We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of room for five” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lots of room for five”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a nice property in a busy location. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was a queen double with sofabed. I was honestly surprised how roomy it was. The configuration is very easy to maneuver. Someone put a lot of thought into the comfort of those needing an extended stay facility.
The bedroom was nicely furnished and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge -- so rare for hotels these days. Lots of fluffy towels and also quite clean.
The kitchen was nicely appointed. Easy to use and again, surprisingly roomy.
The living room's furnishings were quite worn and could use replacement, but the dining furniture was newer-looking with good seating for four (We ate breakfast in our room to avoid the hassle downstairs).
The breakfast was good. Food was hot and staff keep things stocked. They were always ready to fulfil any requests. The offerings are repetitive, but a fix-it bar allows guests to customize their morning meal. Unfortunately, this area does need adjustment. It's hard to get to the food because seating and serving share the same space.
Metro is a quick walk away. Easy access to the red line if you need to go into DC, but you don't need to for dining as many top restaurants are also within walking distance. There is also a Regal Cinema across the street.
Paking is $20 per day, but there is free parking in Montgomery County MD lots on Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello Mrs K.,

Thank you for writing the nice review regarding your stay at our hotel. We hope you and your family enjoyed your time in the Bethesda / DC area. During the spring break we do host a lot of families that are visiting the area due to our proximity to the Metro Red line and as you mentioned, the short walking distance to shops, restaurant and movie theatre.

Thank you again,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, family - 2 adults, 2 teens in a one bedroom suite. Had 2 queen beds which is nice feature. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms were clean, nothing spectacular, but didn't spend alot time in the room, visiting DC on spring break. Breakfast offered lots of nice, hot choices, staff was very attentive, making sure food never ran out during very busy time with lots of family. Like the location - close to the Red Line Metro and only a few blocks from lots of neat shops and restaurants. Didn't have a car, so didn't use the valet other than to check bags for a few hours on the last day. They were very helpful and friendly as well. Have lots of outside tables that would be fun to have breakfast and/or cocktails at in the summertime. It was colder than normal during our visit in late March so we didn't get to take advantage of these.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite was plenty of space for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Leslie,

Thank you for staying with us during your spring break vacation. We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and our staff attentive. Like you, many of our guests find our location near to the Metro and Bethesda Row restaurants and shops to be very convenient. Yes, March weather did come in more like a lion than a lamb. We are certainly looking forward to the warmer weather so our guests can enjoy all of our outdoor space. Thank you taking the time to complete this reveiw.

Warm Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This Residence Inn looks to be remodeled 5 years ago, has an older bathroom and small kitchen. The beds were very comfortable, yeah! The location is great, across the street from the red line of the Metro. It is also a block from some diverse restaurants and shopping. During our stay one of the elevators was out and this is always a hassle in a busy hotel. The Breakfast area was packed, but they opened up a rear space with extra seating. The staff struggled to keep up with the volume.
Parking is valet and they were pretty quick getting our car, $20 per day, not bad for DC Metro area. We were in the hotel and not able to use the rooftop pool.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank utopia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello Utopia from New Jersey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. I'm glad you found our beds comfortable and hopefully you had a good night sleep. Please accept our apology for the elevator outage. One of the elevator required servce on a Friday afternoon and we were unable to get the repair company out to fixed the elevator until first thing Monday morning. We understand the inconvenience this caused for our guest, especially considering the busy weekend. I will certainly pass on your great comments to our valet team. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your weekend stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Certainly beats a standard cookie-cutter business hotel. Equipped kitchenette and spacious layout with separate sleeping area and living space. Definitely a great value with breakfast and WiFi included. Walking distance to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi jh91,

Thank you for you great review on our hotel. Our Residence Inn is a break from a regular hotel, especially for guests with an extended stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and the location of the hotel. We look forwrd to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family visited the DC area and stayed at the Bethesda Residence Inn. The location was convenient, though the access for parking and valet was not especially so. The rooms were considerably smaller than previous Residence Inns that I have visited, and the hotel was a little bit more run down than I expect for a Marriott brand hotel. In fact, our door locking mechanism broke during our stay, and it was a bit of a hassle to fix. The furniture was worn, and my son was aghast at the stains on the mattress of the pullout sofa.

The breakfast was better than expected, usual buffet fare, but lots of it and better quality than most in the "free breakfast" category. Valet parking was prompt and efficient at all times of the day. The location is very close to the Metro and to all of the downtown Bethesda restaurants, stores, and services.

I did not visit the exercise facility, eat any additional meals, or use any other services.

I would return for the price (we paid a special rate of $109/night), but I would also probably look to stay in a different location, depending on the purpose of my trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RYKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi RYKan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. Please accept my apology for the challenge you had with door lock as well as the condition of the sofa bed mattress. We recently replaced some of the electronic cards in our locks and there seemed to have been a fault in that particular card. It is always nice to hear that we exceeded expectations with our breakfast and the efficiency of our valet. I will share you comments with our hotel staff to ensure we continue to do so.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed 4 days @ Bethesda Residence Inn by Marriott this past week. Have stayed there several times in the past. Staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and reasonably priced and buffet breakfast is tasty and a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllyaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Residence Inn in Bethesda, MD. The staff was very friendly, the room spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the kitchen well equipped. The Inn was located about 1/2 block away from the entrance to the Metro, which was very important since I didn't want to rent a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Martha,

We are happy that our staff, suite and location made your stay in Bethesda a good one. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to hae you stay with again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
U Street Corridor
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing