We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, great location”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had 15 family members staying here for a Bar Mitzvah. The rooms were all clean, very large, newly renovated, well stocked. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a wide selection. We chose this hotel after looking at 4 others in the area. The location is central and an easy walk to the metro and restaurants. Our guests mostly used the county lot around the corner, which is free on the weekends, to avoid the valet cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    138
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
155
53
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed there for one night on business and came home with classic bed bug bites on my wrists and hands. Outside inspection by pest control company didn't find anything but it was pretty classic and pretty clear. Hotel manager was very nice in handling the situation but didn't follow-up with unless I made contact. Also disappointed that when I arrived, the bed was a bit messy, as if unclear whether it had been made or not (I asked them to change sheets, which they presumably/hopefully did). On top of that, one of my towels were stained and the heating didn't work very well. Not much good to say.........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us, and I apologize for your unpleasant experience. At the Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, and throughout Marriott, the safety, security, and overall wellbeing of our guests is our number one priority. Unfortunately, bed bugs are a very real issue when traveling today, and we take all claims of pests, including bed bugs very seriously. Our in-house staff is trained to look for signs of pests, and bed bugs during the daily cleaning of rooms and public spaces, and we have a third party complete pest inspection and prevention services routinely at our property. In the event a bed bug claim is brought to our attention, our third party pest control completes a thorough inspection of the room, and specific procedures are followed based on the finding. I will certainly share your comments in reference to the follow up and cleanliness of the suite with my team to ensure we are exceeding our guests expectation. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel was very nice with wonderful rooms; even though it has no free parking, the valet service was excellent. Breakfast area is a bit cramped but very good selection. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi Ram232,

We appreciate the nice review of our hotel regarding your stay. During holidays and weekends when the hotel is full and our guests are enjoying a leisurely morning, we do have a tendancy to have everyone visit our complimentary breakfast buffet later versus earlier. In anticipation of the this we try to all the choices well stocked. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to additional visits.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

If business or pleasure takes you to Bethesda, this is a good choice of place to stay. The location is great, near the Metro red line (15 mins to dupont circle), plenty of parking options (incl $20 per night valet only at the hotel), and some nice touches (including free breakfast, decent gym room and, in summer, a rooftop pool). Free wifi throughout.

Our suite was large and well-appointed, though a little noisy (air conditioning, plumbing, lifts), but nothing too bad. Breakfast is basic and a bit of a free-for-all, but you can bring supplies back up to your suite.

Generic, reliable, recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmnonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a friendly staff and a great location! Walking distance to many shops, eateries and the metro. We needed a pet friendly hotel and there is PetSmart, Orvus and Trader Joe's and a city park just a few blocks away. Locals and visitors were very friendly. The $200 non-refundable sanitation fee for pets is overpriced. We brought our well behaved puppy's travel crate and walk her 4 - 5 times daily. There were several dog owners - Marriott made $1000+ . . . All in all we are pleased, Marriott's corporate HQ is nearby in Rockville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawone10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello Lawone,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us and the nice review regarding our staff and location. Nothing makes our hotel feel more of a home away from home for our guest than bringing their pets along. We will certainly take onto consideration your comments regarding our pet fee. We look forward to your next stay with us when you visit Bethesda.

Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our family of 5 stays here at least once a year and it is always perfect -- right in the heart of Bethesda, near the Metro and restaurants. Rooms are always clean, kitchen is useful and breakfast is ample. Highlight of this year's stay was that my husband left his iPad and someone from the hotel staff returned it.

Room Tip: We like the high floors and the two-bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasKami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

One night was all it took to give this place five stars. The two-bedroom suites are well equipped and comfortable. The staff is really accommodating, from the valet guys at the door to the housekeeping staff. You're two blocks from the Red Line on the Metro, and the breakfast room actually has a view worth viewing!

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clearmessage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
421 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Address: 7335 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing