We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Residence Inn-Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average Residence Inn-Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This Residence Inn looks to be remodeled 5 years ago, has an older bathroom and small kitchen. The beds were very comfortable, yeah! The location is great, across the street from the red line of the Metro. It is also a block from some diverse restaurants and shopping. During our stay one of the elevators was out and this is always a hassle in a busy hotel. The Breakfast area was packed, but they opened up a rear space with extra seating. The staff struggled to keep up with the volume.
Parking is valet and they were pretty quick getting our car, $20 per day, not bad for DC Metro area. We were in the hotel and not able to use the rooftop pool.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank utopia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello Utopia from New Jersey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. I'm glad you found our beds comfortable and hopefully you had a good night sleep. Please accept our apology for the elevator outage. One of the elevator required servce on a Friday afternoon and we were unable to get the repair company out to fixed the elevator until first thing Monday morning. We understand the inconvenience this caused for our guest, especially considering the busy weekend. I will certainly pass on your great comments to our valet team. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your weekend stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    133
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
143
49
18
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Certainly beats a standard cookie-cutter business hotel. Equipped kitchenette and spacious layout with separate sleeping area and living space. Definitely a great value with breakfast and WiFi included. Walking distance to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi jh91,

Thank you for you great review on our hotel. Our Residence Inn is a break from a regular hotel, especially for guests with an extended stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and the location of the hotel. We look forwrd to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
Level Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family visited the DC area and stayed at the Bethesda Residence Inn. The location was convenient, though the access for parking and valet was not especially so. The rooms were considerably smaller than previous Residence Inns that I have visited, and the hotel was a little bit more run down than I expect for a Marriott brand hotel. In fact, our door locking mechanism broke during our stay, and it was a bit of a hassle to fix. The furniture was worn, and my son was aghast at the stains on the mattress of the pullout sofa.

The breakfast was better than expected, usual buffet fare, but lots of it and better quality than most in the "free breakfast" category. Valet parking was prompt and efficient at all times of the day. The location is very close to the Metro and to all of the downtown Bethesda restaurants, stores, and services.

I did not visit the exercise facility, eat any additional meals, or use any other services.

I would return for the price (we paid a special rate of $109/night), but I would also probably look to stay in a different location, depending on the purpose of my trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RYKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi RYKan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. Please accept my apology for the challenge you had with door lock as well as the condition of the sofa bed mattress. We recently replaced some of the electronic cards in our locks and there seemed to have been a fault in that particular card. It is always nice to hear that we exceeded expectations with our breakfast and the efficiency of our valet. I will share you comments with our hotel staff to ensure we continue to do so.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed 4 days @ Bethesda Residence Inn by Marriott this past week. Have stayed there several times in the past. Staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and reasonably priced and buffet breakfast is tasty and a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllyaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Residence Inn in Bethesda, MD. The staff was very friendly, the room spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the kitchen well equipped. The Inn was located about 1/2 block away from the entrance to the Metro, which was very important since I didn't want to rent a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Martha,

We are happy that our staff, suite and location made your stay in Bethesda a good one. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to hae you stay with again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
700 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Residence Inn Bethesda is well located, about a block from the Metro, & with lots of good restaurants
nearby. We had a one bedroom suite, two TV's. Very clean. Bed comfortable. Good shower. Good housekeeping service. Free breakfast was exceptionally good.
The overnight valet parking costs $20/day. Car retrieval was mostly very prompt, with only 1 or 2 times when
they were slow. On checkout, we were mysteriously overcharged $100 for the room, which was quickly
corrected. Would certainly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Rooms in back may be quieter than those facing Wisconsin Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Buzzy,

Thank you for the review on our hotel. I will certainly share your comment with all of our staff . It always reinforces how important they are to making our guests stay a great one. Please accept my apology for the billing error. I'm glad we were able to rectify prior to your departure. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This has to be one of the best non-luxury brand hotels around. You start the experience off with Valet parking (not your typical experience for similar brand hotels). The Valet's are incredibly nice (my four year old daughter loved them all). The hotel is midrise giving the immediate impression of a city (rather than suburb) type hotel. The rooms are your typical Residence Inn suite type rooms. The free breakfast is really great here including a great hot buffet.

Why you'l truly love this place is the location, however. You'll soon realize you are easy walking distance to both restaurant/shopping areas of Bethesda which is a good eating/night life town.

For local Bethesda residents who need a hotel for friends and relative coming for visits, this should be your first pick. Every friend or family members of mine who has stayed here has been very pleasantly surprised, including the ones who feel like they always have to stay at luxury brand hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caazmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Caazmark,

Thank you for the great review. I've shared it with our teams and they are thrilled to get such an awesome review. Your comments regarding our valet reinforces how important first impression upon arrival is. Thank you again. We are happy to take care of you and your friends and family whenever your in Bethesda.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Address: 7335 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3201
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing