We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect when visiting NIH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect when visiting NIH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The hotel was lovely...the staff could not have been more accommodating. I was beginning a trial at NIH and really needed a relaxing place to stay after a long day of tests, etc. On our first morning, my mother and I discovered we had nothing but cold water in our bathroom. We informed the desk, and were assured it would be fixed. At the end of the day, we found we still had nothing but cold showers. The person at the desk was very apologetic, telling us that there was a note saying it had been fixed. But, since it had not been fixed, we were moved to a concierge floor, given free internet, and many coupons for free coffee. Not only did we now have hot showers, we were exceedingly impressed with the desire of the staff to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The hotel has a shuttle to the NIH, and if you're travelling at off times, just schedule a pick-up at the desk and they will take care of you. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I will be returning to the NIH weekly for the next two months, and have already booked the Marriott for every trip. Thank you to the staff at Pooks Hill Rd!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjk6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    166
    112
    45
    21
See reviews for
100
54
43
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband and I have used this hotel numerous times for weekend stays when the rates were especially attractive--I usually check other alternatives before booking. We request and have always gotten a high floor, extra towels, and a small refrigerator (no charge for this). Our king rooms have been large, well-lit, and clean; the beds at this and other Marriotts are extremely comfortable. Service is good; the staff are pleasant and very responsive to any complaint.

We have often taken advantage of the indoor/outdoor pool and the exercise facilities. Both are well maintained. The indoor part of the pool has warm water and is very suitable for kids. The fitness center provides clean headphones and fresh fruit.

The hotel's location is convenient only for someone with a car. We have never used the shuttle, but I've heard other guests complaining about the schedule. A reliable shuttle would definitely be a plus, since the hotel is quite handy to downtown Bethesda and the Metro. We avoid the parking fee by parking on the street--very easy on the weekend, a bit more challenging but still feasible during the week.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Good hotel. Concierge level is nothing special. Service good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 53634634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

This is my second stay at this hotel. The rooms are very nice with extremely comfortable beds. Request a room on a higher floor, not the wings. Starbucks opposite the elevators is very convenient for good morning coffee. Enjoyed the bar but did not eat in the restaurant. I had a great AAA rate, The staff was very accomodating and let us check in early and check out late. My only complaint is the $12 per day parking fee for guests. There is no other place to park other than their large parking lots. This is not downtown Bethesda with little parking available. Restaurants and shopping are available all up and down Rockville Pike Road/Wisconsin Ave (5 - 10 minute drive time).

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonestartravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

I traveled with a colleague in order to do business at NIH (campus, and other buildings in Bethesda housing NIH extramural institutes). Although Pooks Hill Marriott (aka Bethesda Marriott) is near NIH, Bethesda MD, and the nearby offices and attractions, it is impossible to get from there to any of them. You are dependent on their shuttle, which runs irregularly (despite their promise that it ran every thirty minutes), or on cabs. The bell service was terrible at getting cabs, and put us in towncars and promised high fees to the driver without asking us (even though there were metered cabs right there). You would be much better off at the Hyatt, Bethesda Marriott North, the Hilton (formerly Doubletree) since all of those are on the subway line. Pooks Hill needs to sort out its bell captain and its shuttle service or it will ruin any return business it might have been able to generate.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank kyoto5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bethesda hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

This hotel is about 1 mile north of downtown Bethesda, MD and just off I-270 and the Washington, DC Beltway I-495. It is convenient for driving to Rockville, MD; Bethesda, MD; and most areas around NW Washington, DC. However, there are no places (such as restaurants or stores) that are comfortable walking distance. We knew about this location, so it was not a problem for us.

ROOMS: The rooms are a bit dated and not too large; however, our room was clean and we did get turn-down service with snacks. Not fantastic, but we got internet service ($12/day) and a really nice flat-screen TV.

FOOD: We were moderately satisfied with the food. The Sunday Brunch is very, very good. Good food, lots of choices and enjoyable. The lunches and dinners are OK. The main place to eat is Italian, and it's OK. They also had hot cider and treats in the lobby for all guests. There is also a small Starbucks in the lobby gift-shop. The concierge level breakfast was very satisfying.

POOL/WORKOUT: The pool and workout room are nice. The workout room has cardio (treadmills and elliptical, but NO stair-climber!) as well as some free weights. Each locker room has a sauna and the pool is an indoor/outdoor pool (decent size) with an indoor Jacuzzi.

STAFF: The staff is very friendly and nice, but you might have a longish wait for food at the restaurant.

OVERALL: It was a pretty good stay, but probably does not merit the often expensive weekday rates (weekend rates are much less and well worth the cost).

  • Liked — Sunday Brunch
  • Disliked — Not many lunch/dinner options
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ww_kayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

A very disappointing stay. The room was dark and worn down with a noisy aircon. The service was mediocre - e.g. problems with room service orders, half-hearted room make up, not delivering the dry cleaning (so I had to track it down in the middle of the night after business meetings).

Recently returning from business roundtrips to several cities in India and Korea, it is quite impressive that the Marriott Bethesda is my worst hotel experience for a long time.

This hotel may be OK for the budget traveller, but it doesn't live up to the expectations of a business class hotel.

  • Liked — Checkout was quick.
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank klausj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
1.9 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
2.0 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Property: Bethesda Marriott
Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Rd, Bethesda, MD 20814-5499
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethesda Marriott is a reinvented Bethesda hotel near city attractions- with a newly redesigned lobby, restaurant, and guest rooms. You can experience the transformation of the Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where reinvented guest rooms and lobby, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., the list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, Montgomery Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing