does fill up the last hour so try to get there before 8 AM on weekdays or 9 AM on weekends. It was pouring rain one of the days and the in-hotel breakfast saved us from going out for breakfast. The selection includes waffles, eggs, sausages, oatmeal as well as yogurt, fruit and cold cereal. WiFi is also included free of charge. With two teens, WiFi is a must for us now! And it kills me to pay a separate charge for it.

I am a fan of Marriott. The staff, as we find with any Marriott property, was friendly, helpful and efficient. We were greeted as we entered and left and any question we had we received a cheerful answer.

I'd recommend this to anyone traveling to Washington DC or the Bethesda area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-V-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi Jim,

Thank you for all your wonderful comments regarding our hotel and your stay. The large room, buffet breakfast, location and free WiFi always make traveling with a family, especially teenagers, more comfortable. I hope you had a great visit with your relatives. We hope to have you back next year or sooner. Thank you being a loyal Marriott guest.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at this Property for a couple of nights and had a great time. Staff was friendly, great large rooms, perfectly clean, breakfast was awsome! what else is there to say? LOCATION! absolutely wonderful! Will come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for the review. Good to hear you had a great time. Bethesda is a wonderful location for that. We look forward to your return visit.

Warm Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed with our family of six. We spent two days touring DC, and this was superb value for the money. Convenient access to the Metro, good eating nearby, excellent Valet service, friendly and helpful desk clerks. SUPER continental breakfast with a very diverse variety- something for everyone. They let us check in early rather than having to leave it in our vehicle while we went downtown for the day. Room was clean and spacious....tremendous water pressure in shower! Definitely recommend it...would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank can0eguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for chossing our Residence Inn for your families visit to the DC area. We appreciate the great review regarding our suite size, service, breakfast and location. I hope the days you spent touring DC were the couple of days that we had great December weather. We look forward to your visit again next time your in town. Have a great New Year!

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Expected " just okay" but pleasantly surprised
Professional valet and doorman, front desk efficient,friendly and professional
The room was huge, with free wifi for $129!
Kitchenette, sleeper sofa and desk in living space.
Comfy bed
Great value

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank networkConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review and for choosing our hotel for your stay in the Bethesda area. At Residence Inn we enjoy giving pleasant surprises. It's alway good to here that our hotel and staff were the pleasant surprise. I will certainly share your comments with our valet and front desk team.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

My family of five (3 young kids) stayed here for four days over Thanksgiving and we were bowled over by the excellent customer service we received from literally every member of the staff during our stay. Even when crowded, the people at the front desk were so calm and helpful. The hotel was clean and our suite was sunny and big enough for our whole family. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethesda45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I will certainly share your comments with the team, especially the front desk. We are happy that you chose the Residence Inn Bethesda to host you and your family while visiting for the holiday. We look forward to your visit the next time you are in the Bethesda area.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here on November 23, 2013. I had secured a one bedroom suite on the 10th floor. Plenty of space for a family of four. In walking distance to an array of restaurants in town. Movie theater was a block away. I would definitely stay here again in the future! Breakfast buffet was located on the second floor with huge windows overlooking the street and courtyard. Nice selection. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffmylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Jeff,

Thank you for the great review. We are always happy to hear our guests will visit us again.

We look forward to having you back to stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
417 reviews
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
415 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Address: 7335 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing