We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient to Washington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient to Washington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Like other reviewers, my wife and I chose to stay in Bethesda while visiting Washington, D.C. The Residence Inn had a good rate for a one-bedroom suite, we've had generally good luck with Marriott properties, and this one was conveniently located near a Metro stop as well as some very good downtown restaurants. Staff were friendly, and our rooms were clean and well-appointed. Wi-fi was fast and easy to use. Breakfast, included in the rate, was about par for this sort of hotel, nothing outstanding but plenty of choices hot and cold. Parking was by valet and an extra charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calcifer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    129
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
137
46
18
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn for 3 days with the family during spring break. Very convenient access to the Metro, which is just across the street. The free breakfasts were appreciated, although the fruit options are not nearly as good as one usually finds in a Marriot hotel. However, the restaurant has a nice atmosphere, and the staff at the hotel are very helpful. The room itself was very comfortable with a two burner stove, a microwave, a large refrigerator, etc. Bethesda is a great town with superb restaurants and stores which are all an easy walk from the hotel. The rooftop pool was not open due to the season. Overall I would definitely stay here again -- it makes DC affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pilgrim373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Recently my son and I went to Washington to see the Nationals new stadium. We took advantage of a weekend special we found on the Residence Inn website. The hotel is two blocks away from Washington Metro [red line - gets you downtown in 20 minutes].
In addition, there is a municipal parking lot around the corner from the hotel with free weekend parking.
The rooms in the hotel are all suites, with a good sized living room [with a sofa-bed and 2nd TV] and fully stocked kitchen. We had relatives over one night and it was perfect.
If you wish to eat out rather than cook, the hotel is two blocks away form downtown Bethena's restaurants with over 40 to choose from.
Buffet breakfast was included. The breakfast was fine except [not to get too picky] for very little fresh fruit.
All in all, a great base for a family visit to the Nation's Capital.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Har Adar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arranged a last minute stay at this hotel due to a snowstorm which prevented us from traveling to Virginia. Our rooms were spotless, all of the appliances worked, and the staff was extremely helpful. Even though we were there over a holiday, the staff kept the breakfast bar full, and there was quite a bit of variety. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamdeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel in downtown Bethesda. Great breakfast buffet. It is a suite. I feel though that the price is too high. Price seems to fluctuate year to year. One year it's around $160 a night then the next year they want $400 a night ... come on really? We're night staying at Disney World here! Does not have a restaurant. No pool. I would stay at the Marriott on Democracy Blvd. More to do there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cougar140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a nice property in a busy location. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was a queen double with sofabed. I was honestly surprised how roomy it was. The configuration is very easy to maneuver. Someone put a lot of thought into the comfort of those needing an extended stay facility.
The bedroom was nicely furnished and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge -- so rare for hotels these days. Lots of fluffy towels and also quite clean.
The kitchen was nicely appointed. Easy to use and again, surprisingly roomy.
The living room's furnishings were quite worn and could use replacement, but the dining furniture was newer-looking with good seating for four (We ate breakfast in our room to avoid the hassle downstairs).
The breakfast was good. Food was hot and staff keep things stocked. They were always ready to fulfil any requests. The offerings are repetitive, but a fix-it bar allows guests to customize their morning meal. Unfortunately, this area does need adjustment. It's hard to get to the food because seating and serving share the same space.
Metro is a quick walk away. Easy access to the red line if you need to go into DC, but you don't need to for dining as many top restaurants are also within walking distance. There is also a Regal Cinema across the street.
Paking is $20 per day, but there is free parking in Montgomery County MD lots on Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello Mrs K.,

Thank you for writing the nice review regarding your stay at our hotel. We hope you and your family enjoyed your time in the Bethesda / DC area. During the spring break we do host a lot of families that are visiting the area due to our proximity to the Metro Red line and as you mentioned, the short walking distance to shops, restaurant and movie theatre.

Thank you again,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, family - 2 adults, 2 teens in a one bedroom suite. Had 2 queen beds which is nice feature. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms were clean, nothing spectacular, but didn't spend alot time in the room, visiting DC on spring break. Breakfast offered lots of nice, hot choices, staff was very attentive, making sure food never ran out during very busy time with lots of family. Like the location - close to the Red Line Metro and only a few blocks from lots of neat shops and restaurants. Didn't have a car, so didn't use the valet other than to check bags for a few hours on the last day. They were very helpful and friendly as well. Have lots of outside tables that would be fun to have breakfast and/or cocktails at in the summertime. It was colder than normal during our visit in late March so we didn't get to take advantage of these.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite was plenty of space for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Leslie,

Thank you for staying with us during your spring break vacation. We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and our staff attentive. Like you, many of our guests find our location near to the Metro and Bethesda Row restaurants and shops to be very convenient. Yes, March weather did come in more like a lion than a lamb. We are certainly looking forward to the warmer weather so our guests can enjoy all of our outdoor space. Thank you taking the time to complete this reveiw.

Warm Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Address: 7335 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3201
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing